What's latest official version of ZA?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by tonyseeking, Nov 13, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tonyseeking

    tonyseeking Former Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Posts:
    406
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2008
  2. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,121
    Location:
    USA
    What OS are you using?
     
  3. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    I do not know what version the free ZA firewall is on, but ZAAV for Vista is at 8.0.059.000.
     
  4. tonyseeking

    tonyseeking Former Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Posts:
    406
    XP Pro, SP3.
     
  5. tonyseeking

    tonyseeking Former Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Posts:
    406
    The free ZA offered directly from zonealarm is only v7.

    However, other websites such as http://www.filehippo.com/download_zonealarm_free/ offer v8 of the free version.

    Why is that? How can filehippo offer v8 of the free ZA yet the official ZA website only offer v7 of the free ZA?
     
  6. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    I guess that is a question for ZoneAlarm, then
     
  7. tonyseeking

    tonyseeking Former Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Posts:
    406
    I guess you don't have a clue then.
     
  8. henryg

    henryg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Posts:
    293
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2008
  9. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,121
    Location:
    USA
    I am running Zonealarm free version 8 on my laptop. I downloaded it from the official ZA website a few months ago. Perhap Checkpoint decided to remove it? It is definitely legitimate and I would recommend it over version 7. If nothing else it does away with the orange UI.
     
  10. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Was that really neccessary?
    :thumbd:
     
  11. tonyseeking

    tonyseeking Former Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Posts:
    406
    Yes it was. :thumb:
     
  12. NICK ADSL UK

    NICK ADSL UK Administrator

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Posts:
    9,217
    Location:
    UK
    Originally Posted by tonyseeking
    I guess you don't have a clue then.


    Can we please in future refrain from this sort of remark

    thank you
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.