What would happen if you have Comodo Sandbox and Sandboxie enabled?

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by cheater87, Jul 17, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,121
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    I have been wondering this for a few days. Will this be more secure or less secure due to a conflict?
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    As in attempt to run same prog in Sandboxie which itself would be running in Comodo or ...? There can only be issues and no advantage in such approach
     
  3. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,121
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    If you have a browser sandboxied with sandboxie and have Comodo's Sandbox enabled at the same time. I'm not gong to do it I just was wondering what would happen.
     
  4. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    As long as you don't run the same programs within both, there won't be any conflicts.
     
  5. What needs to be understood that, Sandboxie is an on-demand sandbox. Comodo is an automatic sandbox. So yes likely could be issues if you use sandboxie to sandbox an unknown file, and then Comodo tries to sandbox etc.
     
  6. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Same rules applies folks. Move than one causes problems. I can't imagine it would be a good thing running two sandboxes.
     
  7. arran

    arran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Posts:
    1,139
    A bad security approach if you have Comodo Sandbox and Sandboxie containing the same app.

    This is like the bad security approach which some people have here like having a defensewall and Sandboxie combo, you can't have defensewall and sandboxie containing the same app either.
     
  8. Ilya Rabinovich

    Ilya Rabinovich Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Posts:
    1,543
    I know some are using this combo with no problems at all.
     
  9. Kid Shamrock

    Kid Shamrock Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Posts:
    207
    DefenseWall and Sandboxie work well together. I've been using them together for several months. Sandboxie protects your system while application is in the box, when you move something out of the box, DW takes over protection. :thumb: :thumb: :thumb:
     
  10. SIR****TMG

    SIR****TMG Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    757
    I've been using them together also no problems indeed.
     
  11. guest

    guest Guest

    Is it usefull? What is advantage?
     
  12. Kid Shamrock

    Kid Shamrock Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Posts:
    207
  13. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    I don't know anything about Comodo, how it works, but if you run one true sandbox inside of another my guess is that you would be ok, as long as you are only asking one sandbox to directly protect that program. In other words, open your browser inside of a sandbox, then open that entire sandbox inside of another; your browser would automatically be protected by two sandboxes even though you only directly asked one to protect it.

    I do something similar with the virtual machine, Virtual Box. I open up Virtual Box inside of Sandboxie, then open another Operating System inside Virtual Box and use its browser for surfing. When I'm finished, I dissolve the VM without saving that session, then dissolve the sandbox: double protection and it all works quite smoothly.

    Acadia
     
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2010
  14. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,121
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    So it would be ok to have Firefox sandboxed with Sandboxie and have that protected by Comodo sandbox?
     
  15. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Comodo's sandbox i believe is mainly for programs that are unknown. It places them in a "sandbox" for eval. I don't think it would place firefox in a sandbox. Unless you put it in there. So i would think that you could run both and not have a problem. Unless josh or franklin/sully could give a better suggestion.
     
  16. mick92z

    mick92z Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Posts:
    499
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Can someone tell me, is Comodo sandbox anything to do with the firewall. I am thinking of updating Comodo firewall to version 4, and while i think the sandbox is a good idea, I use Sandboxie, and i do not want another sandbox application. If i just download the firewall, will i avoid the Comodo sandbox. Cheers :)
     
  17. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    Although it is an integral part of the Comodo software, you can keep it disabled and it will not interfere.
     
  18. mick92z

    mick92z Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Posts:
    499
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Thats good news. Thanks for the mega fast reply :thumb:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.