What version should Avira free be?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by ratchet, Jul 18, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ratchet

    ratchet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    1,911
    I installed it today and it has been updated to v8.1.00.295, but yesterday freewarefiles.com listed a v8.1.0.326. Also, on this notebook, which I'm running all freeware progs as an experiment, I also have Windows Defender (default in Vista) and ThreatFire. Given the lack of anti-spyware capabilities inherent in Avira, are these two apps sufficient? I surf safe but my wife probably can't tell the difference between a fish and a phis! Thank You!
     
  2. eBBox

    eBBox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Posts:
    482
    Location:
    Aalborg, Denmark
    Thats a very good free setup :thumb: I would definatly feel safe with it (Im using the same when helping people who wants a free setup with low resource and cpu impact and. Im just replacing avira with Avast! because I like it more but i do have great trust in avira too) :)

    You could alternativly combine with Opera 9.5 for browsing :cool:

    My thoughts :)
     
  3. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,812
    Avira had quite a big update yesterday boosted performance by about 20% in scanning and made most the program respond like you had nothing on your computer at all. you may want to revisit it.
     
  4. ratchet

    ratchet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    1,911
    download.com had the 295 version, softpedia had the3261 I reinstalled from softpedia.
     
  5. the Tester

    the Tester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Posts:
    2,854
    Location:
    The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.
    The version that you listed in the first post is what I have.That's after the large update.
     
  6. ratchet

    ratchet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    1,911
    Then you need to install from the softpedia site. A moderator on Avira's forum said some of the mirror sites don't have the correct version (.326) as happened to me and to download from Avira's site but near as I could tell it only sens you to the mirrors from there. Anyway, get it here!
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.