What to do when?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by falconaire, Aug 18, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. falconaire

    falconaire Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    36
    Just wanna ask what will i do if MOST of the browsers says "this page cannot be displayed"?

    internet connection is OK.
    yahoo, google, and some sites where OK.
    i've fixed all recommended setting changes but still other page cannot load.

    when i try to open them to other PCs they load.

    also problems about picture loading (the one with x marks on the upper left)

    hope anyone could help
    tnx advance :doubt:
     
  2. falconaire

    falconaire Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    36
  3. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2008
  4. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
    Is it about just one page ? If not:

    I presume you haven´t installed a VPN or proxy or anonymizer ?

    There are many things that can cause a problem that looks like yours. A server or router not properly functioning, certain security settings of IE 7, blocking cookies, adware blocking software, security software.

    Have you recently installed (and/or uninstalled ) new security software or anything like that ?

    I sometimes get that same message, and that can mean that the page is not available. Basically a stub.

    I don't know what you mean by picture loading with X marks on the upper left.

    Do you allow your browser to use scripts, in particular javascript ?
    Do you have Java (not the same as javascript) ?
    Do you use flash (maybe outdated version), silverlight, or anything like that ?
    What security settings for IE 7 have you used, and what security software ?
     
  5. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    Do you have the security set too high?
     
  6. falconaire

    falconaire Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    36
    to MR. GlobalForce:

    they're not under user accounts. I'm working on the method you suggested

    to Mr. Fly:

    no it's not just a page. most of the pages don't load.
    normally, pages like yahoo and Google are the one who is working fine since they're frequently use
    > BTW i don't know about the VPN and anonymizer
    on the Microsoft help and support says set the connection to "automatically detect proxy settings"
    >should i set my own?
    i thought it was the AV but i uninstalled all, still same problem exist

    a sample of what i mean by the x mark
    or the unloaded picture is attached here


    > dunno how to set browser scripts sir
    > basically i don't use java, since the pages don't require or prompt them
    > may flash is always updated
    > actually i don't use security settings for IE since i don't open potentially bad pages

    to Mr. twl845

    the security setting is set to medium (i think the normal one)


    to All:

    thanks for the response I'm working on your suggestions
    I'll just post later what happens
    tnx again :-*
     

    Attached Files:

  7. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    We make any progress here Mr.Falconaire Sir? Where are ya buddy?

    S
     
  8. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,916
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    What was the name of the AV and the version number you uninstalled?
    Do you use SpybotS&D and/or Lavasoft's AdAware?
     
  9. falconaire

    falconaire Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    36
    to MR. GlobalForce:

    >> sir i tried all your suggestions but still the same problem exists.

    to MR. JRViejo:

    >> i tried to used lavasoft and the other one is AVG, no problem regarding viruses.

    Message to ALL:

    >> tnx to your support and feedbacks, anyway i solved the problem yesterday. my friend told me about setting dns. And just a few moments, no hanged webs are going on the page.

    >> i suggest using this site ( opendns.com ) for free source, it help me alot. this closes the thread. :D

    >> special tnx to MR. GlobalForce ^^ hope this will serve as a guide to others

    :argh: :eek:
     
  10. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Great! Thank you Falconaire Sir, a suggestion to keep handy for that future "time and place." ;)

    S
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.