What programs use blocklists for internet access?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by EscapeVelocity, Apr 22, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. EscapeVelocity

    EscapeVelocity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Posts:
    368
    What programs use blocklists for internet sites?

    I have MVPS and other Hosts Files running plus IP Blocker Peerblock with BlueTack lists.

    Do any of the Anti Virus or Firewalls, Suites, Etc also use blocklists integrated in their features?

    Also which is better BlueTack IP blocklists or Hosts Files?
     
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2010
  2. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,949
    Spybot Search and Destroy uses a blocklist.
     
  3. EscapeVelocity

    EscapeVelocity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Posts:
    368
    Doesnt SpyWare Blaster too, perhaps only for Internet Explorer?
     
  4. G1111

    G1111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    2,127
    Location:
    USA
    MBAM has website blocking, There is a blocklist available for Kaspesky, Outpost and Online Armor at Calendar of Updates: http://www.calendarofupdates.com/updates/index.php?app=downloads&showcat=1
    Kaspersky AV has a very small list of phishing sites. Blocklists are good. but they are like virus signatures, they need to be constantly updated to be effective. For Firefox I use WOT. There is also Adblock Plus that has various lists you can load.
     
  5. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    OOPS - disregard, G1111 mentioned OA's blocklist...
     
  6. EscapeVelocity

    EscapeVelocity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Posts:
    368
    Here is a good rundown of BlueTack blocklists...

    http://blocklistpro.com/faqs/biss-ip-blocklists-faq.html


    From what Im reading OA and Outpost can use expanded lists, when converted using Blocklist Pro or other converters. How about MBAM, can it too use expanded lists (converted or unconverted)?
     
  7. EscapeVelocity

    EscapeVelocity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Posts:
    368
    Also this from Calender of Updates...

    So it looks like MBAM can use expanded blocklists, converted to OA or Outpost...

    Also AdAware has blocklist feature, similarly can use expanded blocklists, using a converter to OA or Outpost.

     
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2010
  8. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,949
    I think the Adaware blocklist is only in the pro version.
     
  9. BladeRunner

    BladeRunner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Posts:
    50
    Location:
    Vancouver,BC
    Outpost Firewall Pro uses blocklists for internet access.
     
  10. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1,732
    blocklists in:
    outpost
    online armor
    mbam
    and some more.

    spybot is definitely a NO GO - crap software which produces more problems than it solves.

    you ask about so many software in the last days - i summon you dont have
    any clue what to use. you read that much but it confuses you more than it helps.

    once again i refer to this topic:
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=111264

    1 browser (with advanced protection/filtering)
    1 av software
    1 sandbox
    1 firewall (not really needed - when already on the system its too late)
    1 hips (not really needed - and sometimes it overstains user -or it just annoys)

    some software combine av, firewall and hips, like outpost, online armor.
    or combined firewall & hips (outpost, online armor pro/free).

    i am no friend of those suites - i ever worked with separated av and firewall.

    my tip:
    get a good av software: eset, kaspersky, emsisoft (all paid) or avast for my preferred free (then avira)
    Firewall: online armor (pro or free), then outpost (pro/free) or Windows 7 Firewall Control (Pro, NOT free crap)
    sandbox -> sandboxie for testing purpose for new or unknown software!

    these combinations ever worked together.

    if you want to improve to get some more sophisticated software like
    Defensewall HIPS, Malware Defender/Torchsoft, Mamutu, PrevX
    with MORE settings to screw up.

    blocklist - i use one - but i am already safe with my browser with its script
    and ads filters. its my first defense line.

    last defense is any backup/image!
     
  11. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,949
    Just to add to Brummelchen's advice that MD is no longer being sold and we have the possibility of a free version soon.
     
  12. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1,732
    /offtopic
    MD becomes really free? (unfortunately its no longer developed)
    i am testing windows 7 firewall control (pro) beside to MD but w7fc has some
    minor glitches which MD does not have.
     
  13. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,949
    Actually is was bought out by 360safe and will continue being developed as freeware.
     
  14. EscapeVelocity

    EscapeVelocity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Posts:
    368
    Thanks again Brummel, I know Im a pest, but Ill get there eventually. Then Ill pass on advice as best I can to others, that i have recieved and learned from here.
     
  15. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses
    Re: What programs use blocklists for internet sites?


    FWIW, Eset V4 has a feature in advanced setup for what they call address management. There are a number of list types but 1 is for blocking access. However, the user (us!) must fill it in themselves. It is possible to build a text file of sites to block and import it in to Eset. I have done this so it works. You can use wildcard characters and enter for example:

    *.ch

    and block a whole country with one entry.
     
  16. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1,732
    no matter, EscapeVelocity

    thanx for pointing out the import list, Escalader.
    and lol - the swiss is not really important here in germany :D
     
  17. EscapeVelocity

    EscapeVelocity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Posts:
    368
    I found this for Spyware Terminator...

     
  18. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1,732
    how far is your general security? Which software?
    if you had that ready - THEN and NOTbefore you should
    think about 3rd party and additionals tools like SpyTerm !
     
  19. EscapeVelocity

    EscapeVelocity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Posts:
    368
    Physical security of the computer is very high, not worried much about that.

    XP Home SP3

    Admin. Rights

    Linksys Firewall
    Windows Firewall

    Avast 5 Free - All Shields Up
    ThreatFire 3 - Level 4
    PrevX SafeOnline (Facebook) - Maximum on HTTP & HTTPS
    WinPatrol Free
    Keyscrambler Premium
    Hostman with MVPS/HPHosts/Malware Domains
    PeerBlock with BlueTack Ads/Spyware/Hackers/Spider/Bogon Lists & I-BlockLists China/Russia
    OpenDNS with Filters
    CCleaner
    Eraser

    Browsers:

    FireFox 3.6 (All the Usuals plus LinkExtend)
    Opera 10.51
    Chrome
    IE8

    Image Backup:

    Macrium Reflect Free

    On Demand:

    HitMan Pro Free
    SAS Free
    MBAM Free
    A Squared Free
     
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2010
  20. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1,732
    sorry and hard to say - you r going the same stupid way like this dude.
    too much software to care on - too much paranoia :thumbd:
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=265888

    about XP firewall, the LOL thing
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=265817
    xp firewall ist really damn crap - throw it into a rats hole

    My recommendation based on your list
    avast5
    keyscambler
    ONE blocklist
    CCleaner
    OpenDNS might, butits an additonal option

    Firefox or Opera
    (ONLY ONE - those two are really complete different in handling!)

    Macrium

    MBAM or a²free

    Drop the rest of it, it blows your mind and your machine.
    and - you have the work to update them all.
    The trouble here ist that you have 2 or more programs on the same issue.
    you should choose software on the sector the will work on.
    security is a gearbox with 4 or more components which should work TOGETHER - NOT VERSUS.
     
  21. EscapeVelocity

    EscapeVelocity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Posts:
    368
    Via PC Magazine...

     
  22. emsisoft

    emsisoft Security Expert

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Posts:
    312
    Location:
    Nelson, New Zealand
    Re: What programs use blocklists for internet sites?

    The Emsisoft Anti-Malware surf protection feature uses the hpHosts hosts file database.

    You can configure how the different categories of hosts should be handled (block silently, block with info, alert, don't block).
     
  23. EscapeVelocity

    EscapeVelocity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Posts:
    368
    Re: What programs use blocklists for internet sites?

    Thanks for the info EmsiSoft aka A Squared. I think that is a great addition to your product.
     
  24. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    Comparing hp and MVPS - which one would you say is most reliable, database and date-wise?
     
  25. EscapeVelocity

    EscapeVelocity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Posts:
    368
    hpHosts incorporates MVPS into its list, among others. Using HostsMan (and similar) you can update each when available and it integrates them into one list, removing duplicates, so if MVPS updates between hpHosts updates, you can stay current.

    That EmsiSoft A-Squared is relying on hpHosts, says something about the confidence they have in that list.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.