What is your security setup these days?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dja2k, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,838
    Last time I checked, it wasn't compatible with the latest Firefox. As far as I know...It only works with Internet Explorer.
     
  2. KelvinW4

    KelvinW4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Posts:
    1,199
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Heh, on the website it says they are "working" on support for FF4 :rolleyes:
     
  3. WSFfan

    WSFfan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Posts:
    374
    Location:
    The Earth
    Added Norton ConnectSafe to my setup.

    Rollback Rx|Sandboxie|SUA|UAC|Applocker|WFC|ConnectSafe
     
  4. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,491
    Been a few months since the last time i formatted my Laptop.
    Just wiped it all a few hours ago and now i'm gonna reinstall my previous setup.
    EAM + OA :D
     
  5. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,838
    I just got through doing this to my main desktop :thumb:
     
  6. StrangerGuy

    StrangerGuy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012
    Posts:
    18
    Operating system: Windows 7 Ultimate Service Pack 1
    OS architecture: 32 bit
    Non-admin account: No
    Real-time protection: Avast Internet Security with some personal tweaks.
    On-demand scanners: Hitman pro
    Mbam on demand
    Browser(s): Chrome with adblock + wot + Do not track Plus + no script + lastpass (always open in sandboxie)
    Backup=Windows Image Backup
    DNS=Provided by my isp
    Hardening=Emet
    Misc=Ccleaner and smart defrag
    Few Personal settings for security like autoruns,remote registry are applied.
     
  7. Blues7

    Blues7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Posts:
    870
    Location:
    2500'
    I've removed Comodo and returned to PrivateFirewall.

    Comodo FW ran very well on my system but there were things about it that I couldn't quite wrap my head around at times or that weren't intuitive when it came to managing the settings and/or protection levels. (It also gave me fits on one of the MS security updates I needed to install yesterday and several repeated attempts were fruitless with this one item. I don't need to spend my day wrestling with my FW/HIPS and so it made my decision a bit easier.)

    PF may have a "simple" user interface and less bells and whistles overall but it's always gotten the job done, scores well on available tests and I can figure out how to make the tweaks I want.

    To each his own I suppose...that's why there are several options available to us.

    That's all I got...carry on...smoke 'em if you got 'em.
     
  8. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Thanks dave. :) I also try to avoid dark corners of the web.
     
  9. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    trying out the new Kingsoft Antivirus 2012 beta :thumb: it is light and fast
     
  10. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Thanks adult. Nice to know I'm in good hands. :)
     
  11. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Does it have any kind of bb?
     
  12. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Good going :thumb:. Now you only need HitmanPro, imaging software and you're all done. Btw, what's wfc in your sig?
     
  13. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Privatefirewall :thumb:. You're in good hands. :)
     
  14. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Problably Windows Firewall Control which is not included in my solid setup, see signature :D
     
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2012
  15. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Changes in red

    Running as Admin on Windows7 x32 ultimate with no third party real time security

    -------------- on network (pre-PC protection) --------------------
    ISP service includes email scanner and spam-filter. Wireless Router with WPA2, SPI with Flood/Poisoning/Spoofing protection and Norton DNS (malware).

    ----------- from network stack to process stack ------------------
    Use Windows FW both for inbound and outbound. Added a deny execute on all threat gate folders (browser download, e-mail and media player using Access Control Lists deny execute/traverse folder for Everyone).

    --- from Low Rights (Protected mode) to Medium Rights (LUA) ---
    Using Chromium (unsigned application) with Chrome sandbox and build in safe browsing. Running PDF and Flash plug-in with Mandatory Low Rights. Using startpage as search engine, vista basic/windows7 skin, no extentions only Chrome no-script like tricks of Hungryman/M00NBL00D (see https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=323783)

    -------- from Medium (LUA) rights to High (Admin) Rights ---------
    User is only allowed to execute signed executables (AppLocker) plus Chromium and 7-Zip, Admin is allowed to run all from safe places (SRP). Unsigned programs can't elevate to Admin (UAC). Running browser, mail, media player "As Invoker" (file and registry virtualisation) with EMET 3.0 memory overflow protection.

    --------------------------- On demand -----------------------------
    - Grand parent (USB drives), Parent (NAS, 2nd HD), Child (HD) backup scheme with Win7 Image and Synctoy Data backup
    - Running CCleaner through scheduled task (/run /tn) to evade UAC pop-up
    - HitmanPro Free (coud) scan and Avira cloud scan
     
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2012
  16. blasev

    blasev Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Posts:
    763
    @kees1958,

    may I know why you don't like firefox + Noscript on win 7?
     
  17. 1chaoticadult

    1chaoticadult Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    2,321
    Location:
    USA
    Your welcome :thumb:
     
  18. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    LOL. Thanks Kees. ;)
     
  19. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    @Kees1958
    do you use the free version of Synctoy or the paid one?
     
  20. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    When you put Firefox (on Vista or Win7) in a low rights container using icacls it is fine (also Adobe helped with providing sandboxes for flash and pdf). NoScript seems to add a layer of security on FF, but whitelisting is to much trouble. I just prefer using low right container of IE (protected mode) and the low rights/job object/alternate desktop container (sandbox) of chrome. With EMET (and chrome's hidden classes) I think it is pretty hard/nearly impossible for malware (coded in Javascript) to break through these security layers.
     
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2012
  21. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Free version (did not know there was a paid one). I used the free Syncback in the past, but Synctoy seems to run faster with my NAS.
     
  22. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    There is indeed no paid version. My bad. :D
     
  23. KelvinW4

    KelvinW4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Posts:
    1,199
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    This is definitely the lightest protection I ever had :thumb: :thumb:
     
  24. ivan2k2

    ivan2k2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    Earth
    Windows 7 64bit
    UAC at max
    EMET
    HitmanPro.Alert
    HitmanPro
    TinyWall
    OpenDNS+DNSCrypt
    WinPatrol Free
     
  25. Arcanez

    Arcanez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Posts:
    404
    Location:
    Event Horizon
    dropped MSE and added a one click file upload to VT in my totalcommander which is really nice.:)
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.