What is your security setup these days?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dja2k, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,980
    Location:
    Canada
    my best security combo:thumb: :thumb:
     
  2. G1111

    G1111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    2,269
    Location:
    USA
    :thumb: :thumb:
     
  3. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,980
    Location:
    Canada
    ofcourse in paranoid mode;)
     
  4. tomazyk

    tomazyk Guest

    Updated Malware Defender to version 2.8.0.0001.
     
  5. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,980
    Location:
    Canada
    what is new in Malware Defender to version 2.8.0.00?
     
  6. tomazyk

    tomazyk Guest

    As I could understand on Chinese site there are only some improvements and no new functionalities.
     
  7. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,480
    What I mean is.

    You have a windows 7 machine, without EMET.

    You go to install EMET (and its not configured).

    Then you install EMET to enable ASLR DEP etc.

    You want to revert back to default (like how the machine was prior to installing EMET).

    What are those settings?

    Thanks.
     
  8. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,539
    Location:
    USA
    Have you looked at the EMET User Guide for this info?
     
  9. BrandiCandi

    BrandiCandi Guest

    Sounds like you're talking about reverting to the last known good configuration, something like that? When was the last backup you made?
     
  10. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    The default settings are DEP Opt Out, ASLR Opt In, SEHOP Always On/ Opt Out

    I believe EMET has a "Default Configuration" scrollbar thingy that you can just select as well as a "Custom" and "Max Security"
     
  11. 1chaoticadult

    1chaoticadult Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    2,254
    Location:
    Chaotic Land
    FYI. EMET doesn't have a "Default Configuration". Its "Recommended Security Settings" which sets DEP, ASLR & SEHOP to Opt In.
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2012
  12. zakazak

    zakazak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Posts:
    529
    Windows 7 Prof. x64 SP1:
    UAC at max level (while using a standard account)
    EMET at max protection (all internet facing apps added, pdf reader, openoffice,...)
    Applocker
    NortonDNS
    TrueCrypt

    Real-Time protection:

    Comodo Internet Security (AV,FW,D+,Sandbox)
    Malwarebyte's Anti-Malware Pro (Web & Realtime protection)

    On demand:
    Hitman Pro
    AVZ
    Dr.Web CureIT
    Comodo Cleaning Essentials

    Waterfox x64:
    Adblock Plus (Easylist + EasyGerman, EasyPrivacy, Fanboy's List + P2P + Tracking/Stats Blocking + International Tracking/Stats Blocking, Facebook, Malware Domains)
    HTTPS-Everywhere
    HTTPS-Finder
    KeeFox
    NoScript
    Redirect Cleaner
    StartupMaster
    Foxyproxy (using a SSH-Tunnel to my dedicated server.. except a few sites which I manually added to Foxproxy)

    Thunderbird:
    Always connects to the internet via a SSH-Tunnel to my dedicated server
    Passwords saved & encrypted with a Master-Password

    KeeFox:
    Syncing all my passwords on all devices via my dedicated server
    Fully replaces the password manager of:
    - Firefox (With KeeFox as Firefox addon)
    - FTP-Client (FileZilla & WinSCP)
    - Putty
    - soon MSN/Skype/mIRC/ICQ/...

    SSH-Tunnel:
    I generally use the SSH-Tunnel to my dedicated server on most app's that send/receive important or personal information to prevent sniffing. Thought about using OpenVPN but I only wanted to encrypt my network traffic for certain applications instead of everything.

    Router:
    Fritzbox -> Untangle (Virus Blocker = ClamAV, Spyware Blocker, Phish Blocker, Firewall, Intrusion Prevention, Ad Blocker, Attack Blocker) -> PC

    The Fritzbox is a normal first router. It also builds a little network which is meant for visitors/guests/friends. After that I built an Untangle-router with my old home-server (Dual Core 2 Duo 2,66Ghz, 2GB RAM). This is my main router which does all the DHCP,QoS,filtering,blocking,security... stuff.



    I really recommend KeePass to everyone. You can sync it on every device via the web (dropbox,ftp,sftp,ssh,what-ever) and fully replace any password manager. To log into my ftp-server via Filezilla I just run KeePass, select the login entry in KeePass and click "open". Filezilla will start and log in with the credentials given from KeePass. Works with nearly every program.
    I still wonder if it's safe to run Thunderbird the whole day with my passwords saved in the password manager (but encrypted by using the master password).

    Don't know of anything else that I could add. Maybe I could add another AV to scan all downloaded files (done by my router) but I think 3 AV's are already enough (ClamAV = Router, CIS & MBAM = System). Especially when there is NortonDNS, Phish Blocker (Router) and Spyware Blocker (Router) blocking everything before I can even load/browse it. And if malware still manages to bypass those 6 layers of protection I still have a HIPS,FW and auto-sandbox. In case all those 9 layers of protection don't help I would still have all my sensible data encrypted with TrueCrypt as well as my passwords are saved within KeePass with a strong encryption, keyfile and master password.
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2012
  13. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,980
    Location:
    Canada
    added AppGuard to my systems:thumb:
    finally i made AppGuard work
     
  14. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    yeah I have SD but I don't run it in real-time. Every once and a while I'll run in shadow mode. I wonder if just having it run in memory might be the problem. Other than that I would rather ditch WSA then get rid of SD.
     
  15. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Added Axcrypt to all my documents and personal stuff.
    Wonderful piece of software. Nice and easy to set up.
     
  16. KelvinW4

    KelvinW4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Posts:
    1,199
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Unthreat Free:thumb: :thumb:
     
  17. zakazak

    zakazak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Posts:
    529
    I agree it's awesome. But after some long usage I now prefer to have the whole folder encrypted with TrueCrypt instead of every single file getting encrypted/decrypted by AxCrypt (it just takes much longer on a big folder).
     
  18. BrandiCandi

    BrandiCandi Guest

    So does TrueCrypt keep each folder encrypted until you choose to open it? So you could have encrypted folders at the same time you're logged in?

    Or is it like other disk encryption, where it's encrypted as long as you're logged off. As soon as you're logged in, it's decrpyted and plain text?
     
  19. SM_Unlimited

    SM_Unlimited Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Posts:
    32
    @BrandiCandi
    The encrypted folder is stored on your system as a file. You effectivly mount the encrypted folder as another disk drive. On doing so you enter your passkey and/or select a keyfile so that you can read its contents at which point you can add or remove files to it like any normal disk drive.
     
  20. malexous

    malexous Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Posts:
    830
    Location:
    Ireland
    Dad's laptop:

    Windows 7 32-bit,

    Standard User Account,

    AppLocker,
    Norton Internet Security,

    HitmanPro,

    Adblock Plus,
    NoScript (scripts globally allowed).

    Mum's laptop:

    Windows 7 64-bit,

    Norton DNS,

    Standard User Account,

    Enhanced Mitigation Experience Toolkit,
    Norton Internet Security,

    HitmanPro,

    Adblock Plus,
    NoScript (scripts globally allowed).

    I may setup Software Restriction Policies for my Mum once I look into it more.

    My laptop:

    Arch Linux 64-bit,

    Adblock Plus*,
    NoScript (base second level domains allowed by default, restrictions applied to whitelisted sites)**.

    * Not used for security reasons.
    ** Used for different reasons. The security reason is for cross-site scripting protection and other similar protections.
     
  21. Francis93

    Francis93 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    311
    Super tight setup j :D:thumb:
     
  22. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,980
    Location:
    Canada
    it is working just nice:thumb:
     
  23. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    Major change. It has really comedown to Panda and Eset and after really a tough one, Panda gets the Nod for 2012.

    No pun intended.:cool:
     
  24. carat

    carat Guest

    Trjam and Panda are back again! ;)
     
  25. Nevis

    Nevis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Posts:
    812
    Location:
    255.255.255.255
    nah, I m very sure that i am fine in Linux with just a firewall.
    Lets not be too paranoid :p
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.