What is your security setup these days?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dja2k, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. De Hollander

    De Hollander Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Posts:
    718
    Location:
    Windmills and cows
    Just my sign.
     
  2. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Removed Panda cloud AV.
    Added Webroot SecureAnywhere.
    Now I'm having issues. Having some lockups and hanging. Don't think WSA is playing nice with either comodo firewall or sandboxie. Hmmm. Time for some detective work. Other than that its running smooth. ;)
     
  3. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,113
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    HAPPY NEW YEAR!

    January 9, 2012 - Updated , Added , Removed

    Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 x64 - SUA & Applocker (MrBrian Ruleset)

    (UAC: MAX , WD: OFF, FW: OFF, DEP: ON, SEHOP: ON, EMET: MAX)

    Network
    • Three Linksys WRT54G Routers (DD-WRT Firmware)
    • Netgear PowerLine AV 500 Adapters
    • Wired Cat5e Connection between all 3 Routers
    • WPA2-PSK AES Encryption
    • SPI Firewall Enabled
    • OpenDNS Configuration
    Resident
    • Shadow Defender 1.1.0.325* (Paid)
    • KeyScrambler Premium 2.9.0 (Paid)
    • Online Armor ++ 5.1.1.1485 Beta (Paid)
    • Sandboxie 3.63.03 Beta (Paid)
    On-Demand
    • Active@ Disk Image 5.2.5 * (Paid)
    • VMWare Workstation 8.0.1 build-528992 (Paid)
    • Hitman Pro 3.5.9 Build 138
    Browser, Immunization, Tweaks
    • Firefox 10.0b3 (Fanboy's Blocking Lists via ABP, WOT, BetterPrivacy)
    • LastPass 1.80.0 Premium (Paid)
    • Bluetack Safepeer SPLists (via OA for P2P Only)
    • Spyware Blaster 4.5 (All Protection Enabled + Customblocking.txt)
    • BlackViper's Services Registry Files (Safe W7 Ultimate 64 Start)
    • Ultimate Windows Tweaker 2.2 (Customized)
    • SpeedGuide.net Vista TcpIp Patch 1.5
    *ShadowMode (Enabled) and Active Disk Image (Weekly)

    dja2k
     
  4. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,751
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    It couldn't be Avira because he'd still be there.;)
     
  5. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Sure he would. ;)
     
  6. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Ok That whole webroot WSA issue was a corrupt install. A couple of headaches and chkdsk for 15 min and all is well. WSA AV working well and it is very fast. I think I might keep it and give the panda a boot. :p
     
  7. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,044
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Good to hear you got it sorted! ;)

    TH
     
  8. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Me too. I didn't have rollback RX installed yet. I actually had to troubleshot a little.
     
  9. abu shofwan

    abu shofwan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Posts:
    358
    Location:
    Earth
    True

    all last year,Avast did poorly according AVC result :D
     
  10. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,995
    FWIW- I enabled the Eset HIPS and rebooted. Screen froze so I disabled and rebooted and everything was fine again. I think I'll go with mamutu over Eset Hips. Eset's av is running very smooth otherwise.
     
  11. ReverseGear

    ReverseGear Guest

    There might be a problem between the two..u can report in the eset forum
     
  12. natostanco

    natostanco Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Posts:
    12
    Disabled mamutu and superantispyware, even if I don't think mamutu conflicts with spyshelter...

    The purpose of my switch from emsisoft was to get a decent popupless environment...realtime right now:

    Symantec Endpoint security full (Removed Private firewall)
    Malwarebytes
    Admuncher
    Spyshelter
    Keyscrambler.

    With this setup the only pop ups are from spyshelter but are legit and really not frequents.

    I guess I will stick with this setup for a long time...
     
  13. justenough

    justenough Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Posts:
    1,549
    Removed Emsisoft Anti-malware and replaced it with PandaCloud Free and Mamutu.

    Also removed Hitman Pro, because after my last scan HMP's window had an ad for 'Hotspot Shield'. When I looked up the program, I found what seemed to be serious problems with it. Instead of protecting from ads it was targeting the user with ads. There was an inadequate explanation by the company. Maybe HMP has a good reason for promoting the software, I haven't asked them about it. Maybe someone else with more knowledge than I have can look into it. But unless I find out differently, I'm not using HMP again.

    later edit: MajorGeeks has this about the Hotspot Shield: 'Limitations: This program is advertising supported and may offer to install third party programs that are not required for the program to run. These may include a toolbar, changing your homepage, default search engine or other third party programs. Please watch the installation carefully.'

    And this is what GFI Labs (Sunbelt Vipre) has to say about it, along with Hotspot Shield's reply and GFI's response to the reply:
    http://sunbeltblog.blogspot.com/201...m_campaign=Feed: SunbeltBlog (GFI Labs (OLD))

    I'll start a separate thread about this.
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2012
  14. kupo

    kupo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,121
    In the past, it was an ad about updating Drivers (Driver agent or something like that), I asked about that in the thread for HitmanPro, they said that only the unregistered version of HitmanPro receives this kind of ads. I'm thinking of replacing it as well. Just looking for a good alternative.
     
  15. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    Sorry, had to get back on the Yellow Brick Rd, or Aqua one.:thumb:
     
  16. nikanthpromod

    nikanthpromod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Posts:
    1,369
    Location:
    India
    Added
    Eset AV
    LooknStop
     
  17. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Ditching WSA again. Apparently I didn't fix the problem. It still locks up when running firefox. I added a few exceptions to comodo firewall and D+. I tried running firefox unsandboxed. Nothing seems to help. Haven't tried a different browser yet. Anything that requires that much effort, I usually don't keep. Unless anyone has some suggestions.
     
  18. Jim_S209

    Jim_S209 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Posts:
    5

    I see you're running Shadow Defender. On my PC, WSA was also installed along with SD and i had conflict between the 2. PC would freeze up within an hr while using firefox and i had to do a hard shut down. After removing SD, I had no problem with WSA.
     
  19. Rompin Raider

    Rompin Raider Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,253
    Location:
    North Texas
    :argh: It's a Nomad kinda day!:argh:
     
  20. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,853
    Hey guys. I asked this question a few weeks ago, but did not have the desired results.

    I need to uninstall EMET and have Windows back to its default settings prior to the installation of EMET.

    I know if I just uninstall it, that will not be good enough. So, can someone point me in the right direction?

    Thanks.
     
  21. BrandiCandi

    BrandiCandi Guest

    malwarebytes has a file assassin that you could use.
    ccleaner also has a program removal tool.
     
  22. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,970
    Trying out a new setup: Webroot SecureAnywhere (AV Only) + Panda Cloud Beta
     
  23. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    why do I get that feeling that Panda Beta is different then ours.:thumb:
     
  24. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,970
    I don't know because I am using the same version as y'all :p I was just to lazy to type out the version number
     
  25. KelvinW4

    KelvinW4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Posts:
    1,199
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    I really like your setup :thumb:
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.