What is your security setup these days?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dja2k, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    at this moment, on this day, at this hour, like right now at this second.

    Kaspersky AV Version 7 and Sandboxie.
     
  2. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,306
    Do you mind reporting back in an hour?:D :D :D

    Best,
    Jerry
     
  3. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    Times up.:D
     
  4. SPRINTMAN

    SPRINTMAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    53
    Location:
    Canberra, ACT, Australia
    Panda Platinum Internet Security 2006, Spywareblaster, Spyware doctor 4.1, SUPERAntiSpyware, a-Squared on trial. CCleaner and AMUST Registry Cleaner 3.5 to keep things 'nice'
     
  5. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,113
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    Question for you guys, I haven't had much luck with Cyberhawk or Prevx2, so....

    What is in your opinion offers more, Pro Security Free, System Safety Monitor Free, or my current KAV Proactive Module?

    I am assuming that the PDM won't play nice with others like ProSec or SSM right. I've never tried it yet and though of asking first.

    dja2k
     
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2007
  6. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    personally I ended up disliking both for different reasons. I still prefer BoClean as a different type of add on. And to answer your other question, SSM.
     
  7. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,113
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    Thanks trjam for your reply.

    dja2k
     
  8. Jadda

    Jadda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Posts:
    429
    AntiVirus: Norman Virus Control
    AntiSpyware: Counterspy
    AntiBot/Zombie: Norton AntiBot
    Firewall: Norman Firewall
     
  9. Antarctica

    Antarctica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    2,011
    Location:
    Canada
    My new setup since last week

    Real time:
    Netgear Router
    Jetico 1.0 free version
    Antivir Premium
    DefenseWall

    On demand:
    SuperAntispyware
     
  10. Seer

    Seer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    2,067
    Location:
    Serbia
    NOD32 2.70.39
    SSM full 2.3.0.612 (without network rules)
    Jetico 2.0.0.33 (indirect acccess and process attack disabled)
     
  11. tmaertin

    tmaertin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    Posts:
    32
    Location:
    North Tonawanda, NY
    AV - NOD32
    AS - SpywareTerminator, SpywareBlaster (realtime), Adaware, Spybot and SuperAntispyware (on demand)
    AT - BOClean 4.24
    Firewall - router + Comodo 2.4
    WinPatrol
    MVPS Hosts File (with some manual additions)
    Opera 9.22 Browser
    CCleaner
    OpenDNS
    wife on limited account in XP
     
  12. QBgreen

    QBgreen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Posts:
    627
    Location:
    Queens County, NY
    Constant:
    Good old HQ wired SPI router, a true and valued friend!

    Active:
    KIS 7.0.0.125 (thanks KL for coming through regarding the Systweak key situation)
    Sana Security's Primary Response SafeConnect 2.2.0.1187 (I really like this!)

    Passive:
    a2 Free
    SAS Free
    SpywareBlaster
    RootkitRevealer

    This setup is quite likely to remain for a good length of time on my XP Pro machine.
     
  13. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    8,005
    Right now, revised setup is just WinXP with AntiVir only. Using IE7 for browsing, with occasional Firefox or Opera as needed.. that's it. :)
     
  14. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,634
    added
    changed
    removed


    Vista setup

    Resident:

    ESET Security Suite
    Look 'n' Stop
    NOD32

    On-Demand:

    SUPERAntiSpyware Free

    Other Security / System Hardening:

    vLite'd Vista (with service tweaking based on SpeedyVista's guide) (formerly TweakHound)
    AutoPatcher Vista
    Vispa
    xp-AntiSpy
    Process Explorer
    Firefox extensions: AdBlock Plus, CookieSafe, and NoScript


    XP setup

    Resident:

    ESET Security Suite
    GhostWall
    NOD32

    On-Demand:

    SUPERAntiSpyware Free

    Other Security / System Hardening:

    nLite'd Windows XP SP2 (with service tweaking based on TweakHound's guide)
    RyanVM's Post-SP2 Windows XP Update Pack
    Harden-It
    Seconfig XP
    SocketLock
    xp-AntiSpy
    Process Explorer
    Firefox extensions: AdBlock Plus, CookieSafe, and NoScript
     
  15. hydenseek

    hydenseek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    Hi!

    Resident:
    SonicWALL TZ 150 Hardware Firewall
    LooknStop
    NOD32
    ProSecurity

    On Demand:
    SuperAntiSpyware
    RKU
    Autoruns
    Process Monitor
    Currports

    browser:
    Firefox - No Script-LinkScanner-Netcraft Tollbar

    Hardening:
    Spyware Blaster
    Harden-it
    Reg Tweaks

    Recovery:
    IFD
    Returnil
    (Currently trying FD-ISR. Looks very promising)
     
  16. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,113
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    Welcome :D hydenseek, your setup is pretty good!

    dja2k
     
  17. cello

    cello Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    Milano, Italy
    Hi

    Philips SNA6500 router with NAT and SPI firewall modules enabled
    AOL AVS
    Jetico v1
    SuperAntiSpyware (on demand)
    A-squared free (on demand)
    SandboxIE
    Firefox with NoScript
    Acronis TrueImage 10
     
  18. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,113
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    Welcome cello, your setup looks well too.

    dja2k
     
  19. hydenseek

    hydenseek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    Thanks
    About three months ago, I noticed a marked decrease in system performance including browsing. My two room mates were experiencing the same (local network). I downloaded Process Monitor and Autoruns and found C:\Windows\Sytem32\algose32.exe on my system and my room mates systems as well.
    I also found:
    HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    Offices Monitorse
    <System>\algose32.exe
    HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    Offices Monitorse
    <System>\algose32.exe
    had been added to our registries.
    After more Googling, a Hijack This log, and trips to Castle Cops and Tom Coyote, I found we had W32/Rbot-GDD on all our systems.
    Instead of cleaning, we chose to DBAN our disks and reinstall Windows. Not knowing if the data I had acquired/created since noticing the slowdown was safe, I destroyed it, including 4 Photoshop projects I was working on. Reinstalling Windows and tweaking my graphics programs took three full days.
    I can't describe the anger and frustration at finding I'd been compromised, losing my data, and not being able to put a face to this attack.
    Although, I guess the face would belong to me or my room mates due to our carelessness. Which made me even more angry. If this ever happens again, I promised myself it wouldn't be due to ignorance or carelessness, so I started learning about, and locking down my system. Most importantly, IMO, I've taken a new look at how I operate my computer and MY responsibility for it's safety ...which led me here.
     
  20. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,113
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    Update Listing from 1318

    Changed Added Removed

    WINDOWS XP SETUP

    ACTIVE

    Ksspersky Internet Security (7.0.0.125)
    - File, Mail & Web Anti-Virus Enabled
    - Anti-Hacker Firewall Enabled
    - Privacy Control Enabled
    - Proactive Defense Enabled
    - Anti-Span Enabled
    PeerGuardian 2.0 (RC1)
    - Anti p2p list Enabled
    - Government list Enabled
    - Educational list Enabled
    ProSecurity (1.30) Full
    - System Protection Enabled
    - File\Folder Protection Enabled
    - Registry Protection Enabled
    Comodo BOClean (4.24)
    - Default Settings Enabled
    Geswall (2.6) Free Edition
    - Isolate Know Applications
    - All Browsers Automatically Isolated

    ON DEMAND

    HostsXpert 4.0
    - MVPS Host File \ Overwrite
    Hostsman (3.0..45)
    - MVPS Host File \ Overwrite

    BROWSER

    Firefox 2.0.5
    - Netcraft Anti-Phishing Toolbar
    - RoboForm Toolbar
    - LinkScanner Lite
    - Adblock Plus
    - Adaptive Referrer Remover
    - Redirect Remover
    - TrackMeMot
    - ShowIP

    Rest found at 1269

    dja2k
     
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2007
  21. Bio-Hazard

    Bio-Hazard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Posts:
    529
    Location:
    Cornwall, UK
    ACTIVE:

    Router
    Online-Armor +AV v. 2 (trial)
    Online-Armor Firewall (Advanced settings)
    NOD32 with Blackspears settings
    DefenseWall v. 2.00

    ON DEMAND

    SUPERAntispyware Pro
    A-Squared (free)
    RootkiUnhooker

    BROWSER:
    Firefox with No-scripts, Adblock plus, Cookiesafe, Netcraft toolbar, Roboform toolbar, Flashblock, Show IP, IDND.

    OTHERS:
    Spywareblaster
    ProcessExplorer
    Autoruns
    Runscanner
    CCleaner

    BACK UP:
    FDISR
    ShadowProtect
     
  22. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,375
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
    After 2 years I've decided to actually reduce the number of programs: No more HIPS for a while.

    Opera + ShadowUser

    Nod32 + Look and Stop

    RegDefend + AdMuncher

    Always running in virtual mode, and ATI 9 for emergencies.

    I don't care what people say but at least my sytem runs faster without HIPS.
     
  23. Long View

    Long View Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    2,295
    Location:
    Cromwell Country
    My guess is that it would run even faster without all the other programs.
    Do you surf dangerously ? when did you last have a real problem ?

    You have Acronis - so give it a go - run with nothing but a good hardware firewall - Opera - virtual if it makes you feel better. The world will not come to an end.
     
  24. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,375
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
    You know Long View, I agree with people like you that the whole security business at least here at Wilders is going over the top, in terms of 'I have this, you have that, mine is better than yours, some people running 3 HIPS simultaneously, and complain about BSOD....'

    Somehow we feed ourself food for paranoia unnecessarily, the feeling of having a digital fortress is almost like going into the jungle with the right guns.

    But who is really going into the jungle? I have been careful about adding programs (I don't collect licences, and I don't like testing programs for the hell of it), but I'm realizing that the basic old set-up of AV + FW is still the best compromise between too much and too little.

    What I think has changed lately is the new concept of virtualization. I couldn't surf the web without ShadowUser (my choice).

    I could not go without Nod32 either because of the nature of my job: it caught more than 70 nasties in 4 months. Yes I was running in virtual mode but some of those files cleaned by Nod i had to keep and therefore Nod was essential. Not once ProcessGuard sprung into action before Nod.

    The bottom line: Life is faster without HIPS. I think if you run without an AV perhaps you ought to consider HIPS.
     
  25. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,113
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    Don't know if you already know, but PeerGuardian has a new version RC1 Test 2 and is Vista Compatible. Just thought I should let you know for those of you who use PeerGuardian.

    dja2k
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.