What is your security setup these days?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dja2k, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,965
    back to trying applocker again
     
  2. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    back to something simple that works and doesnt hog your memory
     
  3. Fuzzydice45

    Fuzzydice45 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Posts:
    108
    Location:
    Australia
    New setup...

    Avira Free 10
    SRWare Iron 6
    Sandboxie Free 3.48, sandboxing Iron only.

    Free, Light and Secure (I hope).
     
  4. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,965
    Yeah, but doesn't leave much to play with. I need a pop up every once in a while. That's much better than that string music twang MS chirps out whenever something doesn't have permission to run. At least hit me with some big red letter warning message difficult to interpret. Keeps things exciting.
     
  5. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,538
    Location:
    Sweden
    That'd be Prevx and not NOD32. :)
     
  6. iravgupta

    iravgupta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Posts:
    605
    I would disagree. Prevx causes too much I/O activity to negate whatever savings it does on RAM. NOD32 runs super sweet on my very sensitive machine. (Just waiting for it to become compatible with WLM 2011.) Uptil now only avast!, Norton 2010, 2011 and NOD32 are the apps that do not slow down my machine.
    The only irritating part of NOD32 is the browser hang when a large executable finishes downloading.
     
  7. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    8,137
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    ADDED:: Privacyfirewall

    All else remains 100% rock solid and stable as always. :thumb:


    Nothing else new need be added just yet.
     
  8. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Play PC (Vista x32 business)

    OS Internals (no extra overhead or cost)
    - Safe Admin, manually installed (UAC Hardened, running Chrome portable and Mail in Low-rights world + EMET-2 + Virtualised)
    - Locked down IE8 through Group Policy and FW for on-line banking
    - All low rights directories have a deny ACL to prevent low rights processes executing in low rights container (downloaded low rights processes can't execute in medium / high rights directories)
    - Windows FW setup 2-way

    Realtime protection
    - CTM free
    - Norton UAC tool free

    Adhoc
    - Hitman Pro free
    - MBAM free
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Oct 4, 2010
  9. ReverseGear

    ReverseGear Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,545
    Location:
    Mumbai
    I wish avast had a stand alone free firewall..for me its working near enuf perfect :thumb:
     
  10. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,264
    Location:
    USA
    Still using whats in my sig. Just F Secure AV, PrevX SOL, and LnS in real time. Everything else is on demand.

    Tiny Watcher has been removed and Process Hacker has replaced the standard task manager by default.
     
  11. malexous

    malexous Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Posts:
    830
    Location:
    Ireland
    Some of the notable Norton settings I have changed:

    Smart Definitions: ON
    Compressed Files Scan: OFF
    Heuristic Protection: Aggressive
    Enable Boot Time Protection: OFF
    SONAR Advanced Mode: Aggressive
    Performance Monitoring: OFF
     
  12. Boyfriend

    Boyfriend Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Posts:
    1,070
    Location:
    Pakistan
    New security setup on Windows 7 Ultimate x86

    1. Kaspersky Internet Security 2011 CF1 (11.0.1.400 a.b) ) manually configured
    2. WinPatrol PLUS 2010 (19.0.2010.0) ) manually configured
    3. DefenseWall Personal Firewall (3.07) manually configured
    4. Malwarebytes Anti-Malware (1.46) On-Demand only
    5. Wondershare Time Freeze (2.0)
    6. UAC/SEHOP/DEP/EMET 2.0/SRP/GPO

    Comments/Suggestions?
     
  13. pabrate

    pabrate Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    685
    I concur.
    It really slowdowns the system.
    Guess majority of Prevx users are using facebook version and think that Prevx is light, but with real-time guard protection ... it's a different story.
     
  14. ALookingInView

    ALookingInView Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Posts:
    365
    You can.
     
  15. atomomega

    atomomega Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Posts:
    1,292
    Why using DW's FW version if KIS already comes with a (very effetive) firewall? If you like it's sandboxing/restriction policy features then just get the HIPS version. :thumb:
     
  16. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,537
    Real-Time
    Defensewall 3.07

    Light Virtualization
    ShadowDefender 1.1.0.325

    On-Demand
    Gmer ~ CureIt ~ MBAM ~ Hitman

    OpenDNS
    Opera 10.62
     
  17. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,962
    As much as SuperAntiSpyware seemed nice it did not seem to fit in on my machine really. So I turned it off and it will now be on-demand only from now on.

    Next up to try Rising PC Doctor :)
     
  18. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,962
    Rising PC Doctor is now installed, it seems like a nice little program.
     
  19. justenough

    justenough Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Posts:
    1,549
    This has been my experience also. Process Monitor shows non-stop activity by Prevx. (Question: Is there a way to measure I/O activity other than using ProcMon?) And there were Event IDs and hangs that went away when I took Prevx off.

    But I think my over-clocked multi-core 7x64 machine is very sensitive too, though this is my first Windows computer, self-built, so I have nothing to compare it to.

    NOD32 feels very light, as does WinPatrol. Mamutu is almost as active as Prevx was, but I'm not getting any conflicts.

    Not seeing a browswer hang on large downloads using NOD32 and IE8. Might be a conflict somewhere else?
     
  20. safeguy

    safeguy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Posts:
    1,779
    On my lappie:

    Prevention:
    Windows Hardening, Browser Hardening/Immunization,
    Comodo Firewall with Defense+ ON

    Detection:
    Panda Cloud AV Pro
    Returnil Virus Guard
    WinPatrol Plus

    Cure:
    Hitman Pro

    On my family's lappie (aka toy machine:p):

    Comodo Time Machine with 2 Snapshots:

    Snapshot 1.
    LUA,SRP
    Comodo Firewall with Defense+ ON
    Panda Cloud AV Free

    Snapshot 2.
    LUA,SRP
    Comodo Firewall with Defense+ ON
    Avast Pro 30 days trial
     
  21. Pain of Salvation

    Pain of Salvation Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Posts:
    398
    Norton Antivirus 2011
    LUA
    DEP
    SEHOP
     
  22. Boyfriend

    Boyfriend Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Posts:
    1,070
    Location:
    Pakistan
    KIS Firewall is very strong and effective. I am forced to use DefenseWall Personal Firewall because I have valid one-year license of it.
     
  23. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    i have valid licenses for many security apps.
    doesn't mean because i have them i have to use them.

    only thing it means is that i have to be smarter about how i spend my money on this stuff in the future. ;)
     
  24. Boyfriend

    Boyfriend Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Posts:
    1,070
    Location:
    Pakistan
    I did not buy the license, but won in a giveaway.
     
  25. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    so?
    you still don't HAVE to use it if you don't really feel like it. :)
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.