What is your security setup these days?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dja2k, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,808
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    @Kolkata 42 degrees. :doubt:
     
  2. AvinashR

    AvinashR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Posts:
    2,063
    Location:
    New Delhi Metallo β-Lactamase 1
    New Delhi:- 46 degrees Celsius :(

    But right now its raining here....:)
     
  3. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    These degrees is crazy and very unpleasant, so I can imagine that the Monsoon season is very welcome indeed at the moment:cool:
     
  4. Running Comodo Internet Security Premium 4.1 (It's free, name changed from free to premium;)) with:
    Removed HopSurf
    Removed Ask Toolbar
    Removed LivePCSupport :thumb:
    Improved Elevated Privilege Alert language, and new sandbox button with such alerts.
    + loads of sandbox bugs fixed
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 29, 2010
  5. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,808
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Let me add my security settings in 3 Virtual OS.:p
    All are XP sp3 32bit.
    1. Spyware Terminator with AV and Fortinet Personal Firewall.
    2. TrendMicro Titenium and Iolo Personal Firewall.
    3. Kaspersky Internet Security 2010.
     
  6. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    Mamutu 2.0 with Paranoid Mode and HitMan Pro;)
     
  7. AvinashR

    AvinashR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Posts:
    2,063
    Location:
    New Delhi Metallo β-Lactamase 1
    Monsoon is still 2 month away from Delhi !! Its just western disturbance which led a little rainfall today !! :)
     
  8. AvinashR

    AvinashR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Posts:
    2,063
    Location:
    New Delhi Metallo β-Lactamase 1
    That's amazing !! Me too gonna add 5 Virtual OS in future for testing purpose. :)
     
  9. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,808
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    ha ha...:D why not...:argh: *puppy*
     
  10. AvinashR

    AvinashR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Posts:
    2,063
    Location:
    New Delhi Metallo β-Lactamase 1
    BTW how you manage to install 3 Virtual OS? I mean have you used the same .vdi file for all the OS or you have separately installed each OS?
     
  11. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,808
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Separately installed in VMWare Player...:cool: You can add as many. But can be run only one at a time. But with VirtualBox you can run them at the same time...:D
     
  12. AvinashR

    AvinashR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Posts:
    2,063
    Location:
    New Delhi Metallo β-Lactamase 1
    Ohhh...that took a lot of time i guess..Because i always test every security product and other utilities (for review purpose) on an updated windows environment. So installing everything separately will consume a lot of time. :(
     
  13. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,808
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Actually I did not updated windows.:) Just installed XP sp3.
    Do you test them on real systems or on Virtual OS?
    If you use Virtual PC, install all updates and then keep a system image and then test the product, next time restore the image.
    If you use real system (more reliable), take a system image after updating and before installing other softs and then keep an image after installing your normal day softs. When you need to test, restore the first image and test and after test restore the second image.:D
     
  14. AvinashR

    AvinashR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Posts:
    2,063
    Location:
    New Delhi Metallo β-Lactamase 1
    Thanks for suggesting me...but i am following all these things religiously from ages ...:D
     
  15. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,808
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Yeh I know about your reviews ;), But I told because of this because of this,
    :cool:
     
  16. AvinashR

    AvinashR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Posts:
    2,063
    Location:
    New Delhi Metallo β-Lactamase 1
    Okay..Let me clarify a bit more...I was actually talking about Virtual Machines, because i always take a image of a virtual OS by copying the .vdi file of an operating system. I do use Snapshots and all but i always keep an update copy of main OS. :)

    Actually what i want to know is that is it possible to use the same .vdi file for 2nd, 3rd and so on Virtual OS in a single VirtualBOX? What if i keep the same .vdi file in different folders and then use it simultaneously ...

    Hope i clarified myself. :)
     
  17. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,808
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Understood. Shouldn't be a problem if you rename them.:)
     
  18. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,692
    Active/Real-Time
    Malware Defender 2.6.0
    Sandboxie 3.45.13

    Light virtualization
    Shadow Defender 1.1.0.325

    On-Demand Scanners
    Gmer
    DrWeb CureIt
    Malwarebytes Anti-Malware

    Back-up
    Macrium Reflect

    OpenDNS
    Opera 10.53
     
  19. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,738
    @KISS fanboys: Please don't bother reading
    @Small-post fanboys: Too bad


    Network Protection:
    Linksys Router with SP1 Firewall
    OpenDNS Free (Phishing and "Basic Malware/Botnet" protection enabled)


    Real-time Protection:
    Avast Free (Shields: File System + Web + Network + Behaviour)
    Comodo Internet Security (Firewall+HIPS+Sandbox)
    Immunet Protect
    WinPatrol Free


    Passive Protection:
    Windows 7 UAC (no prompts, thanks to UACTweak. Everything else is enabled: default drop rights, File & Registry Virtualization, etc.)
    Disallowed-by-default Software Restriction Policy


    On-demand Scanning:
    A-squared Free
    Malwarebytes' Anti-malware
    Hitman Pro
    Sophos Anti-Rootkit
    SUPERAntispyware
    Trend Micro Housecall


    Firefox Add-ons:
    Adblock Plus (Malware Domains subscription)
    LinkExtend
    NoScript


    Others:
    Anubis (http://anubis.iseclab.org/)
    EULAlyzer
    HiJackThis (+ http://www.hijackthis.de/)
    VirusTotalUploader


    Updates:
    RSS Feeds: Freeware Guide, Fileforum, FileHippo.com, Freeware Files, kaldata.net, MajorGeeks.
    KC Softwares SUMo


    Virtualization:
    SandBoxie (+ DropRights)
    Vmware Player


    System Backup:
    Paragon Backup & Recovery 10.1

    Every other security features on Windows 7 Pro 64-bit (excluding Windows Defender and Firewall) are on default.


    Also got Ubuntu Netbook with Noscript and WOT. It's being updated regularly.
     
  20. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    so far the software that i plan to keep are:
    DefenseWall
    Sandboxie
    WinPatrol Plus
    Mamutu
    HitMan Pro
    Mbam Pro
     
  21. Cvette

    Cvette Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Posts:
    373
    Location:
    South Carolina, USA
    Updated setup in my signature :)

    Acronis's Virtualization is truly wonderful, backup imaging plus virtualization. I uninstalled Norton, disabled D+ and let my family use this PC for a days with the virtualization on, lo-and-behold a toolbar was installed, along with a nasty Windows Antivirus 2010 rogue. I came back to my PC, exited the virtualization and back to normal I was :D

    I guess I really never thought about how effective a solution such as this could be.
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2010
  22. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    norton is getting better;) very light
     
  23. Threedog

    Threedog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Posts:
    1,125
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Firewall:
    Router + Windows Firewall

    Realtime:
    Prevx 3.0
    Processguard Free

    On Demand:
    Shadow Defender
    SAS Pro

    Backup:
    Acronis TI
    Karen's Replicator
     
  24. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    Mamutu 2.0 with Paranoid Mode On fully replace MalWare DeFender;)
    so i decided to use mamutu full time guard:thumb: it really does what the developer says it does and it is stop malware in real time:thumb:
     
  25. SafetyFirst

    SafetyFirst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Posts:
    462
    Windows XP Pro SP3 32-bit

    Real time:

    DefenseWall v3.01
    Windows firewall
    AVG 9.0 free
    PeerBlock

    On demand:

    Shadow Defender
    Sandboxie (paid) - lags as hell


    How would SpyShelter blend in?
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.