What is your security setup these days?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dja2k, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. AvinashR

    AvinashR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Posts:
    2,060
    Location:
    New Delhi Metallo β-Lactamase 1
    Please do visit some rogue sites, you will definitely get infected..Trust me !!:D
     
  2. nikanthpromod

    nikanthpromod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Posts:
    1,369
    Location:
    India
    i know which one is bad;) and which one is good;) .
    Im A GOOD BOY:D
    Thats y no infection:cool: .
     
  3. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,923
    Location:
    Canada
    it is very risky these days only depend on antivirus solution,may get hit very hard,got to have sort of proactive protection onboard to avoid infections;)
     
  4. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA

    I disagree. No more risky then other solutions. It goes back to habits and a little luck.
     
  5. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,923
    Location:
    Canada
    yestarday i test 1 link just by clicking in the link like a regular user,i clicked on purpose and then what?you know bunch of stuff loading:D for my case i dont take the risk i have kids that use my pc and it is not save enough just to run an antivirus:) in my own case:D
     
  6. xnevermore

    xnevermore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Posts:
    143
    Good afternoon Everyone

    Updated Security

    Real Time

    Avast internet Security

    On Demand


    Malware Bytes (set to weekly scan just in case)

    Imaging and backups

    Acronis true image home (1 click on non stop backup)

    Virtualization

    Avast Sandbox (added browsers to always run visualized also used to run unknown applications thru sandbox)

    Browser

    Firefox 3.6 (adblock,last pass, xmarks)

    Running these on windows 7x86
     
  7. G1111

    G1111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    2,263
    Location:
    USA
    Firewall:
    Linksys Router (NAT hardware firewall)
    DefenseWall Personal Firewall 3.00 Beta 6 (with Windows XP firewall)

    Anti-Virus:
    Kaspersky Anti-Virus 9.0.0.736 (a.b)
    Malwarebytes Anti-Malware 1.44

    HIPS/IDS:
    Malware Defender 2.6.0
    SpywareBlaster 4.2 (with Ad-Aware custom blocking) when using IE8

    On Demand:
    Mischel TrojanHunter 5.2 (992)
    Hitman Pro 3.5.4 Build 92
    Panda Anti-Rootkit 1.08.00
     
  8. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    wow thats impressive. And to think, I just use Esets antivirus.;)
     
  9. G1111

    G1111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    2,263
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks trjam. I arrived at this setup over time. Unfortunately programs change and i am forced to move on. I had Outpost for almost 5 years, but it did not play well on my current system and I was forced to abandon it rather then trouble shoot each updated version. The last forced an OS reinstall. Current setup works well and hope it lasts awhile.
     
  10. Creer

    Creer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Posts:
    1,345
    IMO if you use DWPF you don't need MD and SB.
     
  11. G1111

    G1111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    2,263
    Location:
    USA
    I agree on SB, but it is free and doesn't use any resources. I look at it as some extra protection for when I use IE8 which is rarely. I don't agree on MD. It covers some keylogging that DW does not. Also, I believe it covers the one thing that DW missed when you ran the leaktest (files being dropped in system). For me it nicely compliments DW's already great protection. Sure I could probably get a way with just DWPF and KAV but I like being paranoid.;) BTW, I use MD with network protection disabled.
     
  12. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,079
    i tried ZA EXTREME and it locked up my laptop totally. IE was terribly slow and sometimes some sites did not even open for no reason.(Raymond) for example.
    new set up
    Dr Web 6 AV paid
    LnS firewall Paid
    Mamutu
    Prevx Safe online paid
     
  13. ccsito

    ccsito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Nation's Capital
    I've been away from here in around 1.5 years. I've only had one infection on one of my computers since that time. The free version of Avira that I was previously using kept getting issues with trying to connect to the server to get the update. It failed for several weeks and then a new malware popped up and my "outdated" AV program could not detect it. I dumped Avira and now use Avast and the updates are ALWAYS done right within a few minutes after I power on the PC. Avira is a good product, but the free version's ability to connect to the company's servers is very prone to failure and therefore not a reliable product to use. Of course, the paid version is probably different.
     
  14. lonelywolf

    lonelywolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Posts:
    73
    1.) Shadow Defender

    2.) Zemana

    3.) Drag'n'Crypt

    4.) Firefox with:

    -LastPass
    -Flashblock
    -BetterPrivacy
    -Adblock Plus

    5.) Acronis/system backup

    6.) Router with integrated Firewall

    7.) XP SP3 Firewall/no exceptions

    8.) On demand scanners:

    -a-squared free
    -malwarebytes' free

    Overall very light and running surprisingly smoothly.
    The browsing experience is just amazing.
    :D
     
  15. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,923
    Location:
    Canada
    DefenseWall Personal Firewall v3 beta and prevx 3 with safe online;)
     
  16. G1111

    G1111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    2,263
    Location:
    USA
    I see a pattern forming (returning to DWPF and Prevx);)
     
  17. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,923
    Location:
    Canada
    it is very stable and secure:) even just DW is more than enough trust me :D
     
  18. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    As mentioned elsewhere I've got CIS4 working, thanks to installing Windows 7. Great with 64-bit support, sandbox included and everything and running fairly smooth.
     
  19. G1111

    G1111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    2,263
    Location:
    USA
    Going with TrojanHunter 5.3 for awhile (MBAM now on demand)
     
  20. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,960
    Location:
    London On
    Good Evening ! Hello to jmonge, yes I'm using Hitman Pro 3.5 the paid version ! I use it as an on demand app, as I'm pretty sure you can't configure it to a scheduled scan, at least there's nothing in the Settings page that denotes that it's available. I'm pretty sure it provides a boot time scan. But I'm impressed with it's Speed and Minimal Gui. And I'll use it primarily as a compliment to Prevx and Vipre Premium 4.0. Sincerely...Securon
     
  21. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,923
    Location:
    Canada
    securon you have a very cool set up:thumb:
     
  22. PoetWarrior

    PoetWarrior Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Posts:
    340
    Switched back to Win 7 32 bit because video card fan runs less:

    Main Defense against bugs: several standard accounts for distinct purposes (UAC at full).

    Windows Firewall
    Router
    MSE
    Firefox 3.6 (adblock plus, etc)
    DEP on all programs
    Windows Update (current)
    Use Windows Imaging for restores
    External drives for data and images


    New Edition: FirstDefense Lite for quick recovery. I like its simplicity and really not missing the archival ability. So far so good though I've only started testing it tonight. :D
     
  23. boonie

    boonie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Posts:
    238
    NAT Router

    Win7:
    Avira Premium
    WinPatrol Plus
    SandBoxie

    XP:
    Online Armor++
    SandBoxie
    Surun

    MBAM, SAS, Hitman Pro for scanning.

    Spyware Blaster

    Firefox: NoScript/Adblock Plus/Better Privacy/Perspectives

    Image for Windows back up to external drive

    DEP set to all programs and services

    Trying out First Defense-Rescue Workstation. Thoughts are much the same as PoetWarrior. Simple, low memory usage, and with a few short tests, it seems solid.:thumb:
     
  24. xnevermore

    xnevermore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Posts:
    143
    this is true i tried za extreme also, it slowed down my core 2 duo 8 gb ram 1 gb video card desktop, i get the same experience when i use kaspersky internet security.

    so thats why i use this setup i dont feelany slow downs yet

    Real Time

    Avast internet Security

    On Demand


    Malware Bytes (set to weekly scan just in case)

    Imaging and backups

    Acronis true image home (1 click on non stop backup)

    Virtualization

    Avast Sandbox (added browsers to always run visualized also used to run unknown applications thru sandbox)

    Browser

    Firefox 3.6 (adblock,last pass, xmarks)

    Running these on windows 7x86
     
  25. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Minor Update

    XP Pro with group policy hardening

    LUA with SRP no execute on P2P directory and TEMP partition (where chrome download dir is etc) only
    Starting Paragon backup, Disk cleaner and Windows Create Restore point with encrypted credentials from LUA through Steel Run As freeware (was Run As)

    ACL no execute registry tweak for downloaded executables (softened up SRP because this tweaks works so well, also with Chrome)

    ACL taken away add value, create subkey and delete rights of vulnarable user space keys of LUA user, taken away write access to menu program start and tasks

    Iron Chrome with WOT , SiteAdvisor for Chrome, new tab behaviour, IE tab, Adsweep and Flashblock and Click & Clean
    Note I have set the session ID to zero and made the 'local state' file in the Google/Chrome/User Data folder as read only. Chrome is launched with --safer-plugins switch

    Avast file shield is triggered through registry attachments tweak when downloaded or mail executable is opened, normally it does not scan executables nor reads/writes (to execute downloaded /e-mailed executables, I have to remove the no-execution block first with explorer)

    Trusteer Rapport with attached settings



    Hitman Pro on demand

    That's all
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Mar 16, 2010
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.