What is your security setup these days?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dja2k, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. G1111

    G1111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    2,273
    Location:
    USA
    What is delay time? I am using programs in my signature and Firefox opens in around 3 seconds.
     
  2. lonelywolf

    lonelywolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Posts:
    73
    Norton Antivirus 2002
    Spyware Doctor 4.1
    Shadow Defender 1.1
    Windows XP SP3
    Windows Firewall

    :ouch:
    :D
     
  3. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    I hit the quick launch and it takes anywhere between 7-12 seconds. When I have geswall installed it takes 2-4 seconds. I'm not sure where the issue is. I've installed and ran it 3 times for a few days each time. Still have the problem. I even uninstalled alot of my extensions and add ons. Believe me I'd love to have it running. Just one of the those things that just doesn't work for me. It's just like what alot of people say....Try it on your system and see how it feels. ;)
     
  4. Rules

    Rules Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Posts:
    614
    Location:
    EARTH
    OS : Windows 7 Ultimate x64 (uac off, firewall and defender off)

    Realtime : KIS 2010 9.0.0.736 (a-b) (anti-banner, spam, parental control off)
    Ad Muncher Premium 4.81
    WinParol Plus 2010
    The Cleaner Pro 7.0.0.3120


    Password Manager : x-lizard

    On-Demand : Mbam 1.44, A-Squared 4.5.0.27

    Browser : Chrome (default), IE8 Disabled

    Updater : Secunia Psi

    Maintenance : Yamicsoft W7Manager + Vista Services Optimizer + Manual registry Tweaks + OO Safe Erase + Wipe (Privacyroots) + Puran Defrag.

    Fast and secure:cool:

    Rules.
     
  5. G1111

    G1111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    2,273
    Location:
    USA
    Maybe contact the programs developer (Ilya). He responds very quickly. Also, yo may trying using the latest beta of version 3. It is quite stable.
     
  6. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Yeah I was thinking of using ver 3 but I didn't want the firewall with it. I know you can probably just install the HIPS. I have this thing about having software that isn't fully operating. Plus I just gave away my year license. GeSwall is running well for me.
     
  7. Ed_H

    Ed_H Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    662
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Did you need to do anything special to get GeSwall and OA to work together?
     
  8. MaB69

    MaB69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Posts:
    540
    Location:
    Paris
    Hi Ed,

    They work great together but i do not run safer any untrusted apps.

    Regards,

    MaB
     
  9. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Nope. Nothing other than installing it. Maybe defensewall and OA weren't playing nice. For some reason geswall works well with OA. At least on my system.
     
  10. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    this is true with OA and DW i noticed a huge browser slow down:D but when i disable OA i was normal again it was the run-safer causing the slowing down of my browser:D
     
  11. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Well I'm not going to get rid of OA. Thats just crazy talk! o_O
     
  12. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    i heard ya:D for me it is the other way around:D
     
  13. kasperking

    kasperking Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Posts:
    406
    OA webshield...causes the browser slowdown.....just disable it
     
  14. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    that is exactly what i did;) and it works
     
  15. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Yeah I had tried that too. Still doesn't make much of a difference. I had tried avira premium for a while and that web sheild slowed things down alot. OA doesn't seem to slow anything down. Thats why I like it so much. Of course now that malware defender got a 90% on the 148 proactive suite challenge on Mas...I might change my mind.
     
  16. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    where is the link to see the test results?thanks
     
  17. kasperking

    kasperking Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Posts:
    406
  18. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    thanks kas;) i will get my coffee ready:thumb: and read some
     
  19. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Geez buddy. You haven't had your coffee yet?
     
  20. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    man i am very dizzy:D
     
  21. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    disable mbam pro and install BPS ;) so i am testing 2 clouds antivirus :)
     
  22. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    my pc still very fast let's see when scaning:D cool it is still fast the way i like my pc;)
     
  23. Hayki

    Hayki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Posts:
    20
    avast! 5 - Comodo v4 - A-Squared

    CCleaner , Advanced SystemCare

    :)
     
  24. TheIgster

    TheIgster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    719
    Location:
    Canada
    Hey jmonge...in the past year, how many times would you say you've changed your security setup? lol :D
     
  25. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    for sure no more than trjam ooppss i meant trojan:D
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.