What is your security setup these days?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dja2k, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    yes me too;) love it so far:D
     
  2. progress

    progress Guest

    Thank you :)
     
  3. yeuxbleus

    yeuxbleus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Posts:
    90
    Real time:
    Sandboxie (Paid)
    Winpatrol Plus
    Behind NAT Router with SPI Firewall
    SpywareBlaster

    On-Demand:
    MBAM
    Super AntiSpyware

    Imaging:
    Acronis True Image v. 11
     
  4. LaserWraith

    LaserWraith Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Posts:
    38
    Location:
    Under your bed!
    Security:
    Comodo Internet Security (AV off), Firefox with Adblock Plus and WOT.

    Backup:
    I use Window 7's Backup utility...seems to work fine. I'm wide open to criticism of it and suggestions of better backup-ers.

    Thanks
     
  5. wtsinnc

    wtsinnc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Posts:
    943
    XP Home SP-2/IE 7.
    No antivirus, Windows firewall.
    MBAM on-demand, CTM, Mamutu, and Sandboxie (free).
    Macrium Reflect for re-imaging.
     
  6. LaserWraith

    LaserWraith Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Posts:
    38
    Location:
    Under your bed!

    Free or Pro?
     
  7. wtsinnc

    wtsinnc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Posts:
    943
    Hello LaserWraith;

    I'm using the free version of Macrium Reflect.
     
  8. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    trying SnooPFree ;)
     
  9. nomarjr3

    nomarjr3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Posts:
    502
    Removed a2 Anti-Malware on my Win7 setup..
    It seems that the Host Protection is too sensitive and is blocking even legitimate sites.

    Replaced with avast! AV, heuristics set to High... so far so good :thumb:
     
  10. icr

    icr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Posts:
    1,589
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Added DefenseWall v3 Beta
     
  11. R3XNebular

    R3XNebular Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Posts:
    58
    Hitman Pro on start up
    Win Patrol Plus (Using cousins login/cd key)
    Norton Internet Security 2010 (90 day trial, reg clean to reset trial)

    A-squared on demand
    MBAM on demand
    Rick James on demand (most poweful av i've used)
     
  12. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,814
    Ok that's just sad, If you like it support it buy a key. It's not like they are expensive Ebay sometimes has the best deals.
     
  13. nomarjr3

    nomarjr3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Posts:
    502
    New setup for Win XP:

    Removed MSE, Outpost FW Free, and Mamutu...

    Replaced with Avira Antivir and ZoneAlarm Free :D
     
  14. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,491
    New setup i guess :D
    G-Data IS 2010 (It was Avira before)
    A-Squared
    Hitman Pro

    Returnil

    I don't have any HIPS or GOOD firewall because my brother doesn't like them xD
    He always uninstalls them :mad:
    He doesn't have the patience as some of us to create/click through pop ups as some of us :p
     
  15. IBadget

    IBadget Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Posts:
    59
    Location:
    Waipahu, HI
    Well I totally ditched Windows on my laptop and went with Ubuntu. One thing I love about Ubuntu is that you have to enter your passward whenever you make system changes, e.g., change the system clock, install software, etc. Had Windows followed the same procedure as Ubuntu from the very start, Windows users would never have been infected with malware and there would have been no need for band-aid solutions like real-time AV, behavior blockers, or HIPS.
     
  16. LaserWraith

    LaserWraith Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Posts:
    38
    Location:
    Under your bed!

    I would find that annoying.
     
  17. nomarjr3

    nomarjr3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Posts:
    502
    Installed MBAM and SAS Free on both of my workstations, as well as the server for my internet cafe business.

    So here's my setups for each workstation:

    Windows XP: See sig + MBAM and SAS

    Windows 7 Ultimate: See sig again :D + MBAM and SAS

    Ubuntu 9.10: Nothing :cool:

    Windows Server 2008: AppGuard + MBAM and SAS
     
  18. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,491
    Yeah, i prefer going through pop ups :D
     
  19. Ed_H

    Ed_H Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    662
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    My Laptop

    DefenseWall Personal Firewall v3 beta
    Online Armor++

    Wife's Laptop

    DefenseWall v2.56
    Avast
    A2 Antimalware (On Demand)
     
  20. darthsideous666

    darthsideous666 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Posts:
    202
    Location:
    Secret Hideout on Coruscant
    1) Desktop:
    Windows XP Home
    DefenseWall Personal Firewall v3.00
    MBAM Pro

    2) Laptop:
    Windows XP Home
    DefenseWall Personal Firewall v3.00
    MBAM Pro

    3) Laptop:
    Vista 64 Home Premium
    KIS 2009 (soon to expire)
    Primary Response SafeConnect

    Browser: Firefox
    Router: NETGEAR WNDR3700
     
  21. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    added PE Guard 1.2

    xp2:PE Guard 1.2/System Safety Monitor/WinPatrol Plus/MalWare Bytes Pro
     
  22. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,292
    Location:
    USA,IA
    Windows 7 32bit

    Avast 5 beta
    Outpost Firewall Pro.
     
  23. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    i also included winpatrol plus this time is very enhance it does work as advertize;)
     
  24. nomarjr3

    nomarjr3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Posts:
    502
    Latest version of ZoneAlarm installed flawlessly on my Win7 system.

    Replaced the Windows 7 built-in firewall with ZoneAlarm Free :thumb: :cool:
     
  25. ako

    ako Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Posts:
    665
    Vista laptop: LUA, F-secure client security 9.0, TweakUAC
    XP desktop: Defencewall personal firewall 3.00, Prevx with SafeOnline, Winpatrol PLUS

    + OpenDNS on router
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.