What is your security setup these days?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dja2k, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,107
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    OA++ is not your traditional AV, it only scans on execution and doesn't have a resident scanner. There is no conflict that I see here running OA++ and Avast 5, which by the way I am just testing. Also, Avast is not he first AV that I run with OA++ as I've used Avira in the past as well.

    dja2k
     
  2. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,923
    Location:
    Canada
    piece of cake:) :)
     
  3. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    removed Comodo Time Machine, kept getting annoying low disk space popups repeatedly...
     
  4. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,923
    Location:
    Canada
    still playing with System Safety Monitor and fall in love already:thumb:
     
  5. chris2busy

    chris2busy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Posts:
    477
    too bad its too dead ;s and works only on dead ox(xp) ;p
     
  6. Saraceno

    Saraceno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,404
    How long will this lust last? One-night stand me thinks. ;)
     
  7. dw2108

    dw2108 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Posts:
    480
    jmonge, I DIVORCED MY WIFE TO WED SSM!

    DAVE/? :argh:

    In the very words of Jean-Paul Sartre: All too few can see the inherent virtue of WINSONAR, WINPATROL, ANVIR TASKMAN FREE, TEATIMER, and few are worthy of SSM and Rising PC Doctor with Iobit 360, DriveSentry, and anything that can run on STARTUP!
     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2009
  8. Threedog

    Threedog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Posts:
    1,125
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Trying a new combo

    Online Armor 4.0.0.14 + Defensewall 2.56
     
  9. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,814
    On my test machine it seems like NIS 2010 and Prevx complement one and other well. Does well against Zero-Days.
     
  10. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,923
    Location:
    Canada
    hey dw2108 i wouldnt blame you,this software is very strong/good it is staying here also sticking like glue:)
     
  11. Top_Geek

    Top_Geek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    Hey:

    Have Triple Booter: Vista Business, Xp Pro, Ubuntu>>>E8400,4g Ram, 8800 gts
    Realtime Protection: Comodo Internet Security, Set- Proactive, Defense -Safe mode, Firewall-Custom policy, Virus -Stateful.
    On Demand : Mbam
    MVPS host files
    Sandboxie -All Internet facing applications Sandboxed
    Backup- Clonezilla on external E-Sata drive, can reimage all running systems in 80 mins with 180 gbytes of data
    Service Hardening - Got vista down to 36 running processes, turning out Windows unnecessary services, runs like a ferarri!!!
    If Windows gets trashed boot into ubuntu wipe effected H/D, and slam in clonezilla, back up and running depending on how big the running system im reimaging in 20 mins!!!
    Havent been done over in yrs, the only time i have a problem is self inflicted!!
     
  12. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,923
    Location:
    Canada
    added RTD Smart;)

    note:didnt like this version i guez i am use to the clasical hips :):)

    i am done with this RTD Smart :)
     
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2009
  13. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,491
    New program here :D
    A-Squared
    Avira
    Hitman Pro

    And the new member of the family Returnil!!
    Really like it, specially because i can try new programs without messing up my pc :D :D
     
  14. SourMilk

    SourMilk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Trialing Shadow Defense with Microsoft Security Essentials beta. Works well with Windows 7 64bit Home Premium with Intel I7 core. Light and very safe.

    SourMilk out
     
  15. Saraceno

    Saraceno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,404
    Not sure if you've purchased either Avira/Hitman Pro, but if not and you want the paid versions, see this post
     
  16. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Added Avast 5 again so....
    A-squared and Online armor( both paid)
    avast 5
     
  17. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,103
    Norton 360
    MBAM FREE:thumb: :thumb: :thumb:

    edit; removed Norton after some troubles and back to
    AVG
    PC TOOLS firewall
    TROJAN HUNTER
     
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2009
  18. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,923
    Location:
    Canada
    added winpatrol plus:)
     
  19. lonelywolf

    lonelywolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Posts:
    73
    A-Squared
    PCTools Firewall
    Shadow Defender
    Google Chrome
    :D
     
  20. arjunned

    arjunned Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Posts:
    191
    W7 (x86)
    Panda Cloud AV
    Online Armor Free
    Shadow Defender

    MBAM, Hitman Pro.
     
  21. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,960
    Location:
    London On
    G-Data-I.S. 2010 & Prevx 3.0 realtime. Mbam-on demand. Main Browsers Opera 10.10 & Safari. I.E.8 On demand. Glary Utilities...On demand. Works for me. Sincerely...Securon
     
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2009
  22. Alcyon

    Alcyon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Posts:
    438
    Location:
    Montr?al, Canada
    OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x86
    Router: WRT54G & WPA2 encryption
    (STRONG key, MAC filtering, no SSID broadcast, etc.)
    OS/Data backups: Acronis T.I.
    Firewall: Windows + W7FC frontend
    Personal proxy: Proxomitron
    HIPS: LUA+UAC (highest level)
    Browser: Opera
    A-Squared Anti-Malware + Avira Antivirus
    Manual registry hardening
    NTFS permissions modification
    & unneeded services disabled.

    Planned additional security layers: KPP (Win7 64bit) & IPSEC (tunnel mode).
     
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2009
  23. icr

    icr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Posts:
    1,589
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Just added Panda Cloud.
    Just testing it. It is temporary:D
     
  24. chris2busy

    chris2busy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Posts:
    477
    Could you please share , or even better export your registry hardening rules dear Alcyon? :)
     
  25. dw2108

    dw2108 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Posts:
    480
    Honestly, I never allow SSM to go into the learning mode -- those prompts allow me to answer in such a way that some people think that I really know what I'm doing! :D

    Dave
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.