What is your security setup these days?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dja2k, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    No real-time - check my sig. :D
     
  2. Creer

    Creer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Posts:
    1,345
    Thanks, got it.
     
  3. Dregg Heda

    Dregg Heda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Posts:
    830
    SafetyFirst:

    What happens to all the untrusted processes, and any malware which might have downloaded as an untrusted process when you disable DWs protection?
     
  4. SafetyFirst

    SafetyFirst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Posts:
    462
    DW offers to terminate all open untrusted processes.

    Any malware which might have been downloaded are either sandboxed and then erased, or treated by Online Armor HIPS or Zemana AntiLogger.
     
  5. ako

    ako Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Posts:
    663
    Vista Laptop: Defencewall, Prevx, Winpatrol Plus, Windows defender+firewall+UAC+LUA+DEP

    XP workstation: Defencewall personal firewall 3.0 (beta), Prevx, Winpatrol Plus

    Defencewall personal firewall 3.0 is great!

    DW PF 3.0 + Prevx, what a combo!
     
  6. mvdu

    mvdu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    1,166
    Location:
    PA
    Updated setup:

    AntiVir Premium
    Outpost Pro (6.5 version)
    Prevx Edge
    KeyScrambler Free
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2009
  7. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,742
    Location:
    Canada
    Simple Set Up:xp2

    1)Prevx3
    2)Mamutu
    3)Mvps Host File
    4)K9 WebProtection

    Simple Set Up:vista service pack2

    1)Prevx3
    2)DefenseWall
    3)Mvps Host File
    4)K9 WebProtection

    Simple Set Up:vista service pack2

    1)Prevx3
    2)MalWare Bytes AntiMalWare(Paid)
    3)Mvps Host File
    4)K9 WebProtection
     
  8. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    still the same on 3 computers, 3 different computers that is, and works like a charm and blazing fast.
     
  9. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    going down the path of no AV finally. after much deliberation ive decided to make the leap. currently i decided to go with

    Real-Time:
    Sandboxie with all browsers and pdf readers and p2p programs forced
    Mamutu
    WinPatrol
    Rollback Rx

    On-Demand:
    SAS
    MBAM
    Hitman Pro
    SpywareBlaster
    UpdateNotifier

    i used sandboxie only ondemand previously but now im keeping it on full time and im still considering to add PC Tools FW. what are ur thoughts on me adding PC Tools FW v6 beta to this setup?
     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2009
  10. KikiBibi

    KikiBibi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Posts:
    173
    Almost 3 years here and this is my setup on Vista:
    MSE
    Windows FW
    SpywareBlaster
    MVP Hosts file
     
  11. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,742
    Location:
    Canada
    prevx and mamutu for now:)
     
  12. Julian

    Julian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    103
    KIS beta. Along with Comodo the only acceptable HIPS for Seven x64.
    Maybe also UAC, Noscript and DEP for all processes are worth being mentioned :)
     
  13. Sully

    Sully Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Posts:
    3,719
    If you limit lan traffic (assuming you have more than 1 computer), and you are very careful about not storing sensitive information, and you do no banking or other type transactions, why would you not go without AV? I mean, you have Rollback RX, and you probably have imaging of some other kind you can restore to.

    Then again, if there are old variants floating around, and you use something like Avira free but only use it real-time and only on writes, it consumes little resources and does not much other than catch what it knows about.

    Going no AV can be great, I am doing it now for some time. But whilst many proclaim the AV to be an outdated technology, if it does catch last months virii with little resource usage, and you don't need to do anything other than let it update every few days, is it really that much of a detriment? Considering the size of our machines today it poses neglible resource usage, and while not providing so called '0-day' coverage, it can still serve a purpose.

    lol, not trying to disuade you, only that you sound like you have been weighing options, as I do all the time, trying to simplify, and this whole AV thing I am still undecided on as I can see there can be a benefit. You know, more knowledge is always better the same as more opinions always help build a better outlook.

    Sul.
     
  14. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,742
    Location:
    Canada
    :):) removed Mamutu and add appranger;)
    so for now it is Prevx and AppRanger;)
     
  15. danny9

    danny9 Departed Friend

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    678
    Location:
    Clinton Twp. Mi
    My set up now since I last posted way, way back.

    In Real time:

    OA++ w/ipBlacklist 3.5.0.32
    DefenseWall 2.56
    SpywareBlaster (probably don't need it but I still like it after all these years)
    CookieWall ( another old favorite)
    KeyScrambler
    WOT
    EAZ-FIX v.9

    On Demand:

    MBAM
    SAS
    WinPatrol+ (really not needed for real time. On hold for now)
    Ccleaner

    All behind a Linksys Router. :D
     
  16. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    thx for the insight and i was considering the scan on write only option but im really trying to pinch my resource usage down as low as possible while still feeling safe so thats really what made the final descision for me to go completely without an AV and AV's in general seemed to cause system issues in some way or another for me.
     
  17. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,742
    Location:
    Canada
    man antiviruses can not keep up againts malware:argh: :D :)
     
  18. danny9

    danny9 Departed Friend

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    678
    Location:
    Clinton Twp. Mi
    I just noticed in your signature that SpywareBlaster is listed as on demand.
    Curious, how do you run it on demand? o_O
    It uses no resources but basically sets killbits.
    Not a scanner.
     
  19. Sully

    Sully Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Posts:
    3,719
    AV cannot hope to keep up as they are retro-active. However, looking at what they do with an open mind, if they can identify a known threat they can still be of benefit, assuming of course they don't slow things down or otherwise cause issues. I suppose if you have everything locked down, and think an older virus (that the AV can identify) has no effect on you, then it is fine. But I also believe that even if you do have things locked down well, as there are so many combinations to do that, as represented in this rather large thread, it also may not hurt to have AV chirping when it does find something.

    I waiver back and forth on whether it is beneficial to use or not to use, as both sides of the equation have merit.

    Sul.
     
  20. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    i have spyware blaster free installed. not running in realtime since i didnt pay for the professional version and i run it maybe once a week for its immunization ability.
     
  21. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    You running IE or Firefox? If running Firefox, or at least a FF-based web-browser, your only protection is protection from "bad Cookies" (Tracking Cookies), which should indeed be harmless, so not much point there. If you're using IE or an IE-based web-browser it's of course a completely different case...
     
  22. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,742
    Location:
    Canada
    proactive is the way to go,hackers are way to smart:D
     
  23. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    i have both browsers and use FF mainly but im pretty paranoid about privacy so tracking cookie protection is good enuff, better than nothing especially wen all im doing is running it once in a while.
     
  24. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    I disagree, AVs can be pro-active in real time. I agree not always but the better ones do a pretty good job. I still say that a good AV and Sandboxie, DefenseWall or Geswall is about as good as you want to get with a good router.
     
  25. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    Hackers are way to smart? Then why cant we start educating users to be smarter.;) It seems so much time is spent on prevention after the fact, boy what if it were more based on prevention on the first click.

    People have to learn that internet surfing is no longer like watching TV.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.