What is your security setup these days?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dja2k, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    3,319
    Location:
    Canada
    Windows 10 Pro, 21H1

    -Lenovo E580 Laptop: Full Bitlocker encryption, Memory integrity, Core isolation, Security processor,
    -Software Restriction Policy: Default deny, Enforcement= All files, Security Level= Disallowed, Applies to= All users
    -ConfigureDefender: Protection Level= High

    -OSArmor: Defaults plus additional Protections enabled
    -Windows Firewall: Default deny in/out, using Malwarebytes Firewall Control
    -Browser: Firefox, Site Isolation enabled with uBlockO, HTTPS Everywhere & CSS Exfil Protection add-ons

    Added:

    Hard_Configurator_6_Beta1: Recommended settings & Configure Defender set to: High
    Firefox: LocalCDN Add-on
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2021
  2. Sampei Nihira

    Sampei Nihira Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    2,135
    Location:
    Italy
    @wat0114

    Hi,:)
    Why don't you upgrade to 21H1?
     
  3. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    3,319
    Location:
    Canada
    Doing so now as I type :) I was waiting for it to be available via Windows Update, but I guess my region continues to be placed on the availability backburner, so I decided to use the Update Assistant utility. Thanks for the gentle nudge ;)
     
  4. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,731
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Same went on with my region. Then one day noticed the 21H1 then it updated smooth.
     
  5. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    3,319
    Location:
    Canada
    Well finally it finished. It went smooth but slow as molasses. Then after the update I went to login and was presented with:

    "Hi. We've got some updates for your PC. This might take several minutes. Don't turn off your PC"

    More updates after the update. Lovely :rolleyes:

    Oh well, at least it's done, thanks to @Sampei Nihira nudging me :D
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2021
  6. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,731
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Slow as molasses- Exactly the way it goes for me. Even now. But here's the caveat I love to pieces @wat0114- Its a brand new 2021 Dell Windows 10. Now i'm really high on WiFi and on my 8.1's employ Microsoft's (Thank the heaven's) Virtual Wireless Network Adapter. Well, anyway the new 10 Windows has some magic under it's hood it seems. It somehow picks up not only WiFi from my 'connected ethernet' unit but must be pulling in airwaves I don't even know about. At any rate apparently they vastly improved in Windows 10 the WIFI system and you can't complain about that. I not even had the new Dell connected directly to my ISP, and yet it downloads or did download over 2 weeks worth of updates. Yeah it was seemingly painstaking slow as slow goes, but by golly it got them, installed them, rebooted and displayed
    YOUR UP TO DATE :cool:
     
  7. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    3,319
    Location:
    Canada
    :argh:

    My device is only ~4 yrs old, and my wifi is excellent. The update actually downloaded quite fast, but it was the installation that went incredibly slow. Honestly, this is the way it consistently goes with every major update I install.
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2021
  8. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,686
    Deep Freeze here in the US is 48 bucks. That's with 1 year maintenance / free upgrades. (License never expires)
    Fast start is disabled on my pc.
    Just "Boot Thawed" then update windows.
    I have a lifetime license for Shadow Defender but my personal preference at this time between the two is Deep Freeze.
    Deep Freeze does indeed protect the MBR.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,731
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Of ALL the FEW virtualization apps I tried and used, Deep Freeze is as solid as they come. Libraries use it to flush sessions of visitors who use their computers and return the systems right back to same state they were at the start.

    As a Power User Shadow Defender is as good as they come, but when it comes to really sealing down a series of computers or even one, that Deep Freeze is a immovable object in freeze mode. Requires reboot to Unthaw etc etc
     
  10. Moose World

    Moose World Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Posts:
    744
    Location:
    U.S. Citizen
    @LoneWolf
    @EASTER

    Truly appreciate you insight and details, and Thank you very much.....
     
  11. drhu22

    drhu22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Posts:
    517
    For feature and cumulative updates I am finding it a lot faster to pause downloads when they become available, dl from Windows Catalog, and install them manually
     
  12. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,731
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Appreciate the useful tip. Will try it.
     
  13. drhu22

    drhu22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Posts:
    517
    Youre very welcome

    edit: woops... I meant pause Windows Updates in original post
     
  14. Gaddster

    Gaddster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    Posts:
    79
    Location:
    UK
    Deep Freeze is as hardcore as it gets and I remember it being used in the local college years ago, where students would really trash Windows by installing all sorts of garbage (especially from the internet) and the admin account was allowed to be used for them to learn about installing software etc.......I doubt Windows would have even booted properly (or at all) after a day with those students.

    I purchased Shadow Defender over Deep Freeze for only one reason......I use hibernation and being able to continue what I was doing (even days later) is ideal but I can understand why Faronics disable hibernation as their product is either ON or OFF. There is no compromise and especially on public / businesses computers you want them locked down.
     
  15. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,731
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Great deduction @Gaddster- I especially can relate to what those systems would've looked like if they rebooted at all after getting hammered. With Deep Freeze it's literally and virtually impossible to wreck out a system or use to be. These days it's probably handy to keep backup images even with it deployed with all the newfound techniques turning up.

    Still all in all DF by Faronic's is a reliable program and has held it's market pretty well over a good long many years now.
    Shadow Defender you just don't want to be without locally. It does it's business and does it well.
     
  16. Sampei Nihira

    Sampei Nihira Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    2,135
    Location:
    Italy
    @wat0114

    I am considering setting MS Edge as my default browser.
    Despite having many limitations (in privacy) with the new hardware it outperforms FF in security (IL,rules anti-exploit,less attack surface.....)
    Also with UBO in hard mode:

    Blocking mode: hard mode · gorhill/uBlock Wiki · GitHub

    I have more protection with fewer extensions.
     
  17. ProTruckDriver

    ProTruckDriver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Posts:
    1,315
    Location:
    USN Retired 1969 ~ 1992
    iMac running macOS Catalina 10.15.7
    • Malwarebytes Premium for Mac
    • Malwarebytes Browser Guard for Safari
    • AdGuard Browser Guard for Safari
    • Safari Browser
    • Backup ~ Time Machine, iCloud and SuperDuper
    Windows 10
    • Webroot Complete
    • Glasswire Firewall
    • AdGuard Premium (Lifetime)
    • Firefox, Chrome & Edge
    My Main computer is the macOS. I've been running the Safari Browser on it for the last few months and I'm impressed with it. Safari has come a long way in the last few years. I have dumped Firefox from the Mac due to too many updates. It was getting to be a PITA on the Mac.

    The Windows 10 computer I use for testing software. I will not be able to upgrade to Windows 11.
     
  18. digmor crusher

    digmor crusher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Posts:
    930
    Location:
    Canada
    Configure Defender
    Simple Windows Hardening
    Firewall Hardening
    UBO
    Lastpass
    Macrium Reflect
     
  19. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    3,319
    Location:
    Canada
    Interesting, but doesn't Edge use Chrome's Manifest V3, which breaks, to some extent at least, ad blockers?

    EDIT

    Actually, I found this:

    https://www.zdnet.com/article/microsoft-rolls-out-new-edge-extensions-api-but-promises-to-leave-ad-blockers-alone/
     
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2021
  20. Rmus

    Rmus Exploit Analyst

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    3,994
    Location:
    California
    This is my 13th year with DF.

    For me, it's as much a maintenance program as a security application. When frozen, nothing written to the Registry, Temp folders, and the like, can survive a reboot. No need to use other cleanup applications.

    It's been useful also for trying out a new program (if the install doesn't need a reboot).

    ----
    rich
     
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2021
  21. Sampei Nihira

    Sampei Nihira Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    2,135
    Location:
    Italy
    W.10 Home x64 21H1
    Local Account - Standard user - Limited permissions
    UAC maximum - Always notify
    Quad9 DNS
    Onedrive,Cortana,Advertising ID,Web Search - disabled
    Usage of location data for Cortana disabled
    Telemetry OFF
    Removed some Windows optional features.

    Microsoft Defender Firewall hardened with H_C.
    Microsoft Defender hardened with Configure Defender

    • Ransomware protection - disabled
    • No run in a sandbox
    • Core Isolation: Memory integrity - disabled
    • Some softwares hardened with maximum AE protection
    • All Windows Exploit Protection options - enabled
    MS Edge --disable-webgl

    Edge://flags:

    • Block scripts loaded via document.write
    • Automatic HTTPS
    • Experimental Tracking Prevention Features
    • Strict-Origin-Isolation
    Extensions:

    MS Store - Decentraleyes
    Chrome Store - UBO Hard Mode
     
  22. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    3,319
    Location:
    Canada
    Hi Sampei,

    you mean MsMpEngCp.exe is not run with AppContainer Integrity?
     
  23. Sampei Nihira

    Sampei Nihira Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    2,135
    Location:
    Italy
    MsMpEngCp.exe is present only if the sandbox is enabled.
    When the sandbox is not enabled, only the MsMpEng.exe process is present.

    I do not trust, as I wrote, to enable the sandbox.
    Functionality without further development since 2018.

    For those who had it enabled and now want to disable it:


    Code:
    setx /M MP_FORCE_USE_SANDBOX 0
     
  24. Bertazzone

    Bertazzone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Posts:
    392
    Location:
    Milan, Italia
    It was and remains an experimental feature, like so many M$ features.;)
     
  25. Sampei Nihira

    Sampei Nihira Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    2,135
    Location:
    Italy
    :thumb:;)
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.