What is your security setup these days?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dja2k, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,770
    There's nothing to confirm, their own uninstaller specifically said that it is compatible with other antiviruses.
     
  2. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,683
    Location:
    Canada
    Nice you have mbam
     
  3. 1chaoticadult

    1chaoticadult Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    2,318
    Location:
    USA
    Yep sure do.
     
  4. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,683
    Location:
    Canada
    Nice.do you tweak settings?
     
  5. 1chaoticadult

    1chaoticadult Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    2,318
    Location:
    USA
    Yes I tweak some of the settings.
     
  6. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,683
    Location:
    Canada
    Nice I heard good things about it
     
  7. 1chaoticadult

    1chaoticadult Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    2,318
    Location:
    USA
    Its definitely lighter than earlier versions of v4.
     
  8. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,683
    Location:
    Canada
    Added IpVanich to my security set up;)
     
  9. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,683
    Location:
    Canada
    I may try it soon and try new features
     
  10. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,683
    Location:
    Canada
    I forgot last time I tried mbam
     
  11. 1chaoticadult

    1chaoticadult Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    2,318
    Location:
    USA
    Probably v3.
     
  12. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,683
    Location:
    Canada
    Around 2008
     
  13. Floyd 57

    Floyd 57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Posts:
    829
    Location:
    Europe
    Maybe they lied to get u to not uninstall it, some intern was like "hey guys wanna increase ur retention rate by 50% when people uninstall" and all the seniors were like "sure go ahead" and then they never bothered looking at the uninstaller cuz nothing there ever changes LUL
     
  14. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,770
    That's an exceptionally unlikely scenario. Bear in mind that there are several antiviruses that have been designed to be able to work alone, or alongside antiviruses. So there is nothing unique about 360 being able to do so. For example, Ad-Aware Antivirus and Avast/AVG let you do this.

    There will be others too. But it's not a very common feature. Many years ago when you installed Avira, it gave you the option to not install its real-time protection components, so that you could use it with another antivirus.
     
  15. Floyd 57

    Floyd 57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Posts:
    829
    Location:
    Europe
    What avs do you know of that work alongside another av? Why did u pick 360 instead of like avast/avg? Also what av would be good to pair with kaspersky security cloud? Kasperky is not too light so I imagine the other av would have to be light, but I guess more importantly, it would have to add something of value to kaspersky, not just be there for the lulz or the definitions
     
  16. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,770
    360, AVG/Avast and Ad-Aware are ones that I am aware of. They may be others too, that I don't know of.
    360 prompts before quarantining files and gives you the option to whitelist them. AVG/Avast and the vast majority antiviruses only have auto quarantine, or require some files to be manually excluded. I won't use any antivirus which only has auto quarantine.
    Kaspersky provides excellent protection by itself, so I would suggest you don't add a second antivirus.
     
  17. Sampei Nihira

    Sampei Nihira Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    1,898
    Location:
    Italy
    Development of the extension seems to have stopped in 2018.
    I prefer to clear the cache automatically with "Classic Cache Killer 2.2".
     
  18. Floyd 57

    Floyd 57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Posts:
    829
    Location:
    Europe
    How would you clean this https://i.imgur.com/OaY97Jr.png :p

    (this is session buddy extension if ure wondering :d)
     
  19. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,534
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    So far I have to say that both machines seem quicker since installing KSCF. So far I haven't seen any issues with my current setup. In fact, KSCF found that on one machine I had Remote Registry enabled, even though NoVirusThanks SysHardener should have disabled it. On my other machine it made me aware Virtualization wasn't enabled in the BIOS.

    This from the free version of KSC! How can't I like that?!

    That said, unless I find a good deal on a pro license I probably won't upgrade. If the free version performs this well I believe Windows Firewall is adequate for my needs.. If I was interested in the rest of the bloat I may as well keep Norton.
     
  20. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,770
    SaveOnIT sell cheap legit licenses for Kaspersky and other antiviruses. But it's questionable if you really need to upgrade, as the free version is excellent.
    https://www.saveonit.com.au/products/index/2330

    For anyone else reading this, SaveOnIT don't sell outside of Australia.
     
  21. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,683
    Location:
    Canada
    Very nice
     
  22. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,534
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    https://www.saveonit.com.au/product/kaspersky-internet-security-3-devices-1-year-email-key

    $12.50

    Nice! I'll be sure to keep my eye on that site.

    Thanks Roger! :thumb:
     
  23. Floyd 57

    Floyd 57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Posts:
    829
    Location:
    Europe
    In my country kaspersky.bg they sell KIS upload_2021-1-27_11-14-46.png

    for equivalent of 34 usd per year, not bad huh. In fact u might wanna buy it from there, although I'm not sure if you can change language... (you should be able to)

    If you check this https://kaspersky.antivirus.lv/eng/products/home/compare and this https://www.kaspersky.com/home-security you can see the difference between KIS and KTS is very small (you can click on the pluses of the first link to expand), only some stuff that no one uses, but KIS has all the security features, KTS and KSC just add some extra stuff but not security-wise really

    The differences between KIS and KTS are that KTS has safe kids, password manager, backup, "encryption", file shredder (Scheduled, automatic backup helps to keep your photos and other files safe – while our easy-to-use data encryption lets you convert confidential files into a form that is unreadable to unauthorized users. Furthermore, our File Shredder totally shreds your unwanted files.) and online backup (Cloud-based backup lets you upload files from your PC – so you can keep online copies of your photos, videos, music, financial documents & more8. It’s easy to share your digital assets – and you can access them on any of your devices.

    8 Online backup service is provided by Dropbox. The maximum capacity of the free storage service may vary in accordance with any changes in Dropbox’s standard conditions. Additional backup storage capacity is available for an additional charge.)

    Those are the only differences between KIS and KTS, everything else is the same (apparently).
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2021
  24. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,770
    Kaspersky licenses are region locked. From your .lv link it says the following.
    That is a good price, but I can buy a 3 device KIS license for $12.50 AU, which is less than $10 US.
     
  25. Floyd 57

    Floyd 57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Posts:
    829
    Location:
    Europe
    Dayum bro, u know ur stuff :O

    Good thing it's you, otherwise imagine some poor fella from the us buying this and then being like, WTF I CANT ACTIVATEEEEEEEEEEEEEE THEY SCAMMED ME :((((((((

    So lemme get this straight, if I use AU vpn, I can activate the license, uninstall the vpn and use kaspersky as normal? Cuz 9.66 usd is a DAMN GOOD PRICE
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.