What is your security setup these days?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dja2k, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,713
    Location:
    Canada
    Welcome to my set up SASProX Edition in 2 computers;)
     
  2. 1chaoticadult

    1chaoticadult Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    2,318
    Location:
    USA
    Good luck my friend. Hope it works well for ya.
     
  3. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,713
    Location:
    Canada
    So far so good;)
     
  4. 1chaoticadult

    1chaoticadult Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    2,318
    Location:
    USA
    Good to hear. :thumb: My setup is working pretty good too. I think I will be staying with the setup. ;)
     
  5. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,819
    No, as far I can remember it is in the free version too.
     
  6. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,819
    They did say that. Their uninstaller said that when I went to uninstall it from one of my computers, a few months ago.
     
  7. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,624
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    X 2 machines now. :)
     
  8. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,713
    Location:
    Canada
    K2?
     
  9. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,624
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    If you mean Kaspersky Security Cloud Free, then yes. :thumb:
     
  10. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,713
    Location:
    Canada
    Ahhh ok nice
     
  11. pb1

    pb1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Posts:
    697
    Location:
    sweden

    I have free, it`s in there.
     
  12. porkpiehat

    porkpiehat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Posts:
    40
  13. Floyd 57

    Floyd 57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Posts:
    829
    Location:
    Europe
    wouldnt hurt to ask em to confirm u never know
     
  14. boombastik

    boombastik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Posts:
    262
    Location:
    Greece
    Windows defender + AppCheck Anti-ransomware
    So simple.

    Scanner only HitmanPro
     
  15. imuade

    imuade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    751
    Location:
    Italy
    Operating system
    Win10 Home 64bit ( version 20H2 build 19042.746 )

    Realtime protection

    CleanBrowsing DNS (Security Filter)
    AndyFul's hardening tools (Simple Windows Hardening, Run by Smartscreen, Firewall Hardening)
    Kaspersky Security Cloud Free 21.2

    On demand

    AdwCleaner, HitmanPro

    Privacy

    Windows Privacy Dashboard, O&O ShutUp10

    Browser

    Chromium portable (updated by chrlauncher) with the following extensions
    • Close & Clean
    • Dark New Tab
    • Kaspersky Protection
    • uBlock origin
    • WebRTC Control
    • WebRTC Protect
     
  16. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,713
    Location:
    Canada
    Removed spywareblaster
     
  17. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    13,790
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I think VS is probably not needed because HMPA and OSArmor should already take care of exploit protection. And I'm still not sure about BlackFog Privacy, what does it exactly do that you can't do with for example extensions like Ghostery and uBlock?

    Is Hotspot Shield any good?
     
  18. ProTruckDriver

    ProTruckDriver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Posts:
    1,277
    Location:
    USN Retired 1969 ~ 1992
    No pop ups so far but a weekly email I'm getting now. I don't see any place to unsubscribe to the Norton emails, no link in the email. I looked in my Norton account and in the "Account Settings", "Email Preferences" that is unchecked. When my subscription ran out over a year ago they only sent me one email to renew. I believe I woke up a sleeping giant to send me weekly emails. :(
    1.Norton Email 01-25.png
    2.Norton Email 01-25.png
     
  19. Sampei Nihira

    Sampei Nihira Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    1,986
    Location:
    Italy
    Hi,
    Can you explain to me in great detail the usefulness of the Close & Clean extension?
    Th.
     
  20. imuade

    imuade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    751
    Location:
    Italy
    You can click on it to close Chromium (or Chrome) and delete privacy items such as cache, history and such.
    Other Chromium-based browsers (for example the new Edge) have an option to do so, but Chromium/Chrome doesn't.
    More details here: https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/close-clean/hjjlnpghgkgmnpjimgbblhggmbjlbmld
     
  21. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,624
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I like VS.

    Edit: VS isn't an anti-explit tool as such, although it does offer basic exploit protection.
    I'll let you do you own research about that.
    Oh dear, that's not good. :thumbd:
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2021
  22. pb1

    pb1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Posts:
    697
    Location:
    sweden
    I just tried it on my machine that have WD installed, WD`s real time protection gets inactivated, cloud works and the rest. But not the real time Av. So there is no real double function, just - sort of.
    Pity!
     
  23. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,713
    Location:
    Canada
    Which one you have,,?
     
  24. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,819
    That's because it will still be registered as an antivirus in Windows Security Center and as a result, WD will automatically disable itself. If you use an antivirus which lets you enable it, even if there is another antivirus installed, then you can have both running together.
     
  25. 1chaoticadult

    1chaoticadult Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    2,318
    Location:
    USA
    Just look at my sig my friend.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.