What is your security setup these days?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dja2k, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. Sampei Nihira

    Sampei Nihira Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    2,097
    Location:
    Italy
    Windows XP Home (My PC)
    Windows Firewall
    Google DNS
    PsExec
    DEP Always ON
    Trick POSReady 2009
    Black Viper's List
    No NET Installed

    Upgrading IE8 to TLS 1.2 - Deleted the insecure cipher suites.
    SMB Protocol Disabled
    MBAE Premium
    OSArmor

    Firefox 52 ESR - Custom Setting About:Config

    UBO
    NoScript
    Canvas Defender
    No Resource URI Leak
    Super Start Speed Dial

    Basilisk52 fork for XP - Custom Setting About:config

    UBO
    NoScript
    No Resource URI Leak
    Super Start Speed Dial
     
  2. imuade

    imuade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    751
    Location:
    Italy
    I gave CCAV another try, but I got high CPU and disk usage (never happened before). The browsing speed was better than before, but still affected.
    Then I tried several other products, but all of them had some drawbacks:
    • CCAV: high CPU and disk usage, slow browsing
    • CAV: messed up after a patch Tuesday Windows update
    • WD: slowed everything down (browsing, downloading, executing. They only item not affected was booting up and shutting down)
    • KFA: I wasn't able to make its Chrome plugin working. Plus, auto-scan is bothersome
    • adaware: I had to use the offline installer because the online one wasn't working. Then it got problems in updating to the new version
    So far, Panda Dome Free is working nicely: it doesn't slow down anything, CPU, RAM and disk usage is always near zero and it grows up only during a scan (scheduled scans are disabled by default).
    If you add a BB or anti-EXE (I use NVT OSArmor), a browser protection extension (MBBE, WDBP, BDTL) and a tool to control outbound traffic (TinyWall, WFC, WFN), you can have a great&light multilayered protection :thumb:
     
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2018
  3. hawaii007

    hawaii007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2018
    Posts:
    27
    Location:
    Hawaii
    OS: Win10 home 64bit (version 1803, build 17134.112)
    RT: CylanceProtect + Comodo Free Firewall (CS) + HeimdalPro
    On demand: HitmanPro + EEK + ZAM
     
  4. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,683
    Windows 10

    Kaspersky Security Cloud
    AppGuard
    AdGuard
    Shadow Defender
    Raxco Instant Recovery
     
  5. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,422
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Is it possible to disable the cloud scanning and use only the sandbox? And does it also have a firewall?

    LOL, I have checked out the website and I see a lot of BS, as if it's better in stopping malware than next gen AV's.

    https://www.blueplanet-works.com/en/isolation-technology
     
  6. imuade

    imuade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    751
    Location:
    Italy
    Yes, but you'll get an alert for "device at risk".
    It doesn't have a firewall, but it has an option to block in and out TCP connections for sandboxed apps
     
  7. imuade

    imuade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    751
    Location:
    Italy
    I gave Kaspersky Free another try and this time the web protection extension was working. Let's see if this configuration can last for more than a while ;)

    OS: Win10 home 64bit (version 1803, build 17134.112)
    RT: Kaspersky Free + NVT OSArmor + TinyWall
    Hardening: MBRFilter
    On demand: HitmanPro
    Browser: Chromium (uBlock Origin, Kaspersky Protection, F.B. Purity)
    DNS: Cloudflare
    Misc: Some tweaks from here http://hardenwindows10forsecurity.com/ and here https://fdossena.com/?p=w10debotnet/index_1803.frag
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2018
  8. guest

    guest Guest

    Since when you take all marketing stuff for granted...i prefer using the soft and get my own opinion than reading a website.
    And yes SRPs are better than AVs (whatever next-gen or not) because SRP only allow based on user-made policies. (what is not allowed by policy is blocked), then add memory isolation/protection on top and you are more than good.
    Note that AG Enterprise has nothing to do with AG consumer, it is a whole other level which require full manual setup (there is no default settings), from server-based management console deployment to policy creation.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 24, 2018
  9. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,374
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Does AG consumer as we know it even exist anymore? It would appear not, from that website.
     
  10. guest

    guest Guest

  11. Moose World

    Moose World Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Posts:
    733
    Location:
    U.S. Citizen
    @guest

    Any conflicts with Sandboxie? And Shadow Defender?

    Always the best,


    Moose


    Thank you! Appreciated the quick answer!!!!
     
  12. guest

    guest Guest

    Not for now.
     
  13. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Non here on Win 7
     
  14. The Seeker

    The Seeker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,317
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Removed Kaspersky Free and threw AdGuard back into the mix.
     
  15. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,374
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Peter, are you using the new AppGuard Solo v6 now?
     
  16. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    I am on one desktop, and in 2 virtual Machines.
     
  17. Luciano

    Luciano Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2018
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    Brazil
    Real Time:
    Bitdefender Free
    Malwarebytes Premium

    On demand:
    Trend Micro housecall

    Browser extensions:
    Avira Browser Safety
    WOT (Web of Trust)
    Avast Online Security

    Is it ok?
     
  18. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,140
    i suggest using only one browser extension .
     
  19. ArchiveX

    ArchiveX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Posts:
    1,464
    Location:
    Land of the Light
    I'd only keep Avira Browser Safety ;)
     
  20. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,751
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Avast Security For Mac (free version) for now.
     
  21. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,422
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I agree that isolation combined with SRP is pretty good, but you also need to monitor app behavior, and with that I mean more than just memory protection and data protection. But yes, there is nothing wrong with a little bit of marketing.
     
  22. guest

    guest Guest

    So:

    - HMPA is there to prevent exploits.
    - Appguard as SRP block unwanted/unauthorized processes.
    - NVT OSA monitor what is allowed to run.
    - ReHIPS is sandboxing exploitable softs (browsers, media players, PDF reader, MS Office, etc...) and act also as anti-exe.

    so im good ;)
     
  23. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,422
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    OK cool, will perhaps check it out.

    Exactly, and AG makes it sounds like you can only block all malware with them. It doesn't even block exploits in first stage, and once you install "trusted" software it also doesn't monitor keyboard/screen logging and service/driver loading to give an example.
     
  24. guest

    guest Guest

    Because the marketting team doesn't know the difference between exploitation and post explotation.
    Appguard is post-exploitation software, not an anti-exploit. It is supposed to blocks exe, dll, drivers located in User-space.

    Note that the Enterprise version prevent processes to modify protected processes' memory. Which is helpful.

    SRPs in general arent supposed to monitor installed softs, the user is supposed to have done background checking before installing anything.

    There is an old video somewhere made by @cruelsister where AG is installed on an infected system, and it performed quite well.
     
  25. imuade

    imuade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    751
    Location:
    Italy
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2018
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.