What is your security setup these days?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dja2k, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. Cherub

    Cherub Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Posts:
    179
    Location:
    Kentucky
    I'm using Outpost firewall Pro but with it being discontinued I was thinking of changing. Any suggestions? Would the Windows Firewall be sufficient? I run voodoo shield, emisoft anti-malware,hitman pro alert and run a hitman pro scan about every day.

    I'm really a novice when it comes to the firewalls, so I would like to find one that is good but easy to use....if possible. Also, if it was free, it would be nice but I would pay for one if need be.
     
  2. guest

    guest Guest

    why don't you upgrade to emsisoft IS , their FW is easy to use.
     
  3. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    2,015
    Panda Free started to completely occupy 1 of 4 threads of my Core i5. :(
    PSANHost.exe.PNG


    I changed Panda Free for Avira Free. It has its awesome cloud. Unfortunately Avira free comes with "Internet Protection" which requires to have Windows Firewall on. I have Comodo FW. So I switch off Firewall in Avira's "Internet Protection" what causes indication of closed umbrella in the Avira's icon. I don't like it.
     
  4. Cherub

    Cherub Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Posts:
    179
    Location:
    Kentucky
    I might just do that. I take it that Emisoft's firewall in IS is pretty good?
     
  5. guest

    guest Guest

    yes it is
     
  6. Cherub

    Cherub Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Posts:
    179
    Location:
    Kentucky
    OK. as always, thanks for the assistance.
     
  7. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    14,403
    Location:
    Slovenia
    I finally bit the bullet and switched from Administrator to Standard user account. So my setup is now:

    Standard User Account
    User Account Control
    on max
    Software Restriction Policies
    Windows Firewall
    monitoring outbound connections also
    Chrome with uBlock Origin
    Freedome VPN
    Macrium Reflect
     
  8. WildByDesign

    WildByDesign Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    Posts:
    2,587
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    @Minimalist Very nice setup. I like the lower rights, lower overhead, and minimalistic approach you've got there. :thumb:
     
  9. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,685
    How is Zemana AntiLogger premium working on Windows 10?
    According to the system requirements on their website its not compatible with Windows 10,
    unless the documentation is outdated.
     
  10. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    14,403
    Location:
    Slovenia
    Thnx. Yes I like to use what OS is offering without adding unneeded software.
     
  11. Influenza

    Influenza Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2016
    Posts:
    60
    Hi LoneWolf,
    ZAL premium runs fine on Windows 10 64 bits but I don't know if it protects me.
    Sometimes ago I read in a Wilders topic that ZAL don't work on 64 bits... but I cannot find the topic ?
    Do you know another software whixh can make the same job of ZAL ?
    Thanks
     
  12. NWOAbschaum

    NWOAbschaum Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Posts:
    222
    Location:
    Germany
    Security Setup: Just voodooshield and zemana antimalware premium.
     
  13. Iangh

    Iangh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Posts:
    832
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
  14. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,960
    Location:
    London On
    Good Evening! Vipre I.S.Pro 2016...and WSA Security Plus. Real Time. HMP and MBAM Pro and SAS Pro...all on Demand. Browser Firefox with U Block Origin...No Script...and Avira Browser Safety. That's All Folks! Sincerely...Securon
     
  15. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,685
    The only one that comes to mind is Spy Shelter although I have not tried this on Windows 10 yet, been thinking about giving it a try.
     
  16. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,838
    For those that use ESET Smart Security, what would be your overall opinion on it?
     
  17. Windows 10 Pro

    Realtime:
    Norton Security Deluxe, Version 22.6.0.142
    Appguard 4.3

    On-Demand:
    Malwarebytes, Version 2.2.1.1043

    System Checking Tools:
    Process Explorer "VT enabled", V16.12
    Autoruns "VT enabled", V13.51
    TCPview, V3.05
     
  18. hjlbx

    hjlbx Guest

    At the moment... AppGuard and Adguard with some AG policy and OS tweaks.

    That's it.
     
  19. Grumlo

    Grumlo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2015
    Posts:
    176
    AG policy what kind ?
    os tweaks ?
    Hjlbx can You write more please ?
     
  20. hjlbx

    hjlbx Guest

    For Windows 10...

    Use freeware Windows 10 Privacy to disable\remove all items in Windows 10 that you do not use. If you disable\uninstall something and find you need it, then it can be easily enabled\re-installed using Windows 10 Privacy.

    Disable all unneeded services using freeware Easy Services Optimizer. If you disable a service and find you need it, then it can be easily re-enabled using ESO.

    The above utilities will save you hours of work.

    If you don't use it, then get it off your system -- it is a very simple rule.

    * * * * *

    Do not use live.com (microsoft) account; use only local password-protected account

    Here is an article about network tweaks with "How-To s" at end: https://duo.com/assets/pdf/bring-your-own-dilemma.pdf

    The above article talks a lot about McAfee, but even if you don't use it the networking tweaks are still valid.

    * * * * *

    Disable remote access to system under System > Remote Connections

    Set Flash to "Ask" in browser add-on settings (I use Cyberfox)

    * * * * *

    Do a web search "How to Harden Windows X, where X = your version of Windows; there are many - many tweaks you can make to Windows to harden the system.

    * * * * *

    There are some UAC tweaks, but you'll have to ask @Windows_Security about them; I use AppGuard in Lock Down mode always so these tweaks are sort of pointless for me.

    * * * * *

    As far as AppGuard, there will be a new release soon. Plus, there are some bugs in its policies. So recreating my AppGuard policies at the moment are pointless.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 11, 2016
  21. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    Zemana Anti-Malware and nothing else
     
  22. Grumlo

    Grumlo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2015
    Posts:
    176
    Thanks for reply.
    the Windows 10 Privacy - You mean W10privacy ?
    Easy Services Optimizer, is the best default or more ?
     
  23. hjlbx

    hjlbx Guest

    Windows 10 Privacy = W10Privacy

    EOS - I use "Safe"; default = your current settings so using default makes no sense. Safe = Black Vipre's settings.
     
  24. Grumlo

    Grumlo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2015
    Posts:
    176
    Thanks
    do You think that Cyberfox is better than Firefox ?
    I W10Privacy how don't to turn off to much ? green or yellow or red ? Which Do You use ?
     
  25. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,391
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    @hjlbx Would be a little nervous of advanced network tweaks, what to 'undo' if something stops working :) but thanks for sharing these tips.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.