What is your security setup these days?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dja2k, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. Sampei Nihira

    Sampei Nihira Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    2,130
    Location:
    Italy
    XP Home SP3
    Trick POSReady 2009
    Windows Firewall
    PsExec
    Black Viper's List
    Norton DNS
    MBAE Premium


    Immagine.JPG



    Firefox - uBlock Origin + Noscript + Toggle Referer + HTTPS Everywhere.

    No Java Installed
    No Flash I.E.8
    No Silverlight Installed
    No NET Installed
     
    Last edited: Dec 25, 2015
  2. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    2,015
    Though now I use AV-free setup, I tried for a day Zemana AntiMalware beta in real time mode with Pandora on. I find ZAM very light. The registration for lifetime free beta licences is still going on on their site. You must have google mail for that.
     
  3. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,343
    Location:
    USA
    I tried ZAM in RT, but after testing it with some keygens my SAP alerted me on every file and ZAM didn't do anything so I just disabled the RT module. Maybe a conflict :confused:
     
  4. x ZauX x

    x ZauX x Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Posts:
    139
    Running my own little program for scanning downloaded files against VirusTotal in realtime, Mcafee Real Protect, Mcafee SiteAdvisor and Tinywall :thumb: All very light and simple :):)
     
  5. Infected

    Infected Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,054
    Some programs "give way" to others when detecting threats.
     
  6. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,343
    Location:
    USA
    True
     
  7. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,705
    Location:
    USA
    Sandboxie, Chrome, HitmanPro.Alert, and some other stuff.
     
  8. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,569
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Do you protect Chrome with SBIE?
     
  9. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,113
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    Dec. 28, 2015 - Updated, Added, Removed

    Network
    • Two Netgear Nighthawk R7000-100PAS Routers (Stock Firmware)
    • Four Netgear PowerLine AV 500 Adapters
    • Wired Cat5e Connection between both Routers
    • WPA2-PSK AES Encryption
    • SPI & NAT Firewalls Enabled
    • OpenDNS Configuration
    Computers
    • Desktop (Custom Built) - Windows 10 Pro x64
    • Tablet (Surface Pro 4) - Windows 10 Pro x64
    Built-In Security
    • USER ACCOUNT CONTROL: HIGHEST SETTING
    • WINDOWS SMART SCREEN: ENABLED
    • WINDOWS DEFENDER: DISABLED
    • WINDOWS FIREWALL: DISABLED
    Resident
    • Emsisoft Internet Security 11.0.0.6026 Beta (Paid)
    • Sandboxie 5.07.2 Beta (Paid) - Sandboxie Container Folder on RAMDisk
    • Adguard Premium 6 Beta (Paid)
    • KeyScrambler 3.8.2
    • DNSCrypt 0.0.6 - HTTPS Enabled
    On-Demand
    • PeerBlock 1.2 (P2P Blocking List)
    • Macrium Reflect Home Edition 6.1 Built 1000* (Paid)
    • VMWare Workstation 12.0.1 build-3160714** (Paid)
    Browser, Immunization, Tweaks
    • Chrome 47.0.2526.106 m x64 (HTTPS-Everywhere, Gmelius Premium, Lastpass Premium) - Chrome Profile Folder on RAMDisk and Sandboxed
    • Homepage and Search Providers set to Startpage (Chrome)
    • Cleaner Professional Edition 5.13.5460 (Paid)
    • Spyware Blaster 5.4 (All Protection Enabled + Customblocking.txt)
    • CryptoPrevent Premiium Edition 7.4.20 (Paid)
    *Macrium Reflect Home Edition installed in both Desktop & Tablet - Backup Template: Deferential Backup Set
    **VMware Workstation only installed on Desktop


    dja2k
     
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2015
  10. The Seeker

    The Seeker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,317
    Location:
    Adelaide
    As much as I like Emsisoft Anti-Malware, I cannot tear myself away from the combination of Windows Defender and Malwarebytes Anti-Malware Premium (for which I'm lucky enough to own a lifetime license).
     
  11. ReverseGear

    ReverseGear Guest

    Added HMP.Alert
     
  12. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    2,015
    ZoneAlarm free with all settings to max + Bitdefender free is a very light combo for my PC.

    Bitdefender free has only two settings and almost the same security features as its paid counterpart. It's a very good choice for inexperienced uses or those who hate popups.
     
  13. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    14,412
    Location:
    Slovenia
    I start new year with this setup:

    SRP, ESET, SBIE, uBO, Macrium

    Happy New Year to all!
     
  14. Security Policy (1=filter internet, 2=reduce attack surface, 3=deny execution, 4=mitigate execution risk)
    1. Windows Firewall 2-way, Norton DNS (malware filters) and Chrome safe browsing
    2. Disabled IE11, WMP, remote, sharing, unsigned install, shell + scripts (GPO/regedit)
    3. Set Basic User as default SRP (group policy/PGS*), allow Run as Admin for installs
    4. Disabled active content in Office Trustcenter and Edge (is used as PDF-reader only)

    Windows 10 Pro 32 bits Desktop (G3240 CPU, 4GB RAM, 64GB SSD + 2x500GB HD)
    4. ScriptBlocker for Chrome (block all, allow same domain)

    Windows 10 Pro 32 bits Laptop (P4600 CPU, 4GB RAM, 1TB HHD + 4GB SSD-cache)
    4. Running MBAE-premium (Outlook added)

    Windows 10 Home 32 bits Tablet-PC
    (Z3740 CPU, 2GB RAM, 32GB SSD + 64GB SD)
    4. Running MBAE-premium

    *Pretty Good Security still installs Software Restriction Policies on Windows 10 - 32 bits version
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 7, 2016
  15. Blomberg1985

    Blomberg1985 Guest

  16. Coresix

    Coresix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Posts:
    23
    Location:
    United States of America
    Re-tweaked my security setup:

    #OS:

    --: Microsoft Windows 10 Pro x64 TH2 (build 10586.36)

    #Real-Time:

    --: Windows Firewall Control 4 by Binisoft
    Current Settings:
    --: Running Medium Filtering profile
    but add or block applications if need be. I love this frontend for the built in
    Windows Firewall.

    --: Emsisoft Anti-Malware 11 (Beta) (full protection enabled)

    --: Malwarebytes Anti-Malware Premium (lifetime license)
    (Disk and Web protection enabled)
    Added files and folders to reduce conflicts with other security layered software

    ##--: Malwarebytes Anti-Exploit Premium (yearly license) --Removed
    Monitoring and protecting all of the programs/command-lines that Premium offers --##
    --Had an issue where on some restarts/cold starts where it would crash my web browsers.
    So off it went--


    --: HitmanPro.Alert (Paid) (1-Year Sub)
    Current Settings:
    --: Default settings with all applicable shields active.

    ##--: Zemana AntiMalware Premium (3 month trial)## --Removed
    Current Settings
    --: Real Time Enabled with Pandora Real Time Analysis
    --: Does a scan at startup (like HitmanPro)
    Thoughts:
    --: So far it seems to be working as advertised and has a really small footprint in
    active memory and no other conflicts have arisen since installation.
    --: I also make it a priority to whitelist the security software between the layers as
    to insure that there are no conflicts or unwanted effects.
    ## -- It ended up quarantining the bootkit Rollback RX uses to do it's magic so it got removed when I rolled back to baseline after uninstalling Rollback RX --##

    --: Adguard Premium 5.10 (lifetime license)
    --: All built in filters active, unchecked allow acceptable ads:
    --: EasyList filter
    --: Fanboy's Annoyances filter
    --: Malware Domains filter
    --: Anti-Adblock Killer by Reek filter (using extension that works in tandem)

    --: Extensions enabled:
    --: Adguard Assistant
    --: Adguard Popup Blocker
    --: Web of Trust
    --: Anti-Adblock Killer by Reek extension (works in tandem with Anti-Adblock Killer by Reek filter list)

    --: Heimdal Pro 2.0 build 29 (yearly license)
    Modules Active:
    --: Traffic Scanning and Filtering
    --: Malware Engine
    --: Patching System
    Monitoring and updating software installed besides Chrome and Skype (both are installed but somehow it's detecting differently)

    --: SpyShelter Premium 10.6.1 (lifetime license)
    Security Settings:
    --: Certified Applications:
    Auto allow - High Security Level
    --: Whitelisted Security Layered Software
    --: Sandboxing (restricting) most Internet facing applications
    --: Cannot terminate via Task Manager amongst several other settings to prevent
    forms of malware from terminating SpyShelter or any other security software in my layered setup

    --: NoVirusThanks EXE Radar Pro 3 build 15-10032014 (lifetime license)
    Current Settings:
    --: Running in Trust Mode
    Enable Alert or any of the Lockdown Modes depending on my web activity for that instance.

    --: WinPatrol PLUS (Lifetime License)
    Current Settings:
    --: Currently Delay Startup on 7 applications that have startup options but slow startup in general
    --: Standard PLUS settings active.

    #On-Demand:

    --: SpywareBlaster AutoUpdate
    Current Settings:
    --: IE: All Protection Enabled
    --: Chrome: All Protection Enabled
    --: Restricted Sites Enabled

    --: Shadow Defender 1.4 build 608 (Lifetime License)
    Current Settings:
    --: Only OS Drive is set to be put in Shadow Mode when activated
    (still learning this program)

    --: HitmanPro 3.7.12 (yearly license - 1 computer)
    Current Settings:
    --: Run scan at startup
    (after disk activity has slowed)

    ##--: Microsoft EMET 5.5 Beta--## --Removed
    Current Settings:
    --: Recommended Security Settings
    Still learning the ropes of this application.
    ##--Ended up being redundant due to using HitmanPro.Alert--##

    --: VMware Workstation 12 Pro (licensed for one PC)
    Current Settings
    --: Turned on Thin Print drivers so I can print from guests
    --: Have all new VMs set to run on the VMware Workstation 12 platform so I'm sure
    backwards compatibility with older versions are probably out of the question...
    --: That's pretty much it in terms of how I have it set up. I'm probably missing a few
    settings here or there but I'll find them and fix them.

    #Backup/Restore/Imaging:

    --: Drive Snapshot 1.43 (used sparingly until I get a big enough backup disk to create snapshots again)

    --: Kruptos 2 Professional 5.0 build 6
    Current Settings: Not much to tweak; set a strong master password. Also having an on the fly
    file/folder encryption software such as this feels really powerful, especially if you want to protect
    important files from ransomware or any other form of malicious software use.

    ##--Horizon DataSys Rollback RX Pro--## --Removed
    --: Task Scheduler Settings:
    --: Schedule@Setup - Create Snapshot at Boot
    --: Daily Snapshot - Create a Snapshot Daily @ 1:43 ET
    --: Monthy Snapshot - Create a Snapshot/Possible Baseline Update on the 10 day of
    every month @ 5:45 ET
    --: Hourly Snapshot - Create a Snapshot every one and a half hours
    --Zemana ended up quarantining the bootkit Rollback RX uses to do its magic, almost hosing my system until I was able to return to baseline and uninstall--

    ##--: BackBlaze Cloud Backup Service (Monthly subscription @ $5 USD)
    Current Settings
    --: Never fooled with any of the settings barring 2 factor auth and such, it's pretty much
    set up like it is out of the box after install.## --Unsure if I want to continue to use. Removed.

    #Other

    --: Siber Systems AI Roboform Everywhere Version 7.9.16.7
    Current Settings
    --: 2 Factor Authentication turned on
    --: Storing Master Password in system protected storage
    (so I don't have to enter my Master Password all the time)
    --: This application is one I don't think I will be able to live without since I've had it.
    It keeps all of my logins in one place so I won't forget them and allows me to set
    strong passwords or passphrases so I can keep my accounts locked tighter than a
    drum.

    --: Blur Premium v5.3 build 1901 by Abine
    Say what you will about these guys, but for me, they get the job done even though it's
    a bit redundant when combined with Roboform but I'm using it for blocking tracking
    and enforcing Do Not Track in all of the browsers (the ones that are supported) I use.

    --: F.lux 3.10
    This lil' app has helped me keep my circadian rhythm fairly intact even though I'm
    editing this post @ 4:30 AM EST. That's all I can pretty much say about this one.

    -Coresix

    Updated as of 1/5/2016
     
  17. justenough

    justenough Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Posts:
    1,549
    Sandboxie.

    Set UAC to max.
     
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2016
  18. ReverseGear

    ReverseGear Guest

    Removed HMP.A and added MBAE
     
  19. Scott01

    Scott01 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Posts:
    1
    ShadowUser
    NOD32
    ProcessGuard full
    RegDefend

    I've tried all sorts of combinations with other excellent programs.

    Also I have webserver and I do regular scanning for vulnerabilities. For such issues I use some free online services, like:
    Qualys freescan - www.qualys.com/forms/freescan
    Anti-venom vulnerability scanner (it's new in my collection) - www.antivenomcloud.com
    Maybe someone can advise me any other ? ;)
     
  20. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,569
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Didn't know about Kruptos, looks interesting. And is VMware Workstation a lifetime license?

    Any reason why?
     
  21. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    VMware Workstation PRo (12) is a lifetime license for version 12. But if you want to stay current and upgrade to 13 when it comes out you pay an upgrade price.
     
  22. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,569
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    What the hell, didn't know about this, I think I will buy one.

    EDIT: It's a bit expensive (250 euro) will need to think about it.

    http://www.vmware.com/products/workstation/features
     
  23. Secondmineboy

    Secondmineboy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Posts:
    102
    Location:
    Germany
    Ill just run Avast Premier with custom settings, MCShield for USB Protection, systems security settings on default.

    I also try to keep all vulnerable programs updated as much as i can.
     
  24. ReverseGear

    ReverseGear Guest

    Felt a little slowdown with HMP.A
     
  25. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590

    Yep, it is expensive, but it is the Rolls Royce of VM's
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.