What is your security setup these days?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dja2k, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,140
    AVG Premium for a few weeks now and i find it a bit heavier but also faster . I am not sure which i would rather need...................
     
  2. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    I'm using what's in my sig.:)
     
  3. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    14,382
    Location:
    Slovenia
    Avira free and Panda free come to my mind...
     
  4. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,899
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I've added Ghostery to Firefox.

    Thoughts?

    I can't help noticing, while the extension seems to work fine, it hasn't been updated for quite a while now. Is Ghostery still supported?
     
  5. King Mellow

    King Mellow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013
    Posts:
    15
    Location:
    Philippines
    Yes, you can run it alongside with Comodo AV because WSA was made to run with any antivirus (Companion AV). I've used this combo for almost a year without any conflicts.
     
  6. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,960
    Location:
    London On
    Good Evening! Introducing Worldwide Security Mk 1...Avira A/V Suite...HMP & HMP Alert...and AppGuard. Sincerely...Securon
     
  7. Rompin Raider

    Rompin Raider Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,253
    Location:
    North Texas
    Followed by WSA Complete and Zemana AntiLogger.
     
  8. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,960
    Location:
    London On
    Good Evening! As Quick as you can say Nestle's...uninstalled HMP...re-installed WSA Security Plus! Sincerely...Securon
     
  9. wolfrun

    wolfrun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Posts:
    686
    Location:
    Canada
  10. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,899
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
  11. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,140
    KIS and nothing else
     
  12. Windows7 Ultimate using OS supplied application (execution) filters:
    - GPO disabled risk-ware services & set Windows FireWall to block outbound
    - ACL deny execute for Everyone in download, mail and media folders
    - SRP deny execute in LUA-writable folders for Basic Users
    - UAC deny elevation of unsigned executables

    Additional intrusion mitigation for threat gates:
    - Block execute of scripts/USB and write access to HKCU/USB autoruns for Basic Users (GPO)
    - Run Outlook and WMP as LUA with raised internet security settings & EMET protection
    - Run Chrome with NSA policy advice & MalwareBytes Anti-Exploit Free protection

    On demand scan's before monthly backup to NAS
    - Hitman Pro Free with Early Warning Scoring
    - Malwarebytes Anti-Malware V2 Free
    - ProcessExplorer VT scan
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 22, 2014
  13. Sampei Nihira

    Sampei Nihira Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    2,083
    Location:
    Italy
    Hi Kees,
    why not use the experimental ver. ?
    (advantage of using the "function shields")
     
  14. Which experimental version are you referring to?
     
  15. Emetic

    Emetic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    Posts:
    73

    Thanks.

    I've just turned CAV off though and it doesn't nag, thankfully. Not that I thought Comodo AV was bad. It seems pretty decent and is another layer of security. But I had to turn it off at times, otherwise certain software would not start. It just became a bit of a pain, but no big deal. I used it like that for a long time.

    I'm verging on overkill now as I just added Zemana Antilogger as well.

    I will probably pare the system down as I become more familiar with the new programs and see what is and isn't needed.

    I'm pretty surprised I've got all these layers of security on my system, and everything so far, seeming to be totally compatible. Also no obvious slowdown of the system or performance penalty. Yet, anyway!
     
  16. Sampei Nihira

    Sampei Nihira Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    2,083
    Location:
    Italy
  17. Thx, Pedro gave me a key, but with my safe admin settings, the only attack vector I am worried about is through rich content of my browser. Therefor combining linkscanner free and MBAE free with Chrome (only allowing javascript from .NL and .COM websites and Chrome tightly configured through group policy).
     
  18. justenough

    justenough Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Posts:
    1,549
    Thanks for the advice, I got around to loading it that way today. I don't know how long APCC would have remained in Temp files, but doing it the way you suggested will probably save a lot of re-downloading of Avira's database.

    I'll be running the fast scan a few times a week, and the deep scan before making system images.
     
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2014
  19. Charyb

    Charyb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Posts:
    675
    Emsisoft Anti-Malware 9
    Windows Firewall Control 4
    NVT EXE Radar Pro
    EMET 4.1
     
  20. KaptainBug

    KaptainBug Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2013
    Posts:
    484
    I'm using what's in my signature.
     
  21. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,113
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    Haven't used Avira in ages and never used Panda so I will give them a try, Thanks!

    dja2k
     
  22. justenough

    justenough Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Posts:
    1,549
    To be able to right click on a file to scan it, I replaced Emsisoft Emergency Kit with Emsisoft Anti-Malware 9.0. Only the Behavior Blocker is turned on, like when I used to run just Sandboxie and good ol' Mamutu. Even with AppGuard added things are fast.
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2014
  23. hogndog

    hogndog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Posts:
    632
    Location:
    In His Service
    Tried Panda free for awhile but just couldn't get used to it, not that it did anything wrong, maybe i just missed Avira.. I've noticed one thing, maybe its my imagination Avira seems to run lighter than Panda.. *puppy*
     
  24. ArchiveX

    ArchiveX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Posts:
    1,464
    Location:
    Land of the Light
    It's not your imagination...I've experienced the same situation.
     
  25. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,960
    Location:
    London On
    Good Morning! I can also attest to the fact that Avira A/V Suite is running much quicker than the old Avira I.S...this has all taken place after the latest update to the product. Now if they can implement the Cacheing feature to cut back on scan times...I'll be a Happy Camper. Sincerely...Securon
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.