What is your security setup these days?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dja2k, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,818
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Pretty much remains the same and amazingly stable.

    I am considering OA for firewall (always liked the FW)

    Just done a Qihoo 360 major update today (2 months worth) and still churning along effortlessly with relative zero impact.

    I still can't believe I've allowed an AV to stay on for this long. But this one is proven the exception bar none.

    Regards EASTER
     
  2. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Easter you're not using sandboxie anymore?
     
  3. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    this is my very light combo for now :):thumb:
     
  4. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,960
    Location:
    London On
    Good Afternoon! jmonge...just added EAM...to compliment...WSA Security Plus...and HMP. Light and Lethal!...that's my 2014 Mantra! Go 49ers...Go Pats...Sincerely...Securon
     
  5. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    securon that sounds good also :) you got a strong behabiour blocker;) sincerelly......jmonge:thumb:
     
  6. justenough

    justenough Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Posts:
    1,549
    :'( I miss Mamutu...
     
  7. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,838
    Has anyone tried EMET 4.1 with Windows Firewall Control 4, are they compatible with each other?

    Plus, is there any configurations that I need to apply to EMET 4.1 for Windows Firewall Control? Assuming that they can play nice with one another.

    I would really appreciate any feedback on this.

    Thanks
     
  8. justenough

    justenough Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Posts:
    1,549
    Kaspersky draws me back in. Maybe it's the pretty green GUI. I found another security program that was slowing down my computer, so that's now removed and I can give Kaspersky a fair trial this time.
     
  9. Rompin Raider

    Rompin Raider Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,253
    Location:
    North Texas
    You're almost ready for AV Rehab!:D
     
  10. guest

    guest Guest

    Eeerr... I wouldn't recommend to put WFC under EMET's protection actually. Better just use EMET for common threatgate programs only IMO. Unless I misunderstood your post?
     
  11. wolfrun

    wolfrun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Posts:
    686
    Location:
    Canada

    No AV running in real time. Added EMET 4.1. On demand scans with MBAM and HitmanPro. And of course still using Sandboxie. The rest as per the signature.
     
  12. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,818
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Well to be honest, it's still installed for On-Demand only i suppose, but i don't bother with it at all anymore. I lost interest in it when tzuk retired it to another owner. I will keep the final tzuk version but i dismiss it now.
     
  13. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    justenough i also missed Mamutu as it was very light and strong:thumb:
     
  14. justenough

    justenough Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Posts:
    1,549
    For me it was a great match with Sandboxie, that's all I ran for a long time.
     
  15. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,113
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    Janurary 20, 2014 - Updated, Added, Removed

    • Desktop - Windows 8.1 Pro with Media Center x64
    • Laptop - Windows 8.1 x64
    Built-In Security
    • USER ACCOUNT CONTROL: HIGHEST SETTING
    • EMET 4.1: RECOMMENDED SECURITY SETTINGS
    • WINDOWS SMART SCREEN: ENABLED
    • WINDOWS DEFENDER: DISABLED
    • WINDOWS FIREWALL: DISABLED
    Network
    • Three Netgear WNR3500L-100NAS (DD-WRT Firmware)
    • Four Netgear PowerLine AV 500 Adapters
    • Wired Cat5e Connection between all 3 Routers
    • WPA2-PSK AES Encryption
    • SPI Firewall Enabled
    • OpenDNS Configuration
    Resident
    • Online Armor Premium 7.0.0.1866 (Paid)
    • Emsisoft Anti-Malware 8.1.0.33 (Paid)
    • Appguard 4.0.17.0 - Locked Down (Paid)
    • NoVirusThanks EXE Radar Pro 2.7.7.0** - Lockdown Mode Extreme (Trial)
    • Sandboxie 4.08 (Paid) - Sandboxie Container Folder on RAMDisk
    • DNSCrypt 0.0.6 - HTTPS Enabled
    On-Demand
    • Shadow Defender 1.3.0.457 (Paid)
    • Macrium Reflect 5.2 build 6444*
    • Active@ Disk Image 5.6.2** (Paid)
    • VMWare Workstation 10.0.0 build-1295980** (Paid)
    Browser, Immunization, Tweaks
    • Firefox 27.0b7 (EasyPrivacy + EasyList + Fanboy's Annoyances List + Malware Domains via ABP, Disconnect, HTTPS-Everywhere, BetterPrivacy, WOT - Firefox Profile Folder on RAMDisk and Sandboxed
    • Homepage and Search Provider set to Startpage (Firefox & IE)
    • Tweaks on How to eradicate Google from Firefox Applied
    • LastPass 3.0.12 Premium (Firefox & IE)
    • Bluetack Safepeer SPLists (via OA for P2P Only)
    • Spyware Blaster 5.0 (All Protection Enabled + Customblocking.txt)
    *Active@ Disk Image (Daily - Incremental Backups) & Macrium Reflect (Weekly - Full Backup)
    **VMware Workstation, Exe Radar Pro, and Active@ Disk Image only installed on Desktop

    dja2k
     
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2014
  16. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,838
    Thinking about buying VoodooShield

    So, for the time being I am trialing, just so I can get use to it.

    If I end up liking it, this will be my new setup...

    NoVirusThanks EXE Radar Pro
    VoodooShield
    Windows Firewall Control 4
     
  17. FleischmannTV

    FleischmannTV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    1,094
    Location:
    Germany
    @ TyRidian

    I think NVT ERP already covers more than Voodooshield. Do you still use AppGuard? With NVT ERP, which covers the parts that AppGuard doesn't, and AppGuard on top of that, you would be golden.
     
  18. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,838
    Well, I am testing VoodooShield with EXE Radar Pro to see if one might catch something, that the other one will not.

    If I end up getting the same results with both programs, then back to AppGuard and EXE Radar Pro I will go.

    I believe Siketa uses ERP and VS together, which gave me the idea to test them side by side.
     
  19. @ TyRidian & FleischmannTV both have 8.1 Pro versions, why not use what is included in your OS:
    a) Software Restriction Policies (all files, except Admin with Symantec tweak to run MSI as admin)?
    b) Run IE or FF as other (limited user) with ACL on directories/registry for that user combined with Parential Control?
    In case of FF, set icacls Low IL for FF (chrome does not run as limited for some reason). When you ar able to trigger IE in tile modus, it is in the extra strong AppContainer sandbox.
     
  20. FleischmannTV

    FleischmannTV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    1,094
    Location:
    Germany
    @ Windows_Security

    AppGuard is already in play here, so I don't see any need to uninstall it and set up manually what it does for me automatically.
     
  21. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,838
    +1, the same for me
     
  22. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,960
    Location:
    London On
    Good Afternoon! Will re-install ESET S.S.7...the Jinx Breaker...Lol! I Believe with AppGuard...and WSA Security Plus...unlike the Patriots Secondary...they should provide the necessary Deep Protection...Lol! Sincerely...Securon
     
  23. guest

    guest Guest

    Is there a way to have a learning mode in SRP? The ability to only allowing specific executables is where EXE Radar or any third party whitelisting-based AE win. Well yes, you can only allow certain executables with the hash rules in SRP/AppLocker too, but AFAIK nothing can be done to get the list of required executables for the OS and programs to work properly.
     
  24. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,960
    Location:
    London On
    Good Afternoon! Kaepernick unlike Kaspersky...freely admitted that Zone Alarm..Er...Zone coverage and sideline routes can't be underestimated. Lol! Jinx...Free! Sincerely...Securon
     
  25. Windows 8 Pro
    UAC defends Windows & Program Files
    SRP in default deny for all files (with LNK removed) except Admin with Symantec tweak to run MSI as Admin

    Secure Age Freemium
    It is freemium (first year free) and even has DLL injection protection. Join now as Beta-tester and you will get a life-time lisence. Ik has Applocker capabilities to allow trusted vendors (publishers).
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.