What is your security setup these days?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dja2k, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,960
    Location:
    London On
    Good Evening! Rompin! Rest assured the Record has been Officially Passed! Signed...Sealed...and Delivered! Sincerely...Securon
     
  2. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,338
    Location:
    USA
    Cool I may try wsa av :thumb:
     
  3. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    Hello justenough, yes that's what I meant by AH, FYI the defaults for Advanced Heuristics in V7 are...

    Advanced Heur is enabled for "On Execution"
    But Advanced Heur is disabled for real-time scanning.

    I have not enabled AH during real-time scanning myself, but it is important to keep it enabled for "on execution" wich also is on by default. :)
     
  4. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,683
    Location:
    Canada
    just added WebRo0t AntiVirus 2o14 for its firewall capabilities:thumb: ,it is so light
     
  5. justenough

    justenough Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Posts:
    1,549
    Okay, thanks SweX. Time to give ESET another run, she how she does. Added bonus, it'll give me an excuse to steal kjdemuth's avatar. Karma time, baby! :cool:
     
  6. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    :thumb: :D
     
  7. luciddream

    luciddream Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Posts:
    2,545
    It's been awhile since I've used real-time AV's, but ESET was always among the most responsive and least problematic ones, ever since the Nod32 days. Nod32 v2.7 remains the lightest real-time AV I've ever used, and it's heuristics were way ahead of the competition at the time.

    Avira was always very light and stable too. Even lighter than ESET. And didn't have a ton of fluff in it back in the day, which I like in a product. Just an active File Guard and nothing else. And had tweaks to eliminate the splash screen and nag screen on updates. I loved Avira Free, but have no idea what it's like now.

    Avast is the one I'd always put on friends/family machines that couldn't handle 2-way FW's and HIPS though, since it's shields helped offset some of it.

    Kaspersky always felt heavy to me. So did F-Secure.

    Nortons was always glitchy... to the point where it's like having malware anyway. I've heard it's much better now but haven't verified it myself.

    McAfee just had terrible detection rates and would miss a ton of things... you'd realize this after scanning with a 2'nd opinion.

    That has been my experience. If I were to go back to using a real-time AV I'd probably just use the full CIS suite to avoid potential conflict. Or I'd try out Avira to see if it's still good. Or ESET since it's always been solid.

    Never tried WSA either but hear good things about it.
     
  8. justenough

    justenough Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Posts:
    1,549
    Interesting to see how close your experiences with the different AV's were to mine a few years ago. I wouldn't disagree with anything you said.

    Sometime you might try an install of WSA just for the shock. At least it was for me, like "That can't have installed right!" And it runs just as light as it installs. I think it makes some people doubt if it's doing anything worthwhile at all.
     
  9. justenough

    justenough Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Posts:
    1,549
    Yeah how you liking payback kjdemuth? Ready to cry for mercy?

    On a side note, ESET NOD32 is running pretty smooth so far. Funny how you can have an affection for an AV, and ESET earned that with me a few years ago.
     
  10. FleischmannTV

    FleischmannTV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    1,094
    Location:
    Germany
    Some products do not scan as much in-depth as others by default and thus may be perceived as lighter.
     
  11. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,737
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Is that the case with Eset?
     
  12. FleischmannTV

    FleischmannTV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    1,094
    Location:
    Germany
    I am not familiar with ESET, sorry.
     
  13. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Uncle, uncle! My avatar borrowing didn't last that long. :) Appguard and I don't get along. Love the software but just can't seem to adjust to it. Anytime it hiccups wrong I toss it. I have a license for eset. Just about the only reason I'm using it. The only thing that irks me is when I first come onto the desktop. It hangs for a few seconds. Nothing major. It's running smooth otherwise.
     
  14. mattdocs12345

    mattdocs12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    1,887
    Location:
    US
    My Laptop 1 Thinkpad X230
    OS: Linux Mint Debian Edition
    Purpose: semi anonymous surfing/computing
    AntiMalware: none
    Other: black tape over camera

    My Laptop 2 Thinkpad X120e
    OS: Windows 7 64bit
    Purpose: Netflix and Vsee (OS assumed compromised)
    AntiMalware: none
    Other: black tape over camera

    Family member Laptop 1 Thinkpad T61p
    OS: Windows XP Pro 32bit
    Purpose: General computing
    AntiMalware: Forticlient, MBAM Pro (realtime), Hitman Pro (daily scans), EEK
    Other: detachable camera

    Family member Laptop 2 Thinkpad T60
    OS: Windows Home Edition 32bit
    Purpose: General computing
    AntiMalware: Forticlient
    Other: detachable camera

    Home Desktop
    OS: Windows Pro 32bit
    Purpose: back up computer/music player
    AntiMalware: K9 Web Protection
    Other: camera with a lens cover
     
  15. justenough

    justenough Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Posts:
    1,549
    Funny you should say that about the three I was using, I'm having a similar problem, hangs that I haven't tracked down yet, might just be a Chrome extension. That's why I'm shifting software around right now.
     
  16. luciddream

    luciddream Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Posts:
    2,545
    That's how I felt after I installed Nod32 v2.7 years ago. I noticed no difference in footprint whatsoever, and that was with a single core 2.4 Ghz Celeron CPU and 512 MB of RAM. IMHO that may have been the best AV ever. That and/or older versions of Avira Free, like v6 (I think) was one that was really great with those 2 aforementioned tweaks.
     
  17. guest

    guest Guest

    I don't really remember about version 6, or if I've used it for that matter. But Avira 9 was probably the best Avira version I've ever used. Actually, the free version is still good until these days. It's just the paid products which are ridiculously bloated.
     
  18. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,767
    Doesn't your webcam have a led which shows when it's active?
     
  19. Jryder54

    Jryder54 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2013
    Posts:
    214
  20. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,767
  21. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,738
    Nothing more surefire than physically fixing the problem. Drivers only means Windows can't use it, well visibly anyways.

    My security setup has been stagnant these days as I'm focusing on other stuff. It's always available in my signature.
     
  22. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,737
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Running the paid Av on a netbook. Running nice and light. With a minimal feature set compared to some.
     
  23. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,767
    Without the drivers the webcam quite simply cannot be used.
     
  24. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,604
    Location:
    USA
    For the most part, the same has been true for me... more so recently, but basically ever since I installed Sandboxie, wherein I discovered the concept of using my computers instead of the other way around. ;)
     
  25. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,738
    Like I said, that only applies to the visible portion of Windows. There's nothing a driver can do about firmware or even backdoors.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.