What is your security setup these days?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dja2k, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. NSG001

    NSG001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Posts:
    682
    Location:
    Wembley, London
    thanks :thumb:
     
  2. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,923
    Location:
    Canada
    I had a good talk here:) :thumb:
    by the way trying out avast and it's firewall where is it coming from?it looks solid
     
  3. Ranget

    Ranget Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Posts:
    846
    Location:
    Not Really Sure :/
    Twister 8
    is it good these days or not ?
     
  4. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,923
    Location:
    Canada
    twister was bloated when I try it and also very very hips like pop ups kind of thing:)
     
  5. Rompin Raider

    Rompin Raider Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,249
    Location:
    North Texas
    Back to my roots...Avast IS & WSA Complete.:thumb:
     
  6. A well, back to Safe_Admin with SRP instead of AppLocker. There are simpley to many unsigned dll's to force a tight whitelist with just a few rules. My old dual core E5200 with 2GB just seems to slow down when I have a lot of hash rules.

    I know it is an mind grinder when you know there is something better possible (Applocker white list on publisher & hash, instead of SRP on path with UAC on signed). :mad:

    On the plus side IE11 starts in a wink and I found a way to run programs as basic user in windows 7 (IE11, Outlook and WMP can only be started from taskbar and startmenu, are even denied execution when starting with explorer from their own installation folders). :D
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 19, 2013
  7. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    Back to Eset
     
  8. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,923
    Location:
    Canada
    avast internet security:thumb:
     
  9. Ed_H

    Ed_H Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    662
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    After years of using Online Armor Premium I have uninstalled it and am trying ESET Anti Virus. My laptop is definitely faster but I am missing the security of OA's HIPS. ESET HIPS is really chatty so it is in auto mode for the time being.
     
  10. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,923
    Location:
    Canada
    I hope they add them together in 1 program,like a security suite:thumb:
     
  11. Jryder54

    Jryder54 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2013
    Posts:
    214
    Me too:thumb:
     
  12. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,923
    Location:
    Canada
    one installer:thumb: and one program Gui
     
  13. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    I have it in default too you're fine :)
     
  14. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,960
    Location:
    London On
    Good Evening! E.S.E.T. sis boom ba...No Malware...No Malware...Ra...Ra...Ra...Right On...Trjam...Ha...Ha...Ha...Lol! Sincerely...Securon
     
  15. Rompin Raider

    Rompin Raider Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,249
    Location:
    North Texas
    Welcome back...is ESET as good now as it appears? I did some of the beta testing a while back...looked promising.
     
  16. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,960
    Location:
    London On
    Good Evening! Rompin!...I've found it an Almond Joy to use...it's just extremely stable...and no bugs in the rug! Waiting impatiently for Black Friday...and at that time will be looking for a two year extension...I'm that convinced! Sincerely...Securon
     
  17. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,923
    Location:
    Canada
    or hitmanpro :) my new faborite combo
     
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2013
  18. Rompin Raider

    Rompin Raider Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,249
    Location:
    North Texas
    Sounds good...hope we see some deals!
     
  19. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,101
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    November 20, 2013 - Updated, Added, Removed

    • Desktop - Windows 8.1 Pro with Media Center x64
    • Laptop - Windows 8.1 x64
    Built-In Security
    • USER ACCOUNT CONTROL: HIGHEST SETTING
    • EMET 4.1: RECOMMENDED SECURITY SETTINGS
    • WINDOWS SMART SCREEN: ENABLED
    • WINDOWS DEFENDER: DISABLED
    • WINDOWS FIREWALL: DISABLED
    Network
    • Three Netgear WNR3500v2 (DD-WRT Firmware)
    • Four Netgear PowerLine AV 500 Adapters
    • Wired Cat5e Connection between all 3 Routers
    • WPA2-PSK AES Encryption
    • SPI Firewall Enabled
    • OpenDNS Configuration
    Resident
    • Online Armor Premium 7.0.0.1866 (Paid)
    • Emsisoft Anti-Malware 8.1.0.21 Beta (Paid)
    • Sandboxie 4.07.03 Beta (Paid) - Sandboxie Container Folder on RAMDisk
      [*]Appguard 4.0.17.0 (Paid)
    On-Demand
    • Shadow Defender 1.3.0.457 (Paid)
    • Macrium Reflect 5.2 build 6433*
    • Active@ Disk Image 5.5.2** (Paid)
    • AOMEI Backupper 1.6
    • Hitman Pro 3.7.8 build 209 Beta
    • VMWare Workstation 10.0.0 build-1295980** (Paid)
    Browser, Immunization, Tweaks
    • Firefox 26.0b5 (EasyPrivacy+EasyList via ABP, Gmelius, - Firefox Profile Folder on RAMDisk and Sandboxed
    • LastPass 3.0.10 Premium (Firefox & IE)
    • HitmanPro.Alert 2.5.1 Build 56 BETA
    • Bluetack Safepeer SPLists (via OA for P2P Only)
    • Spyware Blaster 5.0 (All Protection Enabled + Customblocking.txt)
    *Active@ Disk Image (Daily - Incremental Backups) & Macrium Reflect (Weekly - Full Backup)
    **VMware Workstation and Active@ Disk Image only installed on Desktop

    dja2k
     
  20. Only one security application, no . . :eek:
     
  21. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,312
    Location:
    USA
    Trying out Privatefirewall, the rest is the same in my sig
     
  22. guest

    guest Guest

    Switched back to Firefox w/ ABP because I have a strong feeling that Chrome will get bloated sooner or later. Also, loosing faith to whitelisting AE. Too much effort to maintain, too little benefit to achieve.
     
  23. zerotox

    zerotox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Posts:
    417
    Hi, have you disabled the HIPS in NOD32 and if not are Private firewall and NOD getting along fine?
     
  24. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,312
    Location:
    USA
    I have ESET HIPS on default, I have excluded PF in exclusions and allowed it in the HIPS rules and I have ESET allowed in process monitor.
    All seems to be running fine :)
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.