What is your security setup these days?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dja2k, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. tomazyk

    tomazyk Guest

    Yes I went back to 32 bit. I dedicated 4 GB of RAM to RamDisk and put pagefile and Sandboxie container on it.
     
  2. tomazyk

    tomazyk Guest

    Thnx a lot :)

    BTW it's he :D
     
  3. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,684
    Location:
    Canada
    DefenseWall Personal Firewall 3.22 :thumb: :thumb: in my xp2 32 bits system and sandboxie in my 64 system:) :thumb: :thumb:
     
  4. ichito

    ichito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,947
    Location:
    Poland - Cracow
    XP SP3 (32-bit)
    - in real-time: Kerio 2.1.5, GeSWall Free, HMPA 2.5 with CryptoGuard
    - on demand WTF, Keriver 1-Click, EEK, Runscanner
    Vista (32-bit)
    - in real-time: Look'n'Stop, SpyShelter Premium, HMPA 2.5 with CryptoGuard, MBAE
    - on demand SD, Keriver 1-Click, EEK, Runscanner, AVZ Antivral Toolkit
    Win 7 (32-bit)
    - Win7 FW, SpyShelter Premium, ExeWatch, HMPA 2.5 with CryptoGuard
    -on demand TTF, Keriver 1-Click, EEK, Runscanner

    On all systems Firefox with NoScript, ABP, BDTL as the default browser.
     
  5. Found the cause, unsigned dll's in Windows\assembly folder (dotNet) and Windows\System32\Spool\driver (printers) folder
     
  6. Gullible Jones

    Gullible Jones Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2013
    Posts:
    1,466
    @Windows_Security: some exploits against Foxit seem to have appeared ITW. None against the current version, I think, but the Metasploit database has a few for older versions.

    Anyway...

    grayarea (EeePC 1005HAB netbook)
    - Debian Wheezy (Xfce) x86
    - ufw firewall
    - Firefox + Noscript
    - Emacs + GPG for password management

    harvestlore (custom AMD A4 workstation)
    - Backbox Linux 3.09 x86-64
    - ufw
    - Firefox + Noscript
    - Emacs + GPG
    - dozens of pentesting tools
    - Virtualbox (works much better with hardware virtualization)
     
  7. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,338
    Location:
    USA
    Win XP x86 Family PC
    EXE Radar Pro + VoodooShield + Sandboxie + CryptoPrevent


    Win XP x86 Daughters PC
    EXE Radar Pro + VoodooShield + Webroot + CryptoPrevent


    My Laptop Security in sig below
     
  8. Yes there is no zero risk solution. Finally managed with the help of eventmanager to solve Adobe reader issue (unsigned dll's in Program Files\Common folder which Adobe is using). Happy with my locked admin setup, for install I need to change ACE on Temp Folder
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 12, 2013
  9. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,960
    Location:
    London On
    Good Morning! Just received the latest build update from Avira...very stable...no surprises. I uninstalled Zone Alarm...once it reached into the kernel...browsing became slower...also disconnected from Firefox unexpectably. Avira's a keeper...just uninstall the Ask Toolbar...during Custom install and your good to go. Avira is layered with WSA Security Plus and HMP and HMP Alert 2...Sincerely...Securon
     
  10. 800ster

    800ster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Posts:
    206
    Now happy with this very light combination:

    WSA AV
    Avira AV Suite (minus Firewall control as don't think it is needed with WSA)
    MBAM Pro on-demand
     
  11. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,684
    Location:
    Canada
    sandboxie and defensewall:thumb: :thumb:
     
  12. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,119
    ZA is giving me a hard time with internet connection. It is cutting it down to often
     
  13. tomazyk

    tomazyk Guest

    I've added NOD32 to my setup. So now I have sandbox+blacklist+whitelist+backup combination.
     
  14. mattdocs12345

    mattdocs12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    1,887
    Location:
    US
    Switched from Ubuntu 13.10 to Linux Mint Debian Edition. I love to watch the malware download itself and not know what to do.
     
  15. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,960
    Location:
    London On
    Good Evening! Just re-installed Agnitum Outpost Pro Firewall in tandem with Avast Pro A/V...and HMP Alert 2.5....Missed having a dedicated firewall...and Safe Zone...Sincerely...Securon
     
  16. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,109
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    November 13, 2013 - Updated, Added, Removed

    • Windows 8.1 Pro with Media Center x64 ---> Desktop
    • Windows 8.1 x64 ---> Laptop
    Built-In Security
    • USER ACCOUNT CONTROL: HIGHEST SETTING
    • EMET 4.1: RECOMMENDED SECURITY SETTINGS
    • WINDOWS SMART SCREEN: ENABLED
    • WINDOWS DEFENDER: DISABLED
    • WINDOWS FIREWALL: DISABLED
    Network
    • Three Netgear WNR3500v2 (DD-WRT Firmware)
    • Four Netgear PowerLine AV 500 Adapters
    • Wired Cat5e Connection between all 3 Routers
    • WPA2-PSK AES Encryption
    • SPI Firewall Enabled
    • OpenDNS Configuration
    Resident
    • Online Armor Premium 7.0.0.1866 (Paid)
    • Emsisoft Anti-Malware 8.1.0.21 Beta (Paid)
    • Sandboxie 4.07.03 Beta (Paid) - Sandboxie Container Folder on RAMDisk
      [*]Appguard 4.0.17.0 (Paid)
      [*]Malwarebytes Anti-Exploit 0.09.4.2000 Beta
    On-Demand
    • Shadow Defender 1.3.0.457 (Paid)
    • Macrium Reflect 5.2 build 6433*
    • AOMEI Backupper 1.6*
    • Hitman Pro 3.7.8 build 209 Beta
    • VMWare Workstation 10.0.0 build-1295980** (Paid)
    Browser, Immunization, Tweaks
    • Firefox 26.0b4 (EasyPrivacy+EasyList via ABP, WOT, Gmelius, DoNotTrackPlus - Firefox Profile Folder on RAMDisk and Sandboxed
    • LastPass 3.0.0 Premium (Firefox & IE)
    • HitmanPro.Alert 2.5.1 Build 56 BETA
    • Bluetack Safepeer SPLists (via OA for P2P Only)
    • Spyware Blaster 5.0 (All Protection Enabled + Customblocking.txt)
    *AOMEI Backupper (Daily - Incremental Backups) & Macrium Reflect (Weekly - Full Backup)
    **VMware Workstation only installed on Desktop

    dja2k
     
  17. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,823
    I have a client of mine that asked for some security setup advise

    The client isn't quite savy, but learns programs very quickly.

    What do you think about this recommendation for him?

    avast! 2014 Free Antivirus with tweaks and Hardened Mode enabled
    AppGuard 4.0 (He's interested and willing to learn)
    WinPatrol Plus (Client already owns a license)

    His current security setup is as follows:

    Microsoft Security Essentials
    WinPatrol Plus

    He is looking for simple, but yet powerful against threats, which is why I thought my above recommendation would be perfect for him...what do you think?
     
  18. Jryder54

    Jryder54 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2013
    Posts:
    214
    Sounds good. Maybe an alternative DNS server like Opendns or Norton DNS, as well. I know avast already has a web filter but it can't hurt!
     
  19. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,823
    Thanks and yes, was thinking about also configuring his IPv4 to Norton DNS, just forgot to mention it, thanks for reminding me :D
     
  20. Jryder54

    Jryder54 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2013
    Posts:
    214
    You're welcome! :) Maybe a on-demand scanner such as HMP and/or mbam for second opinion as well.
     
  21. kupo

    kupo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,121
    SecureAPlus (No AV)
    Toolwiz Time Freeze
    Microsoft EMET
    HitmanPro.Alert (beta testing)
     
  22. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,823
    Thanks, I'll put those on there as well :thumb:
     
  23. blasev

    blasev Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Posts:
    763
    trialing sophos anti virus for mac :thumb:
     
  24. Gandalf_The_Grey

    Gandalf_The_Grey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Posts:
    751
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    You could add EMET 4.1 and HitmanPro.Alert 2.5.1 BETA with CryptoGuard
     
  25. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,684
    Location:
    Canada
    just add mbampro to his current set up and done:thumb:
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.