What is your security setup these days?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dja2k, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,343
    Location:
    USA
    I'm sure I would, thanks
     
  2. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Avira Anti Virus and windows firewall Advanced security.
     
  3. siketa

    siketa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,718
    Location:
    Gaia
    What is MBAB?
    I'm familiar with MBAM,MBAE,MBAR...but this?
     
  4. fearlessscientist

    fearlessscientist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2013
    Posts:
    166
    Location:
    USA
    Why not AVG antivirus or Avast antivirus ? :D
    There are so many free antivirus which starts with 'A'
     
  5. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Ah I see. Thanks.:)
     
  6. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    o_O ........Oh now you're confusing me.:doubt: :doubt:
     
  7. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    True but if I can remember correctly bigc73542 was a fan of Avira. I could be mistaken though.
     
  8. Don't you use any of the build in features of Win7 Ultimate?
     
  9. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    added and staying with NoVirusThanks EXE Radar Pro beta v3:thumb:
    it is super nice and strong and i put in lockdown moce(extreme) beatifull program,i love it:thumb:
     
  10. guest

    guest Guest

    Trying out ScriptSafe, again. Also, removed ABP.
     
  11. JohnMult

    JohnMult Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Posts:
    118
    Location:
    Greece
    I am currently using ScriptBlock and I am quite satisfied from the simplicity and the effectiveness of blocking scripts. I think you must try it.
     
  12. Windows 7 Ultmate 32 bits (E5200 dual core at 3 GHZ with SSD + 2xHDD + NAS & WL Router)

    Windows execution control
    - Deny file execution (exe) access in drive-by folders & USB (ACL)
    - Deny execute for Basic Users of all executables in user folders (SRP)
    - Deny elevation/installation of unsigned programs & drivers for all (UAC)

    Addtional intrusion mitigation
    - Windows FW 2-way & disabled risk-ware services (MMC & GPO)
    - Memory Protection (EMET), Lock User Autoruns (GPO & ACL), Safe DLL-paths (GPO)
    - Outlook & IE11 run in Basic User box (SRP), virtualised (RunAsInvoker) and locked user settings (GPO)

    Safe-Hex habits
    - Download from trusted places and check programs at Virus Total
    - HitManPro scanning loadpoints before image backup and after patch tuesday
    - Web filtering through startpage (family filter), IE11 (smart screen) & Norton DNS (malware)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 27, 2013
  13. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,960
    Location:
    London On
    Good Morning! Introducing The Triple Layered...Dome Of Death...Outpost 8.1 Firewall...EAM...and WSA Security Plus....really enjoy the simplicity and protection of Outpost. All the apps are in Full Harmony Mode...Lol! Sincerely...Securon
     
  14. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    Securon:thumb: :thumb:
     
  15. tomazyk

    tomazyk Guest

    I added EMET v. 4.0 to my setup.
     
  16. fearlessscientist

    fearlessscientist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2013
    Posts:
    166
    Location:
    USA
    Whats the memory usage of EMET ? I want to give it a try but dont want to overload my system.
     
  17. tomazyk

    tomazyk Guest

    Right now EMET_Agent is using 40MB of my memory. But this is only agent that notifies you about blocked processes. Using this software won't slow down your system. It only loads additional dll when protected applications are run.
     
  18. fearlessscientist

    fearlessscientist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2013
    Posts:
    166
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks for the info.
     
  19. CrusherW9

    CrusherW9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    517
    Location:
    United States
    I've been testing out Chrome a little bit. I have plugins set to click to play but I noticed something funny. I was on Youtube, testing addblocking with Scriptsafe and I loaded the same video multiple times from the homepage. Sometimes, it played without requiring authorization. It turns out that sometimes I was using the HTML5 player on Youtube instead. I did some quick Googling, and apparently you can disable flash and strictly use HTML5 (on Youtube at least). Kinda neat.

    Also, does anyone know how much overlap there is between Chrome's built in malware domain checking and Adblock Plus's malware domain blocking?
     
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2013
  20. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    added Emsisoft Online Armor 7.0 :thumb:
    note:i tried comodo firewall but i didnt like the Gui it looks bad in my own opinion
     
  21. justenough

    justenough Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Posts:
    1,549
    Scotty is back, barking when I need to check something out.
     
  22. guest

    guest Guest

    I have. But ScriptSafe passed 5 out of 6 tests provided by tlu-san. ScriptBlock failed on test #2. I'm not sure about how to interpret the 6th test result though.

    There's one thing that made me feel a little uncomfortable with ScriptBlock, the "allow access to file URLs" option. I know we can disable it but it bothers me by just being there. :doubt:
     
  23. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    3,160
    how is ashampoo av's real world performance so far? i believe you are one of the very few (if not the only one) ashampoo av user here, right?
     
  24. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    i havent tested with real malware but i am very impress how frecuently it's database it updates:thumb:
     
  25. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    3,160
    does it use its own av engine or a third party engine?
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.