What is your security setup these days?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dja2k, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. CrusherW9

    CrusherW9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    517
    Location:
    United States
    Trying out (again) Windows 8 on my laptop.
     
  2. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    4,051
    Back with avast 8 and comodo firewall v5...its a very nice combo indeed alongside sandboxie.
    I feel quite secure with this configuration.:)
     
  3. guest

    guest Guest

    Yes, JoeBlack40 does.
     
  4. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,491
    So you are in the bandwagon again. Welcome. :D
     
  5. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    for sure man:thumb:
     
  6. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,343
    Location:
    USA
    Still happy with my kevlar, btw eam rocks!
     
  7. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    You already have MBAM so no need to look any further.
     
  8. camelia

    camelia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Posts:
    340
    Location:
    Mexico City
    Thanks :D

    Camelia
     
  9. Antimalware18

    Antimalware18 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Posts:
    417
    Adder HMP.alert t o my real-time setup just for that little bit extra
     
  10. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Romania
    Yes,me.At least until an hour ago...Avira free remains one of my favorite,but i noticed that after a while,my laptop begin to feel slow and less responsive,despite the fact that i have a pretty much powerful machine...so,as we speaking,i reverted to a clean backup image and i'm thinking what to install instead...
     
  11. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,960
    Location:
    London On
    Good Afternoon! Hail...Hail...EAM 8.1...some cool new boffo updates with 8.1...in tandem with WSA Security Plus...HMP...& HMP Alert...and that's all folks! Sincerely...Securon
     
  12. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,113
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    August 27, 2013 - Updated, Added, Removed

    Windows 8 Pro with Media Center x64

    Built-In Security
    • USER ACCOUNT CONTROL: HIGHEST SETTING
    • EMET 4.0: RECOMMENDED SECURITY SETTINGS
    • WINDOWS SMART SCREEN: ENABLED
    • WINDOWS DEFENDER: DISABLED
    • WINDOWS FIREWALL: DISABLED
    Network
    • Three Netgear WNR3500v2 (DD-WRT Firmware)
    • Four Netgear PowerLine AV 500 Adapters
    • Wired Cat5e Connection between all 3 Routers
    • WPA2-PSK AES Encryption
    • SPI Firewall Enabled
    • OpenDNS Configuration
    Resident
    • Online Armor Premium 7.0.0.1834 Beta (Paid)
    • Emsisoft Anti-Malware 8.1.0.4 (Paid)
    • Sandboxie 4.05.06 Beta (Paid) - Sandboxie Container Folder on RAMDisk
    On-Demand
    • Shadow Defender 1.3.0.455 (Paid)
    • Active@ Disk Image 5.5.2* (Paid)
    • Hitman Pro 3.7.7 build 203
    • VMWare Workstation 9.0.2 build-1031769 (Paid)
    Browser, Immunization, Tweaks
    • Firefox 24.0b5 (Fanboy's Blocking Lists via ABP, WOT, Gmelius, DoNotTrackPlus, Google Redesigned- Firefox Profile Folder on RAMDisk and Sandboxed
    • LastPass 2.5.0 Premium (Firefox & IE)
    • Bluetack Safepeer SPLists (via OA for P2P Only)
    • Spyware Blaster 5.0 (All Protection Enabled + Customblocking.txt)
    Active Disk Image (Weekly)

    dja2k
     
  13. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    Securon:thumb: :thumb:
     
  14. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    @JoeBlack40

    Why not try Webroot SecureAnywhere for a change? Once you use it you'll never want to use another of those heavy AVs again.:thumb:
     
  15. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Romania
    Thanks for the suggestion,but i highly doubt about the never part :D
    For now i reverted to BitDefender AV Plus,Privatefirewall and Sandboxie.
    And seriously thinking about tryin' 360 IS....
     
  16. FleischmannTV

    FleischmannTV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    1,094
    Location:
    Germany
    Greetings! Gave Online Armor Premium a try...in tandem with EAM 8.1 and AppGuard...no issues...but not a keeper...now back to EAM and AppGuard only...EAM set to "scan only programs before they are executed". Sincerely...FleischmannTV
     
  17. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    go ahead Joe and give 360 a shot. You wont regret it.
     
  18. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    ^
    |
    Yeah what he said. It really is a great little program.
     
  19. Blues7

    Blues7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Posts:
    870
    Location:
    2500'
    Reinstalled and happy to report that it now works with Sandboxie supervised browser. :thumb:

    Rest of configuration is in signature:
     
  20. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    The browser protection doesn't work in sandboxie. In fact you actually have to run browser disabled with sandboxie to even install the browser protection.
     
  21. Blues7

    Blues7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Posts:
    870
    Location:
    2500'
    It works as far as detecting the Eicar test file before being downloaded.
    (Firefox (23.0.1) run within Sandboxie (4.04)

    So, do you mean the URL blocking/filtering doesn't work?
     
  22. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Yes the URL filtering/Browser protection. Doesn't work when last checked. I'm ok with that since I have K9 web filter.
     
  23. Blues7

    Blues7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Posts:
    870
    Location:
    2500'
    Do you have a URL I could use to test on my system?
    (I'll disable Adblock Plus and DNS filter if they alert first.)

    If it doesn't work I'll probably just disable the Q360 URL filtering to save resources.
     
  24. waterfallz

    waterfallz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2013
    Posts:
    10
    can you help me pick a good antivirus and behavior blocker for a new computer, I want my computer to be as much safe as possible, while not having a HUGE impact on performance.
     
  25. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,343
    Location:
    USA

    Emsisoft would be a great choice imo
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.