What is your security setup these days?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dja2k, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,738
    I think I've finally stopped experimenting security software (now moving onto other things) and settled with what's in my signature. At least until the next killer (free) product.
     
  2. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,343
    Location:
    USA
    It's kinda like rollback rx I think
    http://www.ax64.com/
     
  3. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,738
    It's Snapshot Speed + Imaging Reliability + Compatibility (e.g. Rescue Media instead of MBR modification).
     
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2013
  4. camelia

    camelia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Posts:
    344
    Location:
    Mexico City
    MVPS HOSTS

    Should I use it or not?

    Thanks

    Camelia
     
  5. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,343
    Location:
    USA
    Definitely! :thumb:
     
  6. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,145
    Can someone tell me how heavy Comodo Internet Security is ?
     
  7. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,750
    Location:
    EU
  8. avman1995

    avman1995 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Posts:
    944
    Location:
    india
    A New config I am running right now:

    Up to date softwares and windows 7 Home,Geswall free,Winpatrol free,MCShield,Malwarebytes PRO,UAC High.

    Alongside I have Bitdefender USB Immunizer,adwcleaner,Hitman Pro,CCleaner.
     
  9. avman1995

    avman1995 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Posts:
    944
    Location:
    india
    Replaced Geswall with Sandboxie because of a BSOD :D
     
  10. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    2,015
    It was heavy on my old PC (480 MB RAM). On my 3 PC with 2GB and 1 PC with 4GB RAM it's light. Though sometimes one PC with 2GB RAM is slow and I have to reinstall CIS or install Avast there, I think it's because of CIS as it is always light with Avast. So in general it depends.

    I also have generic issue with CIS - sometimes PC with CIS refuses to read USB flash disk. I have to reinstall CIS then.
     
  11. TheKid7

    TheKid7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Posts:
    3,560
    I like your Security Setup.
     
  12. Blues7

    Blues7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Posts:
    870
    Location:
    2500'
    Real-time: Sandboxie (paid version), OA Premium, MBAM Pro

    On Demand: HitmanPro, Shadow Defender (as needed)

    Imaging: Drive Snapshot, Macrium Reflect (used alternately)

    This setup seems to run very compliantly and quietly on my XP Pro SP3 system.
    No conflicts or overlap. OA's "web shield" is disabled due to known conflict with Sandboxie.

    Browsing is further secured with MBAM's website blocking, NoScript, HTTPS Everywhere, AdBlock Plus (EasyList & EasyPrivacy, Malware Domains) and Norton DNS.

    All downloads are routed to a folder under the supervision of Sandboxie and scanned before allowing access to "real" system. Otherwise, Sandboxie is set to "delete" upon closing the browser.

    Imaging provides a safety valve in the event of a mishap.


    May not be the ideal solution for everyone but there is a very noticeable difference in system performance in the absence of a real-time antivirus.
     
  13. guest

    guest Guest

    Aawwh... it's been almost 15 days I'm trialing OAP. Should I buy a license? I can afford it but still hesitate. :ouch:
     
  14. Blues7

    Blues7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Posts:
    870
    Location:
    2500'
    It really depends on your needs. I already had a long term license for OA so I continue to use the premium version in "advanced" mode despite the fact that I'm not really "advanced" and don't fully take advantage of all the features.

    I could get by with OA Free as it pretty much has all the features and options that I currently rely upon. (It doesn't allow one to back up their settings in the free version but it'd be just as easy to restore an image of the hard drive.)
     
  15. guest

    guest Guest

    I actually quite like the file and registry shield and more detailed popups. Well I guess I have to stop being a cheap mustard and support the developer once in a while. :D
     
  16. Blues7

    Blues7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Posts:
    870
    Location:
    2500'
    When you're right, you're right. :thumb:
     
  17. camelia

    camelia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Posts:
    344
    Location:
    Mexico City
    Thank you,

    If I never used mvps before... I am going to give it a try :)

    -http://winhelp2002.mvps.org/hosts.htm-

    Camelia
     
  18. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    mvps host file blocks alot of junk from the internet:thumb: :thumb:

    i love my current combo :) and in 32 systems it is the best ever

    note:i removed deepfreeze as it doesnt protect the Master Boot Record and shadow defender it does
     
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2013
  19. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,688
    My personal favorite (DW+SD), a tough combo to beat. :D
     
  20. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    agree wolfe:thumb: :thumb:
     
  21. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,343
    Location:
    USA
    Removed VoodooShield for the time being and added EXE Radar Pro, everything else is in my sig :)
     
  22. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    good combo:thumb:
     
  23. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Romania
    Have a brand new license,so i installed today BitDefender AV Pro,along with Privatefirewall and Sandboxie.So far so good,maybe in a few days i can tell if it's a keeper this setup or not.
     
  24. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,995
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    There is a known conflict between Bitdefender and SBIE V4. To know the workaround, take a look at the known conflicts page at the SBIE site.

    http://www.sandboxie.com/index.php?KnownConflicts#bitdefender

    Bo
     
  25. TheKid7

    TheKid7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Posts:
    3,560
    Thanks for the Info.

    Is that workaround saying to disable protection or what is being turned off?
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.