What is your security setup these days?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dja2k, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. 1chaoticadult

    1chaoticadult Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    2,321
    Location:
    USA
    Careful there Noob, Hope you have backups :p
     
  2. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,343
    Location:
    USA
    You should throw voodoo in the pot and you should be pretty secure
     
  3. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,343
    Location:
    USA
    Family PC...Appguard, VoodooShield, Sandboxie, WinPatrol Plus, Admuncher light but lethal :thumb:
     
  4. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,491
    Hahahahaha Windows was freezing every 2 seconds, restarted like 5 times and finally managed to delete one of the rules i created. :ninja:
     
  5. AdvancedSetup

    AdvancedSetup Security Expert

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Posts:
    142
    Location:
    USA
  6. FleischmannTV

    FleischmannTV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    1,094
    Location:
    Germany
    I don't see why, since he already has AppGuard.
     
  7. 1chaoticadult

    1chaoticadult Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    2,321
    Location:
    USA
    Well at least you got it fixed up lol :D

    Windows 7 Ultimate x64
    System: UAC (Always Notify) + EMET + Applocker
    Real-time: Qihoo 360 Internet Security 2013 + Outpost Firewall Pro
    Backup: AX64 Time Machine + SkyDrive
    Browser: Palemoon + NoScript + HTTPS Everywhere + LastPass
    On Demand: HitmanPro

    Setup works well for me, I will probably stay with it for a while, hopefully :D
     
  8. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    The RAM usage does not say if the product is bloated or not, and one should not say that high RAM usage is = heavy on the system.... see my sig.

    EDIT: BTW this gives more details about the RAM usage....and I don't need to explain it all over myself :p

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=2257357&postcount=135
     
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2013
  9. guest

    guest Guest

    Lol, then what were you doing with OA all these years and not having fun in messing with your OS in the early days of using it? :D

    Well, in case anyone's interested in playing around with OA's rules, here's mine. It shouldn't cause too much headache. Might change it in the future though.
     
  10. Rompin Raider

    Rompin Raider Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,253
    Location:
    North Texas
    Trying: Q 360 Internet Security WSA Complete...very light!:thumb:
     
  11. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    RR...What was Qihoo running for you in memory? Mine was up to 86K after updating.
     
  12. Rompin Raider

    Rompin Raider Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,253
    Location:
    North Texas
    Did you say 86K?:gack:
     
  13. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,343
    Location:
    USA
    Kaspersky is not like Eset...I know lots of people that has issues with Kaspersky slowing their pc down including me, Eset is light as a feather even though it is pretty high in ram usage.
     
  14. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Yeah 86K. That was after updating. Not sure if it was doing anything in the background. I wasn't running a scan or updating. Maybe I should have given it a chance and left it on for a few days. Might give it another go.
     
  15. digmor crusher

    digmor crusher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Posts:
    920
    Location:
    Canada
    See my siggy Ziegfried.

    On a off note, when I win the lottery I'm going to buy tons of software so I can compete with Securon and try to win" Most Coveted Customer of The Year" from all the security companies.
     
  16. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,491
    OA is not working properly now, i wonder if it has anything to do with what i tried. :rolleyes:
     
  17. KelvinW4

    KelvinW4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Posts:
    1,199
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Baidu AV, lightest thing I've ever used.
     
  18. Antimalware18

    Antimalware18 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Posts:
    417
    How is baidu now? Have you tested it in a VM? I would do it myself but i lack the time ATM
     
  19. Rompin Raider

    Rompin Raider Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,253
    Location:
    North Texas
    Have you compared KIS 2013 to 2014? For me, the new version is slower than 2013...agree on ESET.:thumb:
     
  20. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,960
    Location:
    London On
    Good Morning! Digmor Crusher...I Think you meant Covert...Lol! Sincerely...Securon
     
  21. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,343
    Location:
    USA
    No not yet
     
  22. justenough

    justenough Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Posts:
    1,549
    Good one Securon, Covert Customer of the Year. :)

    Still running Sandboxie and WSA here. It's been months and haven't found a reason to change that combination.
     
  23. Ro4dRuNn3r

    Ro4dRuNn3r Guest

    Removed Windows Defender, add Bitdefender AV. :thumb:
     
  24. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    The point I was making was that one should not say that a product is heavy because it has a higher RAM usage than let's say average. But there's more to it than this of course. And when it comes to ESET, the way it uses the RAM is one of the keys to it's great system performance, plus the engine itself of course...and that everything is tightly integrated...that's all I will say.
     
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2013
  25. guest

    guest Guest

    Tried EMET again, got problems again lol. I probably won't touch EMET anymore since I have no interest in tweaking it for now.

    Next stop --> AX64 Time Machine. :D
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.