What is your security setup these days?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dja2k, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. Boost

    Boost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,294
    After years of using Geswall,I've made a switch to Sandboxie :thumb:

    Happy 4th!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  2. Rompin Raider

    Rompin Raider Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,249
    Location:
    North Texas
    Emsisoft Anti-Malware 8....it really is lighter! Nice!:thumb:
     
  3. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Good choice boost. You won't regret that move.
     
  4. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,274
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Plus by plus equal plus.

    I hope you like Sandboxie as much as you enjoyed using GesWall:cool:.

    Welcome to the club.

    Bo
     
  5. wolfrun

    wolfrun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Posts:
    620
    Location:
    Canada

    Added EMET 4 and trying out TinyWall. Still using the great and powerful Sandboxie 4.03 of course. :cool:
     
  6. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    4,028
    Ok.
    using Avira free and comodo firewall 5.12 with sandboxie.
    i was missing sandboxie.:thumb:
     
  7. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,822
    Do you think this is too much/overkill for a Real-time setup?

    NoVirusThanks EXE Radar Pro v2.7.7 Built 8
    HitmanPro.Alert - NEW! Just added
    Sandboxie 4.03 (Lifetime)
    EMET 4 (Maximum security settings)

    And, then of course, the rest is Windows Built-in security.
     
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2013
  8. siketa

    siketa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,717
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    I think not. ;)
     
  9. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Nope. Nice and light. Hitmanpro alert is kinda cool. I have it installed. Not really sure I need it since I have WSA.
     
  10. Pain of Salvation

    Pain of Salvation Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Posts:
    398
    Removed Eset Smart Security.

    Using only Windows Defender and HitmanPro.Alert in realtime.
     
  11. 1chaoticadult

    1chaoticadult Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    2,250
    Location:
    Chaotic Land
    Windows 8 Pro x64
    System: AppLocker + UAC (Always Notify) + Windows SmartScreen + EMET (Max Security Settings)
    Real-time: 360 Internet Security 2013 + Outpost Firewall Pro
    Backup: Active@ Disk Image
    Browser: Palemoon + NoScript + HTTPS Everywhere + LastPass + DuckDuck Go Plus
     
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2013
  12. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,312
    Location:
    USA
    Not at all :thumb:
     
  13. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,822
    Thanks siketa :thumb:
     
  14. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,822
    It does run pretty light :thumb:

    Yeah, I like it too...very nice piece of software.
     
  15. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,822
    Thanks
     
  16. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Not overkill at all. Would you mind emphasizing the Win built in security?
     
  17. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    You don't need it. WSA already covers all of the features.;) You could simply use HitmanPro alert on your other pcs that don't have WSA installed.:)
     
  18. asr

    asr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Posts:
    91
    My security setup is as follows:
    Bitdefender 2014 antivirus
    Windows Firewall
    Hitman Pro
    Trojan Remover
     
  19. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Yeah you're probably right. It only uses 3K when running. It hasn't conflicted with WSA. I'll keep it around since it's light enough. Nothing wrong with a little more protection. :p
     
  20. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Nice setup. Any backup plans?
     
  21. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Suit yourself. It'll be more like nothing wrong with a little same protection.:D
     
  22. JohnMult

    JohnMult Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Posts:
    113
    Location:
    Greece
    Windows XP Home SP3 (all updates) Admin account behind a router
    1 Microsoft Security Essentials (not the best but after a lot of trials of other antivirus the only one that catch some viruses during browsing)
    2 Google Chrome through DropMyRights (with JavaScript Popup Blocker) and trick 1806 (Thanks Windows Security)
    3 AdFender (Easylist EasyPrivacy)
    4 Norton DNS
    5 EMET 4 (for browsers, Foxit Reader, Microsoft Office and VLC player)
    6 VoodooShield (SMART) thanks for the great offer
    7 MalwareBytes on demand
    8 No Java installed

    I have read and tried a lot of combinations but the truth is that finally I feel good about my system especially the combination of proactive security during browsing:
    DropMyRights+EMET+VoodooShield+Chrome Sandboxed plugins

    Any comments are welcome.
     
  23. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,993
    I guess you use windows inbuilt FW?

    I would add some imaging.
     
  24. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,960
    Location:
    London On
    Good Evening! Well so much for the fourteen day...period for taking Eam V8 for a test drive. Long story short...installed the latest release of Avira I.S.2013...super stable...and smooth performance. And liked the idea of uninstalling the Ask Toolbar Rubbish. It as mentioned is a very impressive release. Maybe just Maybe...some of our constructive critique...reached Avira's decision makers ears! Lol! Try it...what's to lose. Oh both Purplus and the Download Crew have the 2012 Version's on Sale at $19.95 for the I.S. product.Sincerely...Securon
     
  25. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,822
    Windows Defender, Windows SmartScreen, Windows Firewall, UAC on Max, Group Policy tweaks

    and I guess you could count this as well

    Windows System Restore

    And, in case you're wondering, Why I'm using Windows Defender - Less false positives, more stable, very light, built-in

    Plus, the rest of my setup pretty much covers what Windows Defender misses, which is why you don't see me using a third-party AV.
     
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2013
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.