What is your security setup these days?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dja2k, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. luciddream

    luciddream Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Posts:
    2,545
    No kidding. I'd have crushed that record though if not for my brief trial run of EMET, and adding VirtualBox to the mix. I recently got a new/old box with a CPU that supported hardware virtualization, so decided I was going to put it to use. I wanted to run a VM before but it just wasn't practical on my old box... slowed it down too much. Now I don't even notice the footprint with the hardware support & 4 GB of RAM.

    But ever since adding Sandboxie about 2 years ago that's all that's changed on my box. SBIE has made things secure, but also very static & boring. I "almost" wanna remove it to live dangerously again, and swap apps in & out looking for that perfect setup. It's funny, you look for that setup for years, then when you finally find it you're like... "man, now I'm bored".
     
  2. CrusherW9

    CrusherW9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    517
    Location:
    United States
    And then you move on to a different aspect of perfectness like your media setup like music and video players, converters, and organization for instance. There's always something to improve on :D
     
  3. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Exactly how I feel. When I left Comodo Firewall, I was looking around for a while. I then started using WSA. Then NVT EXE pro came along. I added them all together with sandboxie. Probably one of the lightest setups I've had. It's also one of the strongest. Now I'm kinda bored and keep wanting to add things.
     
  4. luciddream

    luciddream Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Posts:
    2,545
    Already long since done. Have a light, free app to do anything I'd ever need to do. Shortcuts in a folder on my desktop named "Studio". Can't get any more organized than that. Same with my games too.

    There's nothing left to do except use my computer now.
     
  5. luciddream

    luciddream Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Posts:
    2,545
    To each his/her own. Comodo FW/D+ was the first piece of the puzzle for me. It's had the longest tenure of my static setup now. I used to pair Avira AV with it, and that was pretty much it. Then I came across SBIE and realized the real-time AV was a dead weight. Just started scanning on demand before unboxing things. VT Hash Check namely was a great find for that. And threw in an imaging regimen around the same time... and the rest is history.

    Once in awhile still I come across a tweak in here or some good info. Was glad to get a heads up about newer versions of OpenVPN that may not be on the level... not sure, but why take the risk I figured.

    I check the release notes of new versions of Firefox to see what's changed, and see if I should adjust any settings accordingly. And my addons too. And keep patching the OS. That's pretty much it these days.
     
  6. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,678
    Location:
    Canada
    webroot antivirus is rock solid :) i tried it againts a malware sample and mbampro and ikarus dint know the malware and webroot jump to catch it and block it:thumb:
     
  7. CrusherW9

    CrusherW9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    517
    Location:
    United States
    So after installing Sandboxie again followed by CFW, I'm getting some noticeable lag when browsing with FF. I'm fairly certain it's because of CFW because I don't remember having this issue with Sandboxie before. Are there any certain settings I should change?
     
  8. zip

    zip Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Posts:
    359
    Location:
    Mars
    I dumped Online Armor, it freezes my computer. :mad:

    Back to Windows Firewall.

    If only Privatefirewall was stealthy. :rolleyes:
     
  9. Antimalware18

    Antimalware18 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Posts:
    417
    Still lovin my setup and im not looking to change it anytime soon. The only thing i might change is going from CFW 5.12 to CFW 6.1 the only put off on that is when i was using CFW 6.1 before it was causing bsod on boot. But im not sure if that wasbthe program or because i had avast on the machine as well.o_O
     
  10. pablozi

    pablozi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Posts:
    215
    Location:
    nowhere
    SpyShelter Firewall, EMET 4 Beta and HitmanPro :thumb:
     
  11. DX2

    DX2 Guest

    On my xp box, just GesWall pro...
     
  12. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    4,047
    I would stick with 5.12 unless you want the comodo BB and virtual kiosk.
    I would pretty much say that avast was the cause of the BSOD.

    That is why i removed it.
     
  13. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,960
    Location:
    London On
    Good Evening! Just took advantage of the Agnitum offer...Outpost Firewall Pro...AppGuard...and WSA Security Plus...Truly the Trusty Trio! Sincerely...Securon
     
  14. mhl6493

    mhl6493 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Posts:
    230
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Once again going with just WSA (this time with Kees' tweaks from earlier in this thread), Windows Vista Firewall, Chrome (with Adblock, Lastpass, HTTPS Everywhere, DoNotTrackMe, & Trafficlight), and Sandboxie for online banking and shopping. We'll see how long it lasts this time... :D
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2013
  15. adrenaline7

    adrenaline7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Posts:
    128
    - Windows 7 64 bit
    - Windows Firewall with advanced security - locked down, outbound blocked
    - EMET 100% maxed on all internet facing apps
    - Windows Image + dvd backups
    - LUA + parental controls (restrict what can run in LUA)
    - MSE
    - sumo updater
    - On demand - hitman pro and CCE
    - Comodo dragon browser with a few of security/privacy add ons
    - IE10 - protected mode on

    - Virtualbox with Windows and several flavors of Linux installed to play around with, on the Windows VM I tinker and try out new security programs once on a while. Plan on testing Online Armor, CIS, Kingsoft and Baidu AV's, Windows Firewall notifier...thats about it at the moment. Just like trying new software without messing up my main windows install.
     
  16. CrusherW9

    CrusherW9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    517
    Location:
    United States
    Nice and light :thumb:
     
  17. THESAWISFAMILY2005

    THESAWISFAMILY2005 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Posts:
    198
    Location:
    SACRAMENTO CALIFORNIA
    avast free
    oa free firewall
    malwarebyes free
    hitman pro free
     
  18. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,960
    Location:
    London On
    Good Afternoon! Replaced AppGuard...with Ikarus...due too confliction with WSA Security Plus...and using in tandem with Outpost Firewall Pro...and as mentioned WSA. Sincerely...Securon
     
  19. siketa

    siketa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,718
    Location:
    Gaia
    Did you set WSA as power app in AG?
     
  20. Pain of Salvation

    Pain of Salvation Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Posts:
    399
    What happened? BSOD?

    I installed WSA and Appguard and got a BSOD, so I uninstalled WSA. Did you experience the same thing?
     
  21. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,960
    Location:
    London On
    Good Afternoon! In Hindsight...in remembering...I believe AppGuard had WSA set up as a Power App. Sincerely...Securon
     
  22. Pain of Salvation

    Pain of Salvation Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Posts:
    399
    I added it to the poweapps, but still got the BSOD. But I don't know if it is appguard related. I did not test WSA without appguard.
     
  23. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,960
    Location:
    London On
    Good Afternoon! As I remember Pain Of Salvation...AppGuard was blocking WSA...and I had difficulty opening both Chrome and Explorer. But as mentioned I'm pretty sure I had WSA in the AppGuard Power Settings Tab. But no B.S.O.D. I might re-install AppGuard at a later date...to check...and double check. Sincerely...Securon
     
  24. guest

    guest Guest

    Dropped real-time AV, now running with only what's on my sig. What? I know what I'm doing. I'm just getting lazy to configure the heuristic sensitivity and measuring if an AV is lightweight or not. :p
     
  25. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    8,816
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Crazy to say nothing of Windows Updates.

    Testing EMET and also WFC newest releases.

    Untill and "IF" ever a new HIPS program comes along I guess the likes of Comodo and Online Armor are out, all the way out. They both have their strong points in security but from my experience they still are not "Lite" enough for my satisfaction.

    So far Sandboxie, Shadow Defender, are the only Real Time Apps.

    SuperAntispyware plus Emsisoft Emergency Kit and HitManPro are On-Demand Only.

    No AV's whatsoever. Don't need to add a second O/S to the system to sap the life eventually from the HDD/Memory.

    I do however occasionally go the Online Scan Route.

    See whats sorely missing here?

    HIPS, no not the same few old players who never get around to actually perfecting their HIPS modules. Woe is me...if only another EQSysecure or Malware Defender for x64 would surface. :cool:
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.