What is your security setup these days?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dja2k, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. Fox Mulder

    Fox Mulder Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Posts:
    204
    I've been using my new security setup (in my sig) and it's fast. I didn't realize what an impact my security software had on performance.
     
  2. Creer

    Creer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Posts:
    1,345
    Linksys Router with Norton DNS

    Realtime:
    Look 'n' Stop Firewall 2.07,
    DefenseWall HIPS 3.21,
    EMET

    Encryption:
    Jetico BestCrypt Volume Encryption (on-the-fly system encryption)
    PGP (occasionally for signing)

    On-demand (scan once per month):
    HitmanPro
    MBAM

    Backup:
    ShadowProtect Desktop (cold imaging to external drive)


    Also...
    Chrome (built in DNT enabled, no-referrer, geoloc disabled, js disabled globally, no 3rd cookies, http cookies blocked with exceptions for specific websites, java not installed, internal sandboxed pdf reader enabled, flash player for chrome not installed only PAPI in use, browser password manager disabled, autofill feature disabled, check for server certificate revocation enabled).
     
  3. Arcanez

    Arcanez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Posts:
    404
    Location:
    Event Horizon

    hey, have you experienced any issues with the latest Version of Deepfreeze so far? I own some large harddrives like an internal 3TB and an external 1TB and Deepfreeze had some Problems with them especially with the 3TB HDD. It couldn't handle it properly. Also I use Windows 8 Pro x64...

    Also as a downside regarding the faronics Support: As soon as I mentioned that I had to uninstall Deepfreeze because of those Problems that I experienced they didn't respond to the tickets anymore. As if they think that the problem's solved by uninstalling the Software :rolleyes:
     
  4. justenough

    justenough Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Posts:
    1,549
    Well said, jmonge. :thumb:
     
  5. 1chaoticadult

    1chaoticadult Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    2,321
    Location:
    USA
    Nice setup as usual @tomazyk.
     
  6. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    @Arcanez Deepfreeze is running well here,troublefree and it is nice litle gem;)
    @justenough :) thanks :thumb:
     
  7. THESAWISFAMILY2005

    THESAWISFAMILY2005 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Posts:
    198
    Location:
    SACRAMENTO CALIFORNIA
    can I run avira free on windows 8

    bitdefender free
    comodo firewakk free
    malwarebytes free


    windows 8
     
  8. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    trying out Active@ Disk Image:thumb: :thumb: this is the first time i try this type of security software(aproach);) maybe not be the best but it is a litle nice tool to start with:thumb:
    it took me 15 minutes of my precious time to create and image of a 15 gigabytes :)
     
  9. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,838
    avast! Free Antivirus
    +
    Webroot SecureAnywhere Internet Security Plus
    +
    Sandboxie (Lifetime License)
     
  10. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Nice Radeon0101. Hows that working with avast and WSA? No drap with browsing?
     
  11. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    they both are very fast and lite programs that dont affect system performance;) :thumb: he should be ok
     
  12. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    4,051
    If running avast.then WSA is not needed.
     
  13. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    or vice versa ;)
     
  14. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    4,051
    Very true.

    All down to personal taste.
     
  15. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    i am currently trying webroot but not to convince with its malware detention but as i have deepfreeze and disk image program i should be ok if webroot fail to remove a malware:)
     
  16. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,838
    Everything is running smooth and light as a feather, no problems so far.
     
  17. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,838
    I like overkill setups, so it doesn't really matter hahaha :D :thumb:
     
  18. reardear

    reardear Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    Canada
    OS: Win 7 64-bit
    RAM: 4 GB

    Anti-Virus: MSE
    Anti-Malware: Malwarebytes
    Firewall: Comodo (just installed today)
    Other: Sandboxie, KeyScrambler, VT Uploader, Wireshark

    Any suggestions for other software or any alternatives I should be using? I noticed a lot of people have several programs they use to scan with. I'll be honest, I don't really scan often but I hope to change that.
     
  19. zitch

    zitch Guest

    I am running Comodo firewall only, version 3.0....I like it because it doesn't conflict with other programs, and you can set the HIPS tight.
     
  20. guest

    guest Guest

    Removed Rollback RX and replaced it by AX64 Time Machine
     
  21. zitch

    zitch Guest

    I have been running Avast AV for years. It has done well. But i am giving another brand a test drive. Gotta see how it works, before I decide to keep it. I like what I see so far. I have tested a lot of AV's....will report on it after I drive it for a while. ~Zitch~
     
  22. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    back to Emsisoft Anti-Malware 7.0:thumb:
    i am done with deepfreeze for now;)
     
  23. Pain of Salvation

    Pain of Salvation Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Posts:
    399
    Appguard and HMP. No realtime antivirus.
     
  24. justenough

    justenough Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Posts:
    1,549
    I'll welcome you to Wilders, but maybe not using your name when doing so. Would prefer to keep this on a more professional level.;)

    The more you know, the fewer security programs you'll need. What you've got now is certainly enough, especially if you are using Sandboxie to its potential. MSE isn't the most powerful AV, but that's not a big deal, I've gone without an AV for months at a time using mainly Sandboxie. If you want another scanner, try Hitman Pro, a lightweight cloud scanner.
     
  25. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    same here :) just a ondemand scaner and a host file and parental controls and a webfilter and some tweaks,good firewall(windows)image program and you good to go:thumb:
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.