What is your security setup these days?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dja2k, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Can't go wrong with SD. :thumb:
     
  2. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,751
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    What prompted the switch from Kaspersky?
     
  3. VectorFool

    VectorFool Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Posts:
    280
    Location:
    India
    Overall system responsiveness took a hit with Kaspersky, very little but noticeable
    also Shutdowns were taking 20 secs, i'm kinda impatient lol
    and another factor is i've never actually been infected by anything with my Avira+Comodo setup.

    so i sacrificed a small theoretical increase in security(Kaspersky) for a moderate increase in user experience.

    every thing is instantaneous now, don't have to wait a sec to open folders, exes etc.
    i 've kept a Kaspersky Rescue disk , will use it not more than once in a month.
     
  4. luciddream

    luciddream Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Posts:
    2,545
    Same old same old here... very little ever changes on my box anymore these days. Comodo FW/D+ v5 & SBIE have really taken away the need to look any further since their inception(s), respectively.

    I do look forward to trying out both ExploitShield & the project(s) member LarryPepper is working on, as replacement candidates for EMET on XP to get the benefits without taking as much attack surface. That's the only thing likely to change anytime soon.
     
  5. Rompin Raider

    Rompin Raider Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,253
    Location:
    North Texas
    Added Norton IS to WSA and MBAM Pro...still light as a feather and smooth.:thumb:
     
  6. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,960
    Location:
    London On
    Good Evening! Introducing the Terrific Trio...Wsa Essentials...AppGuard...HMP! Sincerely...Securon
     
  7. digmor crusher

    digmor crusher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Posts:
    918
    Location:
    Canada
    Avast 8 free.

    Malwarebytes Pro.

    Online Armour Firewall free.

    Router Firewall.

    Win Patrol Pro.

    Bit Defender Trafficlight.

    Adblock Plus.

    Do Not Track Me.

    Securon, you must have ADD:D . You change products more often than I change my underwear. So I assume you do this all on a VM?
     
  8. Pain of Salvation

    Pain of Salvation Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Posts:
    399
    Exactly the same here...
     
  9. CrusherW9

    CrusherW9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    517
    Location:
    United States
    All I have to say is: EXE Radar Pro :thumb:
     
  10. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,838
    +1, I love ERP

    Best purchase I've ever made :thumb:
     
  11. CrusherW9

    CrusherW9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    517
    Location:
    United States
    Trying out Appguard now.
     
  12. pablozi

    pablozi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Posts:
    215
    Location:
    nowhere
    Indeed mate :thumb:
     
  13. guest

    guest Guest

    back to my old tested combo:

    WSA
    ERP
    Mamutu (because i don't have Appguard or Defensewall ^^)

    Resource usage

    http://i.imgur.com/a6pcu7L.jpg


    Thanks - guest -
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 28, 2013
  14. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    added Shadow Defender,cant wait for the driver blocking new feature:)
     
  15. Rompin Raider

    Rompin Raider Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,253
    Location:
    North Texas
    Trying Windows 8 again. Downloaded when it came out, for the special they had for $39.95...hated it and went back to Win 7. Decided to give it another shot...seems better now but kind of early. Runs good with WSA Complete.
     
  16. pablozi

    pablozi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Posts:
    215
    Location:
    nowhere
    @guest: what happened to EISP?
     
  17. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    GOod to know. I got one of those $15 upgrade discs for Win 8 pro. I'm waiting for the start menu to hopefully reappear in 8.1. THen I might consider moving up to Win8. :doubt:
     
  18. Rompin Raider

    Rompin Raider Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,253
    Location:
    North Texas
    So far I like it better...like you, waiting for 8.1 although I had re-installed the start menu before. There are several ways to do it but I am lost without it. Been slow down here...no hockey season: Stars still on strike. Ha
     
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2013
  19. DX2

    DX2 Guest

    Still using NVT EXE Radar Pro & WF with Mbam on demand. No problems :)
     
  20. guest

    guest Guest

    put on a Rx snapshot , in case i may need it again :D
     
  21. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,960
    Location:
    London On
    Good Evening! A new week...so in Tim Horton's Coffee Parlance...I'll make it a Double...Double...Avira Premium...and SpyShelter Premium 8.2...a Sobering Duo...Sincerely...Securon
     
  22. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    tim horton mmm yumy coffee:thumb: :thumb:
     
  23. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    mmmm tim horton yummy coffee :thumb: :thumb: Sincerely...jmonge
     
  24. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,960
    Location:
    London On
    Good Evening! JMonge...it's always better when we can role up the rim! Lol...Sincerely...Securon:thumb: :thumb: :thumb:
     
  25. zitch

    zitch Guest

    Here is a couple of utilities that XP users can run I use them myself and they work well- "Free Window Registry Repair"....."Free Ram XP Pro"......Run them in that order, then follow up with CCleaner, set to 35 overwrites, and wiping free space. Restart, create a new restore point, and the old XP machine will run happy. I do this maybe once every couple of months or so. Usually after running a boot scan with Avast. All is well. (And the reg repair program is spelled correctly- it is NOT "Windows"- it is "Free Window Registry Repair"- it works great) You can thank me later ~Zitch~ P.S.-I know lots of you are beyond XP, but, threw this out there anyway, it might work for somebody.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.