What is your security setup these days?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dja2k, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    i know this is another pc i am trying to see which one is more paranoid threatfire or mamutuo_O so in this pc i have this 2 :) for testing purposes
    and so far i have mamutu in paranoid more and threatfire in level 5 and threatfire is more paranoid:thumb:
     
  2. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,343
    Location:
    USA
    I'd go with mamutu, it's still being developed and it is very good at what it does and has plenty of pop-ups if configured properly.
     
  3. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
  4. You will need at least a Pro lisence what is your OS?
     
  5. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    3,311
    Location:
    Canada
    Nice setup :thumb:

    I guess for no other reason than it makes for further separation from the administrative account, and then I also require to enter credentials to elevate from the Standard account, whereas in the admin account I only have to answer the consent to elevate, which is the way I like it.

    Good question. I've actually been considering the switch to HMP for the on-demand scanner. I've seen many favourable comments on it :)
     
  6. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,838
    Back to using one of my all-time favorite combos.

    Comodo Internet Security 6 and NoVirusThanks EXE Radar Pro
     
  7. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    4,051
    Why both if i may ask..?
     
  8. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,838
    I use EXE Radar Pro simply for these reasons

    1. Protection against exploits
    2. To catch what Comodo might miss, if it misses anything.
    3. System Lockdown Mode (Restriction of installations)
    4. To Password protect sensitive processes.
    5. Process and event monitoring
     
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2013
  9. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    I'm using may favorites avast! + noscript ;)
     
  10. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    4,051
    Thank you.:thumb:
    Thats a very good strategy.
     
  11. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,838
    Thank you :thumb:

    I like it because it's Light, Strong and very effective overall
     
  12. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    i am going to remove ExploitShield Browser Edition 0.9 :) i think i dont need it:) now i want to try an antivirus and a behabiour blocker;)
    maybe threatfire and ikaruso_O or just emsisoft antimalware
     
  13. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    4,051
    Emsisoft perhaps....?:cool:
     
  14. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    yeap:thumb: the only thing is that i only have 1 emsisoft licence and i have a ikarus licence sitting there and threatfire is free:D so i can have some thing similar to emsisoft antimalware
     
  15. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    4,051
    Shame about threatfire going under.i used threatfire for quite a while.
    Yeah emsisoft is a great choice.:thumb:
     
  16. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    i was one of the first one to use cyberhawk when it first came out and then i got so mad when they became threatfire and now norton got it and killed it:mad:
    but like you said emsisoft is a better choice and i agree with you
     
  17. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    How about Ikarus and Threatfire?
     
  18. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    good combo man;)
     
  19. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,343
    Location:
    USA
    How good is ikarus?
     
  20. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,960
    Location:
    London On
    Good Evening! MRF71...have used Ikarus in the past and will continue to use it for future needs. On my system it was light and responsive. Some forum members have stated it initiated an unacceptable number of false positives. I never encountered that problem. It's detection rates are usually very effective. I would certainly recommend Ikarus it's a Superb App. And their Sales and Support are most assuredly Customer focused. Sincerely...Securon
     
  21. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,343
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks Securon, I may give it a try
    I'm experimenting with defensewall on our family pc and so far I like it but it's blocking my shared folders.
     
  22. zitch

    zitch Guest

    Thanks. Will look into that. I was running XP SP 3,home edition until I had to do a reinstall a couple of years ago. At that time, I downloaded XP SP 3 Pro from the Microsoft website. I noticed it took up a lot more disc space than the home edition,but have had more updates available from Microsoft, which appears to be better from a security standpoint. Another thing I noticed, when checking running processes on my firewall, and taskmanager, is that the only thing that seems to show up in svchost.exe is Avast. have NEVER seen anything else running under that .exe.......I really haven't taken a good look elsewhere, when I set up EMET, I just included every file I could in the course of a couple of days. I have every .exe file running on EMET, but- have not been able to figure out how to include DLL files (Dynamic Links Library) into EMET.....Where does one look in the registry to include DLL files into EMET?
    Edited 4/1/13- Every time I would try to include a DLL file into EMET, I would get a message saying: "This is not a valid executable"...(or something like that)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 1, 2013
  23. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    MRF71, ikarus antivirus is good at detecting malware but it lacks proactive protection and that is why i wanted to try it with threatfire or mamutu :)
     
  24. CrusherW9

    CrusherW9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    517
    Location:
    United States
    Well I have recently heard that HMP has the 32mb limitation that VT has so keep that in mind. For whole system scanning though, I like it a lot! Oh yea and that isn't my setup (yet). I was just telling that one guy what the acronyms stand for.
     
  25. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Romania
    Switched to Avira free,Privatefirewall,WinPatrol Plus and Sandboxie.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.