What is your security setup these days?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dja2k, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. Pain of Salvation

    Pain of Salvation Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Posts:
    399
    Windows 8 with windows defender
    Appguard
    Hitman Pro
    MSVP Hosts
    OpenDNS
     
  2. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    I'm using only avast!:D
     
  3. zitch

    zitch Guest

    Don't forget that an important part of security is regular maintenance clear your cookies manually, don't trust your web browser to do it. Case in point, am running Windows XP/SP3 pro, and Opera browser. Opera says it will delete cookies, sessions, etc. in the settings tab. Not so. You have to go to the manage cookies tab, get in there, and dig them out, one at a time. And there are usually lots of them. So, get in there, find your browser's "manage cookies" setting, whatever it may be, root 'em out, then run Ccleaner, (don't forget to configure Ccleaner), then reboot your machine, and create a new restore point if you are running Windows. Do that often. Some of those cookies have some nasty sounding names don't want that crap hanging around. You can thank me later.....
     
  4. Boost

    Boost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,294

    Cookies are harmless.
     
  5. hogndog

    hogndog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Posts:
    632
    Location:
    In His Service
    When i read that i couldn't believe it, I've always thought the opposite until i read this on another site

    Do a search for tracking cookies in the forum it was asked 33254329564329 times already.. :argh:
     
  6. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    I'm more than happy with no real-time AV, but UAC and HitmanPro on startup. :)
     
  7. guest

    guest Guest

    pity... i have a license but i am on a x64 system...have to wait...wait...
     
  8. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,119
    ESS 6
    SAS pro real time
    nothing else
    :thumb: :thumb: :thumb: :thumb: :thumb: :thumb:
     
  9. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    3,078
    Location:
    Canada
    My latest remodified Windows 7 security setup...

    Win 7 x64 Ultimate Desktop:
    1. Using Standard user account as default
    2. UAC at highest level
    3. AppLocker with all rules, including DLL, enforced
    4. Jetico v2 Firewall with application control, using Groups and wildcards for dynamically changing application names
    5. Windows Firewall w/Advanced Security - Public profile, inbound and outbound blocked by default, using custom-built application rule set
    6. EMET 3.5 (Tech preview), with mainly web-facing and MS Office apps configured
    7. Chrome Stable release with Adblock+ and ScriptSafe plugins
    8. Firefox with NoScript and AdBlock+ plugins all forced run @ low integrity level
    9. Several Windows and MS Office settings hardened via configuration in Group Policy Editor
    10. MBAM on-demand free (used sparingly)
    11. Routine images of system using ShadowProtect RE disk, saving the images to two separate physical locations.
    12. Routine Task scheduler backups of sensitive and important user data using Image for Windows
    13. All sensitive data kept on a TrueCrypt volume on h/drive and USB pendrive, and also a bitlocker encrypted volume.
    the following services are disabled:
    • Secure Socket Tunneling service
    • IP Helper
    • Remote Access Connection Manager
    • SSDP Discovery service
    • TCP/IP NetBIOS Helper
    • SuRun, v1.2.1.0 – used only for convenience to easily launch some programs and Windows functionality with administrative priviledges.
     
  10. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,685
    Location:
    Canada
    gery i bet you feel faster than before;)
     
  11. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,338
    Location:
    USA
    Do you guys think SAS is worh using these days in RT?
     
  12. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,685
    Location:
    Canada
    i like it alot cause it can help protect your browser home page and it is very good at catching trojans but when it comes to rootkits or nasty malware it will fail on ya,but it is a nice scaner
     
  13. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,338
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks :thumb:
     
  14. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,685
    Location:
    Canada
    no problem :) it is just my humble opinion but others may love it more than i do :) but i think it is not needed when you have a good sandbox/hips or any other proactive protection in your system
     
  15. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,338
    Location:
    USA
    Overkill I know but that's my specialty lol
     
  16. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,685
    Location:
    Canada
  17. adrenaline7

    adrenaline7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Posts:
    128

    great setup, mine is similar, no real time AV? Probably unnecessary with applocker.
     
  18. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    3,078
    Location:
    Canada
    Thanks adrenaline! Yeah, no real time av for several years now, and no problems :) I'd say it's primarily because of AppLocker, but the firewall, SUA, Firefox w/NS and other hardening measures help a lot too.
     
  19. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    @zitch
    I like my tracking cooking with milk.:D
     
  20. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    @raven211
    Hitman Pro is always good to have on a system. It's an awesome second opinion scanner.:thumb:
     
  21. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    @umbrapolis
    Yeah it's a real pity. I think for x64 appguard is good and for x32 defensewall.:thumb:
     
  22. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,685
    Location:
    Canada
    agree with friend:thumb:
     
  23. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    @gery
    Ah SAS realtime? Makes me nostalgic. How is it now gery?
     
  24. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,685
    Location:
    Canada
    i think i will settled down with Defensewall:thumb:
     
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2013
  25. guest

    guest Guest

    no, i made a review of it on MT, MRF.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.