What is your security setup these days?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dja2k, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. luciddream

    luciddream Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Posts:
    2,545
    Yep, with FW's particularly it's hardly vital to keep it up to date if it's already working fine on your box. If you find a version you love... keep that installer! That goes for a lot of different apps. Shadow Defender 1.1.0.325 for one. There's a version of ImgBurn (2.3.2.0)... I swear all the ones since won't burn bootable discs correctly. At least not for me. So I stick with that one to slipstream updates into XP. Macrium Reflect Standard 5 didn't work like 4.2 does for me... I'll just come out and say it. It was crap. It almost hosed my machine. I wouldn't recommend the Standard version of 5, though the Free seems to work ok.

    AV's on the other hand, I would want the up to date engines (real-time ones anyway). They are interacting directly with malware, and I mean REALLY directly. If I came to find a new version didn't work right on my machine, I wouldn't stick with an older one... I'd pick a new product that did work. Unlike FW's & imaging apps, the pickins on quality products aren't slim. There are plenty of competitive, quality options out there.
     
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2013
  2. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,491
    Still running my old setup, it's starting to get rusty. :ninja:
     
  3. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,584
    Location:
    Canada
    added DeepFreeze:thumb:
     
  4. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Windows 7 Ultimate 32 bits with internal FireWall also controlling outbound traffic

    Restrictions for Everyone (including Administrators)
    - UAC: set to full and deny elevation to all unsigned executables (e.g. Media Player Classic , 7-ZIP)
    - GPO: Deny installation of unsigned drivers and active-X, disabled autoplay and execute access to USB
    - ACL: Deny execute for everyone on User Shell Folders, Public and Internet/Download folders
    - EMET: set system wide DEP, SEHOP, ASLR to maximum

    Restrictions for Users/Medium Integrity Level processes
    - SRP: Deny execute for all files (outside Windows and Program Files) and all users (except Admins)
    - GPO: Locked IE10/Chrome/Outlook settings, hardened logon, shell and HKCU-autostarts
    - ACL: Added Mandatory Medium Level Integrity to Outlook E-mail and Foxit PDF-reader
    - EMET: added Chrome, IE10, Outlook, Foxit, 7-ZIP and Media Player Classic

    Restricted by Low Rights/Intergrity Level sandbox
    - IE10: for on-line banking only (IP/SSL FireWall filter), Keyscrambler free (only add-on), no data cached
    - Chrome: for daily browsing incognito, click to play flash, allow javascript only from COM, NL, EU, ORG, NET and EDU domains

    On demand
    HitmanPro free
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Feb 21, 2013
  5. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    a few changes
     
  6. Rompin Raider

    Rompin Raider Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,252
    Location:
    North Texas
    Another look at Bitdefender...been a while.
     
  7. G1111

    G1111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    2,271
    Location:
    USA
    Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 x86

    Firewall:
    NAT Router (Password Protected)
    Look’n’Stop Firewall 2.07 (Phant0m’s Ruleset)

    Anti-Virus:
    Emsisoft Anti-Malware 7.0.0.18

    HIPS/Blocking/Hardening:
    DefenseWall HIPS/Personal Firewall 3.21
    VoodooShield 1.07
    EMET 3.5 (Internet facing applications & MS Office)
    SpywareBlaster 4.6 (Ad-Aware custom blocking list)

    Several on-demand scanners
     
  8. JohnMult

    JohnMult Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Posts:
    113
    Location:
    Greece
    1. Comodo Firewall 6 (thanks luciddream for harden firewall, Chiron for the general settings)
    2. Zemana free antilogger (on demand)
    3. Sandboxie (browser) Intenet and Run Restrictions (only browser can run and connect to the Internet) Drop my rights and delete contents of sandbox at the end of session
    4. Chrome (Adblock Plus and LastPass) (thanks Kees1958 for the settings)
    5. Norton DNS (Policy 1: Security)
    6. Registry trick 1806 (thanks Kees1958)
    7. Java removed from the system
    8. Autorun disabled

    Lightest ever really (system after boot consumes 185Mb memory) and without any hard decisions to make, no slowdowns at all ex. in surfing or viewing the contents of a heavy folder. Thanks again luciddream, Chiron, Kees1958 for their advice.
     
  9. jo3blac1

    jo3blac1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012
    Posts:
    739
    Location:
    U.S.
    Except that once your system becomes unbootable no windows back up is going to help you.
     
  10. AlexC

    AlexC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    1,288
    My signature and Macrium Reflect Free...
     
  11. CrusherW9

    CrusherW9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    517
    Location:
    United States
    You can "Create a system repair disc" and and keep it handy so that you can boot to it to load a Windows image if need be.
     
  12. jo3blac1

    jo3blac1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012
    Posts:
    739
    Location:
    U.S.
    Nope, sorry I can't. I don't have a CD drive.

    Here is what Macrium Reflect offers that windows doesn't:
    -creating USB recovery disk that lets me boot my computer when it is unbootable
    - creating back up onto the same USB disk.
    - restores my system in 20 min

    If there is anyway to do the same for Windows back up, then by all means I will start using it tonight.
     
  13. zitch

    zitch Guest

    Yeah, lol, I have had that happen.
     
  14. zitch

    zitch Guest

    Same here....was waiting for the day. Have tried them all over the years, it was the best of the best, hope it still is.
     
  15. CrusherW9

    CrusherW9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    517
    Location:
    United States
    Here is a way to put it on a flash drive. Now as for how long it takes to restore images, I have no idea.
     
  16. zitch

    zitch Guest

    Let's all give the new version of Bitdefender free a test drive and see how she runs.....
     
  17. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,823
    This is my logic behind the setup I'm using.

    Try to use my common sense = #1

    WOT, OpenDNS = First line of defense

    If anything happens to pass through, when the above didn't work...

    avast! and Online Armor step in = fight against threats and monitor inbound and outbound connections

    If all else fails, EXE Radar Pro will hopefully alert when Lockdown mode is disabled or forbid file execution's while in Lockdown Mode

    If anything passes though what I use, then I can hopefully get rid of the threat via Malwarebytes Anti-Malware, Emsisoft Emergency Kit, HitmanPro


    My logic seems to be good, but what are your thoughts on it? Please let me know
     
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2013
  18. KelvinW4

    KelvinW4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Posts:
    1,199
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    You don't even need common sense:) Your setup is hardened so extremely it don't need that :)
     
  19. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,823
    Thanks :thumb:

    I seem to think it's pretty good

    Although, nothing is 100% safe, including my setup.
     
  20. KelvinW4

    KelvinW4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Posts:
    1,199
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Let's just say that the possibility to slip through is very slim :)
     
  21. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,823
    Thanks, same goes for you...Not much can slip through avast! and Shadow Defender.

    I like your setup though...

    Simple, Light and extremely hard for thing's to get through

    It's been a while since I've used Shadow Defender, how is it working for you?
     
  22. KelvinW4

    KelvinW4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Posts:
    1,199
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Very fine and very light:thumb: :)
     
  23. DX2

    DX2 Guest

    NoVirusThnxPro/NatRouter/Win7 Firewall
     
  24. ComputerSaysNo

    ComputerSaysNo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Posts:
    1,465
    Hitman Pro
    MBAM Pro
    DNScrypt
    EMET 3.5 (Tech Preview)

    That's all. Simple and light.
     
  25. luciddream

    luciddream Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Posts:
    2,545
    Well... things can slip past you with Shadow Defender on your box. Problem is, as soon as you reboot/shutdown your box... it's gone. It's like turning back the clock on malware... returning your box to the state it was in before your common sense failed you, lol, in the rare occasion it happens. That's why things like SD, SBIE & imaging are so friggin awesome. You can come home drunk some night, possessing the common sense of lawn furniture, and they'll bail you out of some poor decisions.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.