What is your security setup these days?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dja2k, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,119
    XP/SP3/Pro
    BIS 13Cents version....lol:thumb:
     
  2. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,831
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Zitch, terminating programs stops programs that are running but it doesn't delete the sandbox. To clean the sandbox, the sandbox has to be deleted.

    http://www.sandboxie.com/index.php?DeleteSandbox

    Bo
     
  3. DX2

    DX2 Guest

    Just running Sandboxie free and Windows FW...

    OD MBam
     
  4. VectorFool

    VectorFool Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Posts:
    280
    Location:
    India
    Its nice Bo elam and must be light as heck too
    but only adequate if all you do is surfing and moderate usage:)
     
  5. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,831
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    No, its not adequate, actually it is great. By the way, I surf all kind of sites, I don't care what site it is, if I want to go there, I go.

    Why it works? Its very simple. I never stop using Sandboxie. Whatever I download, it always run sandboxed. No exceptions.

    New installs. That could be a problem but not for me because I don't install new programs in my computer. I haven't installed anything new in my PC in over two years with the only exception being Shadow Defender to replace TimeFreeze. If I want to try a new program or run a scan, I do it under SD as I did before under TF.

    Bo
     
  6. adrenaline7

    adrenaline7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Posts:
    128
    - Windows 7 64 bit
    - Windows Firewall with advanced security - locked down, outbound blocked
    - EMET 100% maxed on all internet facing apps
    - Windows Image + dvd backups
    - LUA + parental controls (restrict what can run in LUA)
    - Changed: MSE to Avast 8 beta, mainly because both don't hinder performance where I can tell on my new machines (basic use here no gaming) and Avast 8 includes an updater so I can ditch sumo (keep windows as lean as possible)
    - On demand - hitman pro and CCE
    - Comodo dragon browser with a few of security/privacy add ons
    - IE10 - protected mode on

    Considering: Sandboxie paid, time freeze, CIS
     
  7. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    3,078
    Location:
    Canada
    Agreed, although I would call it far, far better than adequate. I'd be willing to bet that even if Sandboxie was taken out of the picture, careful use of NoScript would afford near 100% security.
     
  8. VectorFool

    VectorFool Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Posts:
    280
    Location:
    India
    added Sandboxie lifetime to my setup (thanks to a good friend)
    and learning to use NVT exe radar pro
     
  9. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    @VectorFool
    Good going.:thumb:
     
  10. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,685
    Location:
    Canada
    i want to try sandboxie again;)
     
  11. zitch

    zitch Guest

    I do that, too ! I might be an old fart, but momma didn't raise no dummies:D
     
  12. Antimalware18

    Antimalware18 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Posts:
    417
    The setup ive really settled on is whats in my sig but to clarify a bit

    Comodo Internet Security 6, Hueristics on High, Cloud lookup is on. Hips is "on" so I see the alerts

    On demand is Hitman Pro and MBAM as well as MBAR

    Protection for my browser (Google Chrome) is Panda URL filter since Comodo doesnt have one as well as Bitdefender trafficlight browser addon and WOT and Ad-block

    the computer runs light as a feather and the setup I have so far is rock solid :)
     
  13. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,831
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    I know that's true. I tell you how I know. I used SBIE and NS for about the same amount of time, four years.

    In all that time, I only seen SBIE give me one message about something strange attempting to run while surfing. I credit that to NoScript blocking all the bad stuff displayed in webpages that malware uses to hide and infect.

    Amazing.

    Bo
     
  14. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,685
    Location:
    Canada
    wooo SandB0xie is different from the last time i tried it :) it looks better and it feels good to run it again;) i have my documents directory sandbox,now i will run my usb sandbox:)
     
  15. jo3blac1

    jo3blac1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012
    Posts:
    739
    Location:
    U.S.
    Yup. I visit maybe 2 dozen of known to me safe websites for which NS is disabled. For those rare occasions that I actually do search for something, I never disable NS. Since then I have ditched all of my security software except for MBAM Pro file system protection. Firefox might be slow but nothing beats NS.
     
  16. Mman79

    Mman79 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Posts:
    2,016
    Location:
    North America
    I've done a lot of changing in the last couple of months, changed between this and that while balancing security and performance. My current setup is still being looked at, but so far I'm working with the following:

    Firefox with NoScript and Https Everywhere extensions and ABP for dealing with ads.

    Avast 8 Free Beta

    EMET 3.5 with HungryMan's XML file, ASLR Always On

    That's actually it. I'm debating free or paid Sandboxie, but I'm not sure yet. I don't mind layers and in fact believe in them, but too many layers end up having the opposite effect at times, so I'm taking things easy and seeing how it goes for a couple of weeks.
     
  17. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,685
    Location:
    Canada
    this is the best combo i find for now:emsisoft antimalware+Online Armor Premium+EXE Radar Pro :thumb: :thumb:
     
  18. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    My best setup to date - Brand spanking New Mid 2012 Macbook Pro i7 2.9 GHz 8 Gigs DDR3 750 HDD 5400rpm HD4000 graphics 512 MB built in security.:D I been buying a lot of new toys lately including the one in my sig.:D Now I will test out my new canon T4i Digital SLR with 18 - 135 IS STM lens.
     
  19. ComputerSaysNo

    ComputerSaysNo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Posts:
    1,465
    MBAM PRO
    WINDOWS DEFENDER
    EMET
    DNScrypt

    That's it, I don't bother with any other rubbish.
     
  20. guest

    guest Guest

    Windows 8 x64

    UAC - Maximum Setting
    SmartScreen Filter
    Various system hardening measures
    Windows Defender
    Windows Firewall
    Norton DNS
    MBAM on demand
    IE10 w/ Fanboy TPL's & LastPass
    Common sense v1.0

    Used to run SRP's, GPO's, with LUA, paid AV suite etc etc
    Never found anything, been alerted to anything, let alone been infected since XP to the best of my knowledge so got rid of it all, too easy to get paranoid. Now running light and free.
     
  21. Krysis

    Krysis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Posts:
    371
    Location:
    DownUnder
    Have gone back to Sandboxie 3.76 in Windows 8 Pro - couldn't get Sandboxie 4 beta to 'force' my Downloads folder!
     
  22. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    Running on 2 computers MSE on Vista and Windows 7. On Windows 8 Windows Defender and EMET.

    On all 3 running only one paid software and that is Hitman Pro. I honestly feel this is more then enough and is proving itself every day.
     
  23. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    4,047
    Okay im back with comodo internet security 6 and added zemana antilogger into the mix.
    Is zemana needed or is comodo ok on its own.o_O
     
  24. DrBenGolfing

    DrBenGolfing Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Posts:
    251
    Location:
    Hometown of Van Cliburn
    Ditto!
     
  25. jo3blac1

    jo3blac1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012
    Posts:
    739
    Location:
    U.S.
    Pretty much what I have done. Throw in FF + NS + ABP and you got yourself a nice slim set up for an advanced computer user.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.