What is your security setup these days?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dja2k, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. luciddream

    luciddream Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Posts:
    2,545
    Indeed. And MalwareBytes Free excellent for files over (I thought it was 32MB?)

    Also they appear to be using ShadowDefender, so if they're in Shadow Mode even if they install malicious software they're a reboot away from remedying the problem. And I would hope they have a backup/imaging regimen too, as most every Wilders members does have in place these days I'd imagine. But then again with no outbound control the damage could already be done by then... sensitive info. leaked out. I definitely agree with you on the need/want for outbound control.
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2013
  2. luciddream

    luciddream Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Posts:
    2,545

    Edit: I retract my previous statement... it was human error, lol. It works just fine.

    Thanks for this tweak... was oblivious to it. Perfect example of how the learning phase is NEVER over with, even on this old OS (XP) I'm always learning new things from time to time. My list of 1000 tweaks has just grown to 1001.

    @Amit... you may want to look at a post I made in the firewalls section titled "How to harden your XP Pro FW", back on page 5, to harden it against termination.
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2013
  3. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Ah yeah those services are already disabled. Thx for the suggestion.:thumb:
     
  4. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Ah thanks for the assurance. :D
     
  5. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Um....guys how do I get this VT Hash Check?:doubt:
     
  6. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Ah I do have Keriver 1-Click Restore. :thumb:

    Okay now that you guys are recommending an FW with outbound protection, what free FW do you guys recommend?
     
  7. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    4,051
    Hi amit,
    If your using firefox or chrome in the extensions window.
    Or google is your friend.:D :D
     
  8. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Great stuff. Thanks a lot.:thumb:
     
  9. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    I can't find it. A direct link would be nice.:)
     
  10. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    4,051
  11. AlexC

    AlexC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    1,288
  12. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,981
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    The Forced folder feature in SBIE is designed to take care of this. This kind of problems it is the reason to use SBIE. Additionally, it is likely that malware wont even run or connect if files are to run in a restricted sandbox. This kind of menace don't make me blink.;)

    Bo
     
  13. Arcanez

    Arcanez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Posts:
    404
    Location:
    Event Horizon
    Has anyone tested out Forticlient Version 5? It appears to be a very decent product that has a pretty good webfilter.
     
  14. siketa

    siketa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,718
    Location:
    Gaia
    It uses around 100MB with 8-9 processes....?
     
  15. Arcanez

    Arcanez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Posts:
    404
    Location:
    Event Horizon
    yea you're right I also don't like so many processes for just one product. I would prefer just one or two processes. Also it uses a high amount of Memory. System ressources should definitely be improved. But besides thats I think it has pretty decent malware prevention capabilities.
     
  16. zitch

    zitch Guest

    Being the rookie that I am, and you guys have to cut me some slack here, but...cannot malicious script freeze a sandbox, and penetrate its perimeter? Sandboxie's own user description tells you that. You for sure better have a dam good firewall, too, if you are doing financial transactions.
     
  17. KelvinW4

    KelvinW4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Posts:
    1,199
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Decided to use ZAFAV+Firewall with no problems.
     
  18. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
  19. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
  20. nikanthpromod

    nikanthpromod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Posts:
    1,369
    Location:
    India
    removed bitdefender IS and installed Webroot Secureanywhere complete:)
    will install online armor free too.. Great combination:thumb:
     
  21. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    @nikanthpromod
    Nice setup. OA+WSA is great combo. I've tried it many times.;)
     
  22. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Added some stuffs. New setup is in sig.:) Light and fast. I like it.:D:thumb:
     
  23. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,981
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Hi Ziltch, I never seen anything freeze a sandbox or "penetrate its perimeter"(escape the sandbox) but yes, anyone doing financial transactions will be better off using in addition to SBIE something designed to protect against keyloggers. As it is now, if you are browsing and you get a keylogger, it will stay in the sandbox until you delete it but SBIE wont tell you anything about it. The KL might not run if you are using a restricted sandbox but if I was doing banking often, I would add something that is really designed to protect me while doing banking transactions.

    Bo
     
  24. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    @Bo
    If I start banking in a fresh sandboxed browsing session would that not work? I think it would.;) Sbie is enough if you ask me.:D:thumb:
     
  25. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,981
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    In my opinion, its "probably" more than enough. I just don't like the word probably if I am going to be going to my bank on line every day. But definitively, the way to do it is opening a fresh sandboxed session and close it inmediately after finishing up. If I was you, I would also do it on a browser without addons if possible, only keeping NoScript.

    Amit, when I do banking, I do it over the phone or in person. When I purchase something over the internet, like when I got my SBIE license, I do it over the phone. I dont like taking chances myself, there is too much to lose if you know what I mean.

    Bo
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.