What is your security setup these days?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dja2k, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    Anti-Executable Standard/Server Standard Release Notes
    Version 5.20.2100.562 (November 2012)

    New Features

    •Support for Windows 8.
    •Support for Windows Server 2012.
    •New Reporting Feature: Anti-Executable Standard now has the ability to display a report of Most Blocked Programs for a date range.
    •Ability to open the log file directly from the UI.
    •Anti-Executable is now available in Portuguese (Brazilian).
    Fixes

    •6125 – Resolved an issue where Scan Progress Bar during installation does not show detailed information as it is shown when scanning files from Anti-Executable UI.
    Known Issues

    •The translation for Portuguese user guides is in progress and will be available shortly
     
  2. tomazyk

    tomazyk Guest

    I removed HitmanPro (BSODs when scanning) and I'm using Emsisoft EK as on-demand scanner only.
     
  3. internet addict

    internet addict Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Posts:
    517
    So I installed Comodo Firewall. Should I have all the settings on safe mode?
     
  4. VectorFool

    VectorFool Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Posts:
    280
    Location:
    India
  5. internet addict

    internet addict Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Posts:
    517
  6. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,749
    Location:
    USA
    Per the instructions, 'Safe Mode' is the recommended setting for most users - combining the highest levels of security with an easy-to-manage number of connection alerts.
    That's the way I run it on 1 XP and 2 Win7 machines. :thumb:
     
  7. internet addict

    internet addict Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Posts:
    517
    Think what I'm worried about is if I make changes and decide later I don't want the firewall, then uninstall it that there will be a problem.
     
  8. internet addict

    internet addict Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Posts:
    517
    excellent

    This is what I need since I'm an average user. Thank you.
     
  9. internet addict

    internet addict Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Posts:
    517
    I don't need GeekBuddy since it's a free trial anyway. Would uninstalling it do anything to the firewall?
     
  10. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,749
    Location:
    USA
    Yer welcome.
    Uninstalling it won't do anything to the firewall.
    Uninstall should go well via Add/Remove Programs (worked fine for me), but be aware that some folks have issues (try Googling "uninstall geekbuddy").
    There is an Uninstaller Tool, recommended in this thread by a Comodo Global Mod, though it is not an official tool.
    You'll probably be fine via the standard removal route, but just wanted you to be aware.
    Let us know if you adios it without any trouble, internet addict. :cool:
     
  11. internet addict

    internet addict Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Posts:
    517
    no troubles uninstalling

    What I don't get is why Comodo Firewall blocked Malwarebytes when I did a full scan. The scan worked fine, but CF shows it blocked it with Defense+.
     
  12. Sordid

    Sordid Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Posts:
    235
    It is signed. Odd. Some suggest turning off Comodo.

    I generally install MB before Comodo. Why I have no problems.

    http://forums.malwarebytes.org/index.php?showtopic=99964

    The firewall with D+ is strong.
     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2012
  13. zerotox

    zerotox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Posts:
    419
    Happy and trouble-free with what's in my signature since I switched to Windows 8.
     
  14. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,749
    Location:
    USA
    If the scan worked fine, then CFW did not block it, right?
    Why not post a screenie of what you are seeing.
     
  15. internet addict

    internet addict Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Posts:
    517
    Would I be alright disabling Defense+ and just using the firewall?
     
  16. internet addict

    internet addict Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Posts:
    517
    That's how I understand it. I did a full scan with Malwarebytes perfectly, then opened up CF just to see if it blocked anything and it showed Malwarebytes. Seems like if it really blocked the "intrusion" then the scan wouldn't have ran at all.
     
  17. ITguyonline

    ITguyonline Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Posts:
    22
    Outpost Firewall Pro and Deep Freeze both with lifetime license :cool:
     
  18. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    What your probably seeing is the attempt of MBAM to scan comodo's files or protect files. I've noticed this before when running MBAM as I also have comodo firewall. MBAM scan is working fine it is D+ that is blocking attempts to scan protected files. I wouldn't worry too much about it.
     
  19. guest

    guest Guest

    I am using :

    - CIS v6 beta 2 with CCE (full virtualization)
    - EAM v7 (RT set to scan on executed)
    - WSA Complete beta (RT set on high heuristics and scan on executed, used mostly for its "rollback" feature/ID & Web Shield)
    - Shadow Defender
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 2, 2012
  20. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    :D When I see your set up, I suppose my setup can be called minimalistic (see sig) :D
     
  21. internet addict

    internet addict Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Posts:
    517
    good deal
     
  22. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Windows Ultimate x32 lazy admin setup using the build-in protection of the OS as only security layers (and smart way Chrome uses these build-ins to sandbox browser).

    Firewall
    Router with Open DNS and Windows 7 internal FW setup two way (block outbound also)

    Real time protection
    1. Threatgates containment
    Disabled USB autoplay/execute USB through GPO. Added 1806 regtweak to place a deny execute on executables originating from other computers (e.g. internet download or mail attachement). Added ACL deny "Traverse folder/execute" for everyone on Download, mail and media folder. Running Chrome, Outlook and WMP virtualised (with RUNASINVOKER, see pic).

    2. Internet Protection & Privacy
    Using Chrome started with --no-referrers and --incognito switches, uses 'click to play' Flash plug-in and allows javascript only from top domains COM and NL. Chrome extensions: new tab behaviour (launching startpage) and bookmarks menu. Using IE10 locked down with Group Policy for banking etc.
    3. User Space protection
    Added EMET 3.5 to all user programs. Hardened HKCU autorun entries through GPO and Regedit (removed "set value", "create subkey" and "delete" permission for normal users). Set "Basic User" as default level, for all files, except Administrator. Added symantec Run MSI as Admin tweak. This prevents programs from elevating and executing in user directories, but allows to install with "Run As Admin" right click.

    4. Admin Space protection
    Set UAC to full, disable intelligent installer recognition, disabled unsigned programs to elevate.

    On demand scan check
    HitmanPro free, Sysinternals autoruns => only before monthly backup

    Backup/Imagine
    Windows own image backup, Synctoy free for data backup
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Dec 6, 2012
  23. jo3blac1

    jo3blac1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012
    Posts:
    739
    Location:
    U.S.
    Very original set up :). I prefer to play with some toys thou. Outpost FW + MBAM Pro + Exploit Shield + EMET
     
  24. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Romania
    I'm beginning to be more and more attracted by the idea spoted around here on wilders that "just stick with what works for you,and leave the tests and charts alone"...So,i must say that PCAV,Privatefirewall and SBIE combination is for me the masterpiece of lightness,speed and effectiveness.:thumb:
     
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2012
  25. c2d

    c2d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    572
    Location:
    Bosnia
    KAV 2013 died on my PC yesterday.Something went wrong.It won't load at all.

    And my new setup on Windows 8 is:

    BitDefender Antivirus Plus 2013
    Hitman Pro
    Windows 8 FW
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.