What is your security setup these days?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dja2k, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. nikanthpromod

    nikanthpromod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Posts:
    1,369
    Location:
    India
    added Sandboxie
     
  2. justenough

    justenough Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Posts:
    1,549
    Thanks jmonge. Even though in the latest AV Test WSA scored a 1 on system impact when the average score for AVs is 10, it seems to be busy doing something. Says it's inspected 41.6 billion system events on my computer already.
     
  3. pintas

    pintas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Posts:
    173
    Thats just funky advertising :p
     
  4. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,960
    Location:
    London On
    Good Morning! Just added Comodo Firewall...too compliment WSA Essentials and Kaspersky Anti-Virus. Sincerely...Securon
     
  5. theharlequin

    theharlequin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    Posts:
    24
    Location:
    Australia
    I'm still stable with the secuity setup displayed in my signiture. However if you guys don't stop talking about all these cool programs I have never had the opportuniy to try out I might have to make some 'minor' changes on another system to see what they have to offer. I swear that will be the final tweaks of my security setup.
     
  6. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Nice setup. Why no HitmanPro?
     
  7. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    2 days. :rolleyes::D
     
  8. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Hehehe....:D:thumb:
     
  9. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Well said Dave.:thumb:
     
  10. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Great to see things worked out for you. WSA+Sbie is tough combo and one of my favorites. :thumb:
     
  11. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Why not renew HMP with 50% discount?;)
     
  12. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Yeah very fast indeed. Fast becoming a favorite combo here in the Wilders.:D
     
  13. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Stick around and you'll soon learn there are no terms as stable setup/final setup.:D
     
  14. VectorFool

    VectorFool Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Posts:
    280
    Location:
    India
    My current setup

    Bitdefender Antivirus Plus 2013,
    Comodo Firewall (proactive security, gizmo's config),
    Webroot Secure Essentials Complete,
    Paragon B&R Compact 2012

    My Previous Setup

    Avira Internet Security (no firewall),
    Emsisoft AntiMalware (full license),
    Comodo Firewall (proactive security, gizmo's config),
    Webroot Secure Essentials Complete,
    Paragon B&R Compact 2012

    made a complete system Image using Paragon Backup and Recovery Compact 2012 (thanks Amit) before changing the setup,
    in case Bitdefender does not suit my requirements (overall system lightness), i may revert back to my old setup which may arguably be lesser secure than my current setup, but was significantly light(er)
     
  15. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    You're welcome.:)
    I think your previous setup is stronger and lighter. And if you do decide to revert back to your old setup, I suggest you remove Avira. EAM is not a complementary AV solution anymore but a full blown AV suite replacement for your AV. In my opinion, EAM is stronger with it's duel engine(BD and Emsisoft in-house), powerful bb and much more. You could keep WSA because it's unique in that it's designed to be extremely compatible with other AVs.

    Just my two cents.;)
     
  16. tomazyk

    tomazyk Guest

    :thumb: Yes, I agree. It's the fastest I've been using for quite some time.
     
  17. VectorFool

    VectorFool Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Posts:
    280
    Location:
    India
    In my previous setup i used both Avira IS and Emsisoft AM with real Time protection enabled
    it was quite surprising to see that there was no impact on my PC resources
    and i continued to use them in that combo for more than 40 days
     
  18. tomazyk

    tomazyk Guest

    Yep, I believe you got that right...
    When I start the system WSA shows approx. 5.000 to 10.000 events per second. After few hours of computer usage (or even if it stays idle) the rate climbs to approx. 500.000 to 1.000.000 events per second.
    No new services or processes are running so I don't see where could be the source of this rise. Even if I start to shut down processes and services the rate stays the same...

    IMO, those numbers are not absolutely correct and should be taken with a grain of salt. As long as it doesn't affect computer performance ;)
     
  19. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    No surprises there as Emsisoft still develops EAM as a compatible product. But it's overkill. If you find it a smooth ride then okay. But it's just not needed to use another AV with EAM.:)
     
  20. AlexC

    AlexC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    1,288
    Do you guys now about any software that offers resident protection against toolbar installation, and that requires very little or no user interaction at all? :p
     
  21. ITguyonline

    ITguyonline Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Posts:
    22
    Installed the newest Symantec Endpoint Protection 12.1.2015 with Deep Freeze. So far so good and it seems light for me;)
     
  22. internet addict

    internet addict Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Posts:
    517
    Primary:
    AVG 2013 Free
    Malwarebytes [free]

    Complimentary:
    Kingsoft Cloud Antivirus 2012
     
  23. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    very weak security aproach:D my friend you need proactive protection other wise will get infected
     
  24. internet addict

    internet addict Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Posts:
    517
    Windows Firewall too, lol

    any recommendations?
     
  25. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    maybe sandboxie which is a sandbox program that will trap malware in a bag;) or hips program that will take control of your system like a doble side machette:) for hips you have online armor or comodo that has both hips/sandbox and even more like firewall etc etc
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.