What is your security setup these days?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dja2k, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. JohnMult

    JohnMult Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Posts:
    118
    Location:
    Greece
    Norton DNS ConnectSafe
    Sandboxie
    Panda Cloud Antivirus Pro
    Google Chrome with Adblock Plus, LastPass and noreferrers switch
    EMET

    Nice and simple after various combinations and dissapointments...
     
  2. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    my strategy is as follow...

    * check all downloads that are not from a reputable source with multiple on-demand AVs
    * reduce the risk of drive-by attacks by controlling javascripts in the browser

    and finally, make sure the user doesn't fall for social engineering attacks.

    a good imaging program to 'fix' problems is a must-have for me.

    if there's more than 1 user on a machine, then it's a whole different kind of headache.
    in this scenario, i think one would be better to use an AV suite.
     
  3. luciddream

    luciddream Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Posts:
    2,545
    If it were an app perpetually facing the internet and/or interacting with malware, like for example an AV, FW, SBIE, etc... I'd be more worried about that fact. But it's not. So the only purpose for updates (for apps like that) are really compatibility/bug fixes. And as long as it runs fine on your box, no need for that. I run older versions of lots of other things too (CCleaner, Auslogics Registry Cleaner, Puran Defrag, IMGBurn & other studio software, emulators, Stellarium). Anything that doesn't face the net... when I find a version that works well on XP and gets along with everything else on my box I stick with it. Most of those apps, the only thing that's changed over time is compatibility updates for Vista/7/8, stuff I don't need. Or added bloat, even adware in installers (toolbar offers, etc...).
     
  4. luciddream

    luciddream Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Posts:
    2,545
    I'd even check them if they're from a supposed reputable source, just in case. I have VT Hash Check scanning automatically so it'll do it regardless anyhow. And I also shell scan with MBAM for a 2'nd opinion before recovering from sandbox.

    And more than 1 user = shadow mode or LUA, and let them do whatever they please.
     
  5. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Romania
    Panda Cloud AV Pro (replaced AVG free)
    Privatefirewall
    SBIE
     
  6. KelvinW4

    KelvinW4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Posts:
    1,199
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    What happened to AVG joe?
     
  7. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Romania
    Nothing,but it was annoying to remember and click every 2 hours or so to update it.Beside that,nothing really to criticize.And since i have a license for PCAV and it's an old "love" between us....:D
     
  8. boombastik

    boombastik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Posts:
    265
    Location:
    Greece
    From Norton dns i went to open dns.
    When i use northon dns after 5 minutes of browsing nothing opens.
    50 sec to open google.com and i have packet loss.
    I have scanned my pc with avast ,malwarebytes, superantispyware,hitmapro,esmisoft kit for worm, all clear .
    Also i check my line for problems (technician come in my house ) and the line works ok.
    I have packet loss only i use norton dns , i dont know why.
     
  9. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Ah thanks for the elaborate explanation. :thumb:
     
  10. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,960
    Location:
    London On
    Good Evening ! ESET Smart Security 5.2.9.1...WSA Essentials...AppGuard...Bing...Bang...Pow...Lol...Sincerely...Securon
     
  11. KelvinW4

    KelvinW4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Posts:
    1,199
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Malware Defender
    Shadow Defender
    :thumb:

    Anyone have a tutorial for MD?
     
  12. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    kelvin double defender :thumb: :thumb:
     
  13. tomazyk

    tomazyk Guest

  14. KelvinW4

    KelvinW4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Posts:
    1,199
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
  15. nikanthpromod

    nikanthpromod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Posts:
    1,369
    Location:
    India
    Windows 7 Home premium x64
    ° updated

    Realtime protection
    ° WEBROOT Secureanywhere Complete
    ° Online Armor

    On demand
    ° Hitmanpro

    Instant Recovery
    ° Rollback RX

    Browser
    ° Firefox
    Addons: Adblock plus & Flashblock
    ° IE9

    Software updater
    ° KC Softwares SUMo
     
  16. arsenaloyal

    arsenaloyal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Posts:
    513
    Upgraded to windows 8, so set up now is Windows defender and outpost firewall.

    will be re-installing appguard soon.

    thanks to jmonge :thumb:
     
  17. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    AppGuard rocks my friend good choice:thumb:
     
  18. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    AppGuard :D:thumb:
     
  19. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    when is lifetime then :thumb: no life time:thumbd:
     
  20. Newby

    Newby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Posts:
    153
    Windows 7, split harddisk into two partitions (C for programs, D for Data), moved all user folders (using windows location tab) to Data partition.

    Windows protection: Windows 7 FW also outbound (using Wokhan's notifier to set the rules, disabled after trialling rules), 1806 registry tweak (using Kees1958 switch on/off regfile), UAC (full). Set NTFS deny execute on Data partition (using right click, security tab) for everyone.

    Realtime: All internet facing programs Sandboxed with GeSWall free (using geswall.dat "Pro-trick") for WMP, Outlook, Chrome. All other application programs (Office 2007, Adobe Reader) mitigated with EMET 3.5

    Adhoc: HitmanPro on demand

    Note: added gswmmcsa.msc to startmenu (short cut), when I run it as admin, I get into GeSWall console, disabled geswall gui and emet notifier to start through sysinternal autoruns, see pic (to use last % of CPU completely). GesWall console still shows isolated programs :D Very LIGHT setup Geswall (gswserv,exe using less than 0,01% of CPU, when calculating total cpu time devided by total run time it uses < 0,002% CPU time :thumb: )
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Nov 22, 2012
  21. KelvinW4

    KelvinW4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Posts:
    1,199
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Thinking whether to keep AVG 2013 Free:doubt:
     
  22. Rules

    Rules Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Posts:
    614
    Location:
    EARTH
    OS:
    Windows 7 Pro SP1_x64 (Firewall, Uac, Defender, Sharing offs).

    Realtime :
    Bitdefender Antivirus plus 2013-16.24.0.1682 EFX
    Outpost Pro Firewall 7.6 (3984.639.1842)
    Admuncher Premium 4.93

    On-Demand :
    SAS 5.6.104
    MBAM 1.65.1.1000

    Browser :
    Google chrome 23.0.1271.24m

    Password :
    X-lizard 4.0.0.0

    Software Update :
    Kc Software SUMo 3.4.11.186

    Privacy :
    Wise Disk Cleaner 7.69.525
    TweakMe! 1.3.0.0
    IronCleaner 4.1

    rules.
     
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2012
  23. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,142
    whats wrong with AVG ?
     
  24. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    @KelvinW4
    Go AV free. :)
     
  25. KelvinW4

    KelvinW4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Posts:
    1,199
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    I might keep it.... feather light right now but slow startup...
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.