What is your security setup these days?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dja2k, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Norton ConnectSafe
    Sandboxie
    HitmanPro
    KeePass
    NoScript & AdBlock Plus
    Drive Snapshot

    What do you think guys?
     
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2012
  2. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Romania
    I'm glad to hear that,as Avast and CIS FW is your favorite combo.:thumb: (as it is mine too :D )
    As for me,returned to another "beloved" combination:
    Avast free
    SBIE
    SpyShelter free
    WinPatrol Plus
    Comodo FW (no D+)
     

  3. Looks good to me :thumb:
     
  4. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    That is also one of my all time favorite setups.:)

    @JoeHow about dropping Winpatrol Plus and enabling D+? I think you'd have a solid setup with that. ;)
     
  5. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Ah thanks ComputerSaysNo.:thumb:
     
  6. THESAWISFAMILY2005

    THESAWISFAMILY2005 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Posts:
    198
    Location:
    SACRAMENTO CALIFORNIA
    avast 7 free

    hitman pro free daily scans

    private firewall 7

    malwarebytes free


    i have a problem Ive been wanting to use avira

    but when i install it says i have avg still on my pc

    which i don't get i uninstalled it along time ago
    i also used the tool they have for uninstall

    but still no luck of removing

    anyone out there please help

    and thanks ahead of time
     
  7. Djigi

    Djigi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Posts:
    554
    Location:
    Croatia
  8. King Grub

    King Grub Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Posts:
    818
    Yes it is. It searches for registry keys created by Avira, not by AVG or any other AV.
     
  9. Djigi

    Djigi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Posts:
    554
    Location:
    Croatia
    I'm currently using TrustPort, the picture below shows what the Avira found.

    Clipboard01.png
     
  10. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Romania
    Well,another fan for this combo :thumb:
    Unfortunately,i let D+ disabled because it still have problems when Avast is installed.Problems means that cfp.exe "eats" 25-30 even 40% CPU.Not all the time,but often enough to annoy me...
     
  11. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    I think that sooner or later you will start to miss WSE :cool:
     
  12. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,899
    Location:
    localhost
    Amit/Iron Man/(I can't remember the initial one) setup is like an "accordion" slowly expanding up to when its too much and then needs to go back to the base :D :D
     
  13. Djigi

    Djigi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Posts:
    554
    Location:
    Croatia
  14. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Yup I've always loved that setup. I had used Comodo fw/D+ and Avast for more than 3 years.

    Oh I see. That much CPU usage would also drive me nuts. Still solid you got there. With sbie nothing else is needed. But Winpatrol is still redundant as you also have Spyshelter.
     
  15. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    I miss WSA already. But it does not work with sbie. All the identity shield, web threat protection, etc just do not work in a sandboxed browser.

    I've put WSA in another pc with not sbie though. Running smooth there. But I miss in this pc. I roam around quite a bit with this netbook. It would be nice to see that green icon all the time. Instead it's now on a pc I rarely get a chance to use. Family members take all the time. Very little WSA for me.

    I hope Tzuk add WSA to sbie's software compatibility list.
     
  16. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    The first one was ams963.;)

    ROFL. You just described the pattern of my setups. That's so true. :argh:
     
  17. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    If you take a few minutes and read this whole blog post, then you will understand the real power of the product, and how it really works :thumb:
    http://blog.webroot.com/2012/07/19/webroot-bulletin-regarding-av-comparatives-results/

    Watching you tube tests when it comes to Webroot doesn't give the product a chance to show what it can do IMO.
     
  18. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,899
    Location:
    localhost
    Aaah, yes. Thanks!
     
  19. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    I understand, and I have seen you post about this in the prevx section.

    To be honest, since you are not a "high risk user" I would bet that you would be perfectly fine and safe with WSE alone. But the choice is yours of course :) I guess the issue is that you don't feel protected enough without sbie ;) You need to trust WSE more my friend :isay:
     
  20. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    That's absolutely true. I don't believe in YouTube tests. Just not trustworthy. :thumbd:

    WSA rocks:thumb:
     
  21. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Romania
    But i love WinPatrol and the impact on the system is 0.And doesn't hurt to have another watch dog which doesn't interfere at all with Spyshelter and vice-versa.Everything it's in a complete harmony.:thumb: :cool:
     
  22. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Welcome fax. I'm always here to remind you guys of my old identities. :D
     
  23. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    I trust WSA. But I love Sbie more.

    And since WSA-E is just gonna give me features of WSA-A in presence of sbie, I would better leave two unleash full powers on their own and install them in separate pcs. Sad thing is I chose Sbie over WSA and installed the poor WSA on the family shared pc.
     
  24. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    0 system impact and living in harmony does not deter my point. Winpatrol is still redundant with that setup.

    Funny thing, a few months ago we switched roles. You were the one convincing me to leave Winpatrol on the basis of this very same point. :argh:
     
  25. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,741
    Location:
    UK
    I think it has been said you can use Sandboxie for general surfing and use WSA without Sandboxie for banking sites to get the ID protection. Admittedly, it would be nice if the two could work together, but they don't currently co-exist when it comes to identity protection for technical reasons.

    By the way, this isn't exclusive to WSA and Sandboxie; it has been reported the same occurs with Trusteer Rapport and Sandboxie.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.