What is your security setup these days?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by dja2k, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,683
    Location:
    Canada
    good advice my friend:thumb:
     
  2. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    AppGuard is a powerful combination of Antiexcutable and policy based restrictions.
     
  3. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,683
    Location:
    Canada
    yeap and very powerfull protection:thumb: it replace faronics anti-executable;) and now with parental controls
     
  4. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    So J and Dave, you guys are officially AG fanboys?
     
  5. KelvinW4

    KelvinW4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Posts:
    1,199
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    I just had a BSOD and my lappy was unable to start. Good thing I tried a few times and was able to boot. I have a feeling that it was from Timefreeze.:argh:
     
  6. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    I'm wondering if I need to add anything else to my setup? Is it strong enough? :doubt:
     
  7. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    5,540
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello,

    Mine has been revised after input from others. It runs very light and I cannot tell I have any security apps running based on performance.
    WRSA-E (Webroot Secure Anywhere Essentials)
    WFC (Binisoft Windows Firewall Control)
    AppGuard (BlueRidge Networks)
    EMET (Microsoft)
    OpenDNSCrypt
    Toolwiz TimeFreeze
    Image for Windows/DOS/Linux (TeraByte Unlimited)
    For browsing I use IE9 with AdMuncher and RoboForm (Siber Systems).
     
  8. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Count me in for Faronics DeepFreeze as well.:thumb:
     
  9. Ashanta

    Ashanta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Posts:
    698
    Location:
    Europe
    Nice setup indeed !

    I don't understand why do you need EMET, you have AppGuard ;)

     
  10. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    5,540
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello,

    I may be wrong but this is how I understand it works. All of my other security software except for EMET for the most part blocks malicious actions or softwares thus preventing most infections. But say what if the infection makes it to or tries to use or alter the softwares I am protecting with EMET? EMET injects its dll into these softwares to block certain exploits from using them. Hence it is additional protection on a different level for a group of exploits. I kind of see it as the final line of defense. If my interpretation of this is wrong or off, I am ready to learn why I should not run them both. Additionally, EMET uses virtually no CPU power and very little resources.
     
  11. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Oh okay. I was putting in my thoughts. :)
     
  12. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    LOL. Okay but how about HitmanPro? I thought you loved it Dave. Aw? Now look what you did. You made the poor little HitmanPro cry! It cleans craps out of your pc and you don't like it no more just because you got that iron clad of a AG and DeepFreeze? And by the way, that Freeze thing does not even do anything. It just freezes itself along with everything else. Too lazy if you ask me.
     
  13. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    I don t think I said I loved it, I do like Hitman Pro and only scan with it once a month and there is nothing ever found to clean.
     
  14. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Ah yes now we are talking. Great. :thumb:

    Hey Dave, do you mind putting your thoughts into this?
     
  15. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Hmm....oh then I must have got you wrong. Well then. :D
     
  16. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    I think your good as long as browser is secure WSA should suffice.
     
  17. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Thx Dave. :thumb:
     
  18. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Ditched avast again. It's like a bad love affair. It's so tempting to use but once you do its not that great.
    Trying out PCAV 2. I'm hoping that they fix the problem that everyone is having. Haven't noticed anything odd just yet.
     
  19. KelvinW4

    KelvinW4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Posts:
    1,199
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Whats so bad about Avast
     
  20. tomazyk

    tomazyk Guest

    I added two security features to my setup:

    1. Online banking and online purchases are conducted in Linux Mint, installed in Virtualbox. After each session, original (clean) snapshot is restored.

    2. Once a month I will run CCleaner and wipe free disk space on all non SSD disks, using simple 1 pass overwrite.

    Regards
     
  21. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Slowing down some of my browsing and opening files. Not a whole lot but enough for me to notice. Might just be me though. Sometimes when I put something new on I over analyse. Of course now PCAV is doing some odd things. It refuses to open and it has some language other than english on the notification icon. It shut down and won't open. I tried repairing it and it couldn't. I'll pass on it for a while till things get squared away.
     
  22. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Romania
    Well,of two evils you must choose one...or not.:D What would it be?
     
  23. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,683
    Location:
    Canada
    hey Iron Man AppGuard is top notch program and as i cant use DefenseWall in my 64 bit system i use AppGuard and it serve me good with no problems and it is as strong as sandboxie or defensewall and the best thing is that it doesnt slow me down at all;)
     
  24. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,683
    Location:
    Canada
    hey Iron Man AppGuard is top notch program and as i cant use DefenseWall in my 64 bit system i use AppGuard and it serve me good with no problems and it is as strong as sandboxie or defensewall and the best thing is that it doesnt slow me down at all;)
    note:AppGuard FanBoy :) why not :):D :)
     
  25. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Yep and excutable lock downs and policy restriction win over blacklist any day.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.