What is your browser security approach these days?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Kernelwars, Apr 22, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. luciddream

    luciddream Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Posts:
    2,545
    It has it
     
  2. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,738
    I have a ramdisk for it, but that's not necessary.
     
  3. luciddream

    luciddream Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Posts:
    2,545
    Nothing is really "necessary", just a matter of preference. I like to keep things tidy and organized, so many things have their own partition. I'm running out of letters in the alphabet ;)

    It's part of my obsessive compulsive nature.
     
  4. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    I used to have my entire Chrome profile on a RAMDisk. Too much of a pain for shutdown times.
     
  5. tlu

    tlu Guest

  6. Sully

    Sully Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Posts:
    3,719
    @tlu

    Interesting, I use fairly recent Chromium with FlashBlock extension, and that page shows http - 404 on the banner, which I suppose means I did not fail it. (no safeguards what-so-ever on this test, just raw browser running at High IL because of admin)

    Perhaps all FlashBlocks are not the same, or the issue was fixed.

    Sul.
     
  7. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    I don't even have flashblock and I got the 404 lol
     
  8. PJC

    PJC Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2,959
    Location:
    Internet
    :D :thumb:

    I use Opera, too.
    However, I do not recommend/install it when it comes to the Average Joe(s)
    especially when they play these silly Facebook Flash Games.
    :D :thumb:
    That was a good one!
    One of the best I have ever read, here! :thumb:
     
    Last edited: May 24, 2011
  9. tlu

    tlu Guest

    This is what I see:

    Override any Flash Blocker with most easy HTML code 2011-05-23 19-28-41.png
     
  10. wat0114

    wat0114 Guest

  11. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,738
  12. Kernelwars

    Kernelwars Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Posts:
    2,155
    Location:
    TX
    This is the only thing that works:thumb: Thanks Kees:thumb:
     
  13. Kernelwars

    Kernelwars Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Posts:
    2,155
    Location:
    TX
    Nice warning :)
     

    Attached Files:

  14. tlu

    tlu Guest

    IMHO no. The problem with Noscript is that Flash is allowed on any sites which are whitelisted. If you don't want that (as flash is particularly prone to security leaks) you can chose to block plugins also on trustworthy sites - but you would have to click the placeholder button every time (on sites like Youtube that's getting rather annoying over time). Flashblock would be a good tool to overcome this Noscript weakness as it is also able to create a whitelist - on any other site flash would be blocked even if whitelisted in Noscript. Unfortunately, Flashblock is not reliable as that mentioned website proves.

    Luckily, future versions of Noscript will be more flexible and will make Flashblock redundant, indeed.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 24, 2011
  15. Kernelwars

    Kernelwars Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Posts:
    2,155
    Location:
    TX
    Dell Kace :thumb:
     

    Attached Files:

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.