What is Windows Firewall Control, and Sphinx?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by php111, Sep 29, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. php111

    php111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Posts:
    124
    I only know that you could turn off/on the Windows Firewall via Control Panel. What is the Windows Firewall Control, and Sphinx are people using and mentioning as their recommendation for a firewall? If I was to use the built-in firewall, all I think just make sure it's on via the Control Panel. Are they both the same? Are people as I see are using both? I honestly never heard of them before. I suppose it's a good recommendation if someone is using the built-in Windows Firewall? I guess.
     
  2. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    It's for easier outbound control on Windows Vista+. Gives you notifications about programs connecting to the Internet. It supports XP, but has limited use there.
     
  3. php111

    php111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Posts:
    124
    Could I use it on Windows 7, and where could I download it from? Would it be limited use on Windows 7? I hope not because I wanted to use it permanently.
     
  4. DX2

    DX2 Guest

    http://www.sphinx-soft.com/Vista/index.html
     
  5. iammike

    iammike Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Posts:
    276
    Location:
    SE Asia
    Windows Firewall Control you can download from here

    http://www.binisoft.org/wfc.php
     
  6. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    It's made for Vista and above, in which the firewall has 2-way control capabilities (XP only supports inbound). The free version is not a trial. Here's the comparison: http://www.sphinx-soft.com/Vista/order.html
     
  7. php111

    php111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Posts:
    124
    Thank you so very much everyone! I'll go with free and plus I don't use IPv6, so I won't be losing anything. In fact in Network Properties I have the IPv6 unticked. I'm saying that is because I see the free version doesn't support really anything of IPv6, but I could care less because I use IPv4.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.