what is this strange folder "download" ?

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by ronny, Apr 25, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ronny

    ronny Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    231
    Location:
    Belgium
    Some time after i did put my C-drive in the state it was when i bought it with the provided cd , i suddenly noticed that there was a folder on my D-drive which wasn't there before o_O
    The name of the folder is "download" and it is empty. It is also "read only " marked and when i change this, it automatically changes it back to read only. I cannot delete it,changes its name or gain access to it although i configured my mapoptions to see all hidden / system files. Even when i tried it in safe mode.
    I scanned the folder with Norton Antivirus , TDS-3, Ewido, and so.
    When i want to scan it online with Kaspersky it says " D:\download is niet toegankelijk, toegang geweigerd" ( is not accessible,access refused )

    Is this dangerous? :(
     
  2. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    My xp home had a folder named download as a default reciepient for your downloads. I am now running a custom version of xp pro and it didn't have a download folder so I had to create one. I can't see where it could be dangerous ;)
     
  3. ronny

    ronny Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    231
    Location:
    Belgium
    Thanks Bigc , but the folder wasn't there before and i have a "my downloads" folder on my C-drive.
    So is this folder then used by Microsoft for their setupdownloads?
    And why can't i open it to take a look what 's in it?
     
  4. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    That is what is a little strange, I have a download folder that is put there by the os and a my downloads in my documents. But I can open them both. Have you right clicked the folder and clicked properties to see what that says.
     
  5. ronny

    ronny Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    231
    Location:
    Belgium
    yes i did.It is "read only" and i can't change that, and it' s 0 bytes o_O
     
  6. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    If it is "o" in size at least there is nothing in it and being read only it is not going to execute anything. I don't think I would worry about it to much. It sounds as if a setting got ticked somewhere that made it read only.
     
  7. ronny

    ronny Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    231
    Location:
    Belgium
    a BIG thanks to bigc! :D :D

    (But i am still curious now, how this could happen and so... :doubt: )
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.