What is the strongest free FW for security/protection?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by php111, Oct 10, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    2,354
    The suite has the highly regarded Kaspersky AV engine. You can save $20 off the Kapersky 2012 IS version with the Zone Alarm AV/Firewall suite. :D
     
  2. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    2,354
    Application Control in ZA Firewall is more like an IDS. I run OA Free Armor's full blown HIPS alongside it and that provides full coverage.
     
  3. php111

    php111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Posts:
    124

    Do you recommend using the full blown free OA FW with OA HIPS without any other FW/HIPS running along the side?
     
  4. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    2,354

    Sure... you can enable the OA FW with HIPS or run it as a standard firewall. You can choose your level of protection. :thumb:
     
  5. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    2,440
    Location:
    Canada
    You've got a great, free firewall sitting right at your doorstep.
     
  6. zip

    zip Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Posts:
    359
    Location:
    Mars
    I have three layers of security plus Norton DNS.

    AVG Free, Online Armor Free, and Mbam Pro.

    Any malware will have to be very determined to get threw these layers.

    These layers don't slow my system down. :)
     
  7. Chuck57

    Chuck57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Posts:
    1,543
    Location:
    New Mexico, USA
    Comodo FW using Chiron's setup and free AVG 2013 here, with Comodo Dragon browser and Win Vista with all updates and only 2G RAM, all sitting behind a hardware firewall. No slowdowns or problems.
     
  8. Sm3K3R

    Sm3K3R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Posts:
    526
    Location:
    Wallachia
    I have used AVG 2012 free in last 6 months .On two 32 bit OS-es ,W7 and XP ,i had to manually uninstall the thing from my PC-s. I wanted to remove it after the last incident.Their uninstall tool simply did not worked ,neither the add/remove.
    No problem on x64 with the uninstall though.

    Did they fixed the startup bugs/issues with AVG 2013 ?!
     
  9. Chuck57

    Chuck57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Posts:
    1,543
    Location:
    New Mexico, USA
    No problems with startup here. It's a bit slow, but I haven't had a problem yet, and I've had it since it came out. I'm on 32 bit Win Vista. Not memory heavy, scans fairly quickly and I'm happy so far.
     
  10. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,066
    i had the same using for years and kept me safe . i never got infected
     
  11. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    7,513
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Use the Windows 7 firewall in default config. if your behind a router with a good firewall. That is all you really need.

    Yes, all outbound traffic will be allowed. So what? If your PC is clean of malware, you don't have to worry about outbound connections.

    If you do a lot of Internet financial transactions, buy Zemana Antilogger.
     
  12. MasterTB

    MasterTB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Posts:
    547
    Location:
    Paran?, Argentina
    I'm using Private Firewall alongside Avast Free (version 7) and I haven't seen any conflicts at all.

    What's most important, the latest version of PFW removed all the bugs I complained about for years. Your PC is fully stealthed and the rules created (automatically) are not as from other firewalls allow all-to and from, they have fine tuned a lot of the windows services too.

    Of course, it also has IPV6 so you won't come short there either. I fully recommend it. The only downside is the lack of language support, it only has English.
     
  13. Flexigav

    Flexigav Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    57
    Location:
    Australia
    I am trialling Private Firewall on Windows 7 (64) currently. It is working fine so far, however there is a learning phase (for both Private Firewall and myself) where you can choose to let "Personal Firewall" allow or block traffic based on allowing it for observation over a predetermined period of time (learning time), or you can have it prompt you for such decisions.

    Once you have worked out what rules to apply to Windows services and other existing utilities and applications the process becomes easier. I like the way "Private Firewall" groups services and applications in the rules user interface section.

    I believe it is a secure and stable program once it has established itself (learnt your system). It is free for home use. It also encompasses an executable behavioral monitor that I think can be enabled or disabled separately from the firewall to make it a more comprehensive HIPS application and in theory, will do away with the need to use these signature based AV programs. I have only just started my trial, so can't say much else about it yet!
     
  14. zip

    zip Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Posts:
    359
    Location:
    Mars
    Is there a way to stop the splash screen at startup of Privatefirewall?
     
  15. MasterTB

    MasterTB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Posts:
    547
    Location:
    Paran?, Argentina
    File > Settings > Disable startup splash screen.

    And you're done.
     
  16. zip

    zip Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Posts:
    359
    Location:
    Mars
    Thank you, MasterTB. :)
     
  17. MasterTB

    MasterTB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Posts:
    547
    Location:
    Paran?, Argentina
    Np. Glad to help.
     
  18. jo3blac1

    jo3blac1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012
    Posts:
    739
    Location:
    U.S.
    I 2nd that. PFW is best installed on a clean windows system. After that you will have zero problems.
     
  19. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses
    Get a router.

    BUT the answer is windows 7 2 way FW properly set up to block executables that dont deserve to access the www and hardened.
     
  20. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    2,440
    Location:
    Canada
    When the outbound block option is enabled, it blocks everything already by default except those applications that have an allow rule created and enabled for them. Iow, it's a whitelist concept, so block rules are unnecessary.
     
  21. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Online Armor of course. ;)
     
  22. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses

    That's good IF the op user knows which exe need a rule and which don't.

    My policy grants zero cred to vendor defined white lists. But this method is NOT everybodies cup of tea!

    But yes, with no rule no connect. The other issue is leaks where an executable without a rule that should be blocked by the white list sneaks an access by transfering data to a exe with a rule that is "white"

    It is not white in my view if vendor logic lets that happen!

    Right now I'm trying to rein in Roboform and my FW is ignoring it's own settings in one case. I'm in a bad mood due to that. :(
     
  23. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    5,694
    Location:
    Europe then Asia
    using Avast free (RT set to scan all files on opening) + Emsisoft AM (RT set to scan on exec) + Online Armor Premium (all features activated) under Diskshot virtualization = quasi-bulletproof protection.

    OA free is good enough and will run flawlessly with Avast.
     
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2012
  24. zip

    zip Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Posts:
    359
    Location:
    Mars
    Outpost Free is good enough and runs flawlessly with AVG.

    I have no doubt Outpost Free will run flawlessly with avast.

    Best of all, Outpost Free is 64bit. Online Armor is only 32bit.
     
  25. Ring0

    Ring0 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Posts:
    66
    It is assumed that there is a minimum knowledge, otherwise there is no point in discussions. So.
    You know from experience that your PC doing the same although there is no internet connection.
    Therefore, try to simulate this situation.
    INPUT DROP, OUTPUT DROP, or for Windows -inbound connections: block, outbound connections: block.

    Now we'd like a little internet, for browsing we need a browser (IE, FF, Chrome) connections, all right.That's why we make a rule for browser connections, like:Google-Chrome\Outbound\Allow\chrome.exe\TCP\80, 443, done.

    So do for the mail client connections, download client, windows update etc. No system rule, do not care anything out of what you need for your desires.

    The average user needing 10-15 outbound connections rule, eliminating unwanted in-out connections, eliminated the mythological fear of boogeyman which houses the deep darkness of the net and that just waiting to eat the fool. :D

    And that's it.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.