What is the speed of your computer’s CPU?

Discussion in 'polls' started by sweater, Feb 21, 2006.

?

What's the speed of your computer's CPU?

  1. Below 1.5 GHz

    26 vote(s)
    10.0%
  2. 1.5 GHz

    10 vote(s)
    3.8%
  3. 1.6 - 1.9 GHz

    39 vote(s)
    15.0%
  4. 2.0 GHz

    13 vote(s)
    5.0%
  5. 2.2 - 2.4 GHz

    42 vote(s)
    16.2%
  6. 2.5 - 2.9 GHz

    43 vote(s)
    16.5%
  7. 3 GHz

    38 vote(s)
    14.6%
  8. 3.1 GHz and up

    49 vote(s)
    18.8%
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    Intel core duo 1.8ghz on one laptop.
    Intel Pentium M 1ghz (ULV) on my other laptop.
     
  2. denis

    denis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    161
    Processor : Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 2400 MHz
     
  3. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.
    See signature which excludes the Wifes PC. She is running an Opteron 940. The exact specs. fail me right now. :rolleyes:

    Edit:Opteron 940 = 1.4GHz. Soon to be upgraded to at least a 2.0GHz 940.
     
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2006
  4. wilbertnl

    wilbertnl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Posts:
    1,850
    Location:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    AMD Sempron 2300+
     
  5. ccsito

    ccsito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Nation's Capital
    I go at subpar speed. :gack:

    1.4 Ghz, 380 Mhz, 333 Mhz, and 66 Mhz.
     
  6. herbalist

    herbalist Guest

    Never saw your question. I'd have to upgrade everything to do any substantial processor upgrade. My box is a Pavilion 4463 that came with 98. I've upgraded a few things, a CDRW, 160mb RAM, new ethernet and USB cards, a 2nd internal drive and an 80GB external. I'm pretty sure that my motherboard won't handle more than a 500mhz processor.

    I haven't found a good reason to upgrade further. I'm not a gamer. I don't do anything with video or high power graphics. Take those 2 out and most everything else doesn't require that much processor speed. Besides, I run several apps that claim to need a minimum processor of 550mhz. They run fine with my 366mhz. This old box runs much faster than you'd expect for one with its specs.

    PCs are backwards in this regard when compared to most everything else. For most practical purposes, low power units work fine. But to be a good playtoy, they need high speed processors, lots of RAM, and high power graphics. Lousy toys can be good tools, but not vice versa. What's wrong with this picture?

    Sure, I'd like to have something newer. I can't honestly say I need it, and right now, I have too many other things that take priority and cost much more. I'll eventually upgrade, probably when this old hardware dies.
    Rick
     
  7. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Re: What is the speed of your computer’s CPU?

    Hi Rick

    You know up till recently I'd have agreed with you, but.... I now have two high end box's that fall into the gamer/toy category. I had reasons for doing this, but didn't expect I'd see any impact in my business use. Turns out, I was totally wrong. For some things no, not much difference, but there are a significant number of places where I am seeing a tremendous, and totally unexpected difference.

    It turns out these "toys" do in fact also make significantly better tools. I was totally and pleasantly surprised.

    Pete
     
  8. herbalist

    herbalist Guest

    Re: What is the speed of your computer’s CPU?

    I'd imagine office suites are one such instance. Open Office.org does start slow on mine, but that's about it for the apps I use. Some of the more cluttered web pages can get slow but I seldom notice it as Proxomitron blocks most of that junk. Everything else seems comparable to more modern units I service, at least for what I do. What besides gaming and video apps did you see a big difference with?
    Rick
     
  9. EASTER.2010

    EASTER.2010 Guest

    My workhorse is an AMD Duron 1250GHZ and another box at an anemic 399 MHZ that believe it or not does remarkably well with a meager 198 Mb memory with XP Pro, don't know how i pulled that off because it's better off with a 98SE system IMO, but hey it performs a bit lag but does well enough to encourage me to add a high end CPU when i can get a chance at it this spring.
     
  10. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Re: What is the speed of your computer’s CPU?

    I use all of the MS Office suite, and use it interfacing with Quickbooks, and some of the Scansoft/Nuance products like Paperport.

    If all I do is change something in a spreadsheet, no I don't see any difference, but when I am invoiceing, and I have to move quickly and have all the software open, working back and forth, there I do see a big difference. As I said, it was a surpise to me.

    Pete

    PS in your situation, you probably wouldn't notice it.
     
  11. toasale

    toasale Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Posts:
    86
    Location:
    Alabama
    Two units:

    DuoCore 1.66mhz 533, 768mb DDR2 PC4200 - using XP Pro SP2 on Dell Latitude

    PIII 866mhz 133, 768mb Sdram - using Win2K SP4/Rollup on desktop

    :rolleyes: :eek: :p
     
  12. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    I used to have an old pentium II 266mhz computer with 64mb of ram running windows xp lol. Talk about lag and hdd thrashing.
     
  13. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    At home the whole family we have 3 computers -> two are below 1.5 Ghz , one is 1.7 Ghz :)

    At the office all are below 1.5 Ghz (unfortunately) , but I am happy :D
     
  14. Hyperion

    Hyperion Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Posts:
    302
    AMD Athlon 939 X2 3800+ (Toledo Core)

    Will also assemble soon another with my older Athlon 939 3200+ Venice core.
     
  15. NGRhodes

    NGRhodes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Posts:
    2,380
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, UK
    I found it far more productive to have 2 older machines that the sum of both ram/cpu does'nt add up to the single machine they replaced.
     
  16. Roger_

    Roger_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Posts:
    89
    Location:
    Portugal
    Re: What is the speed of your computer’s CPU?

    A year ago, upgraded from an Intel Pentium IV 1.7 Ghz CPU to a Celeron D 2.93 Ghz @ 3.65 Ghz

    Really need some power for photo editing... though my mobo would still take anything up to a Pentium IV 3.2Ghz HT Prescott, my purse would not :(
     
  17. nigglesnush85

    nigglesnush85 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    Posts:
    36
  18. cthorpe

    cthorpe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Posts:
    168
    Location:
    Texas
    Re: What is the speed of your computer’s CPU?

    866mhz here
     
  19. hartoch

    hartoch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Posts:
    28
    Location:
    queensland australia
    p4 2.4ghz o_O

    bazza
     
  20. EASTER.2010

    EASTER.2010 Guest

    AMD Duron 1250Mhz (overclocked) RAM=512 but will accept 1 GB. Dual Drives Maxtor 30Gb (Win XP Pro) + Quantum Fireball 30Gb (Windows 98SE)
    PCchips MB Model 810L, On-Board Memory/Video/Audio plus i plug in various PCI slots with Graphics Nvidia Card etc. from time to time.

    Just got a 200 GB (Seagate) but waiting to customize new motherboard w/ new CPU when have time (and money) to do so; maybe this Spring/Summer
     
  21. Doc2626

    Doc2626 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    Mexico
    Pentium 2.9, running Win XP Pro, 1GB
     
  22. the mul

    the mul Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Posts:
    1,704
    Location:
    scotland
    Processor : Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 overclocked @ 2934 GHz DDR2 PC6400
    2 GiG of Ram 800mhz.

    The Mul :D
     
  23. serador

    serador Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Posts:
    15
    Re: What is the speed of your computer’s CPU?

    Pentium 4 3.4Ghz HT
     
  24. focus

    focus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    479
    Location:
    USA
    Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 3200 mhz
     
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2007
  25. 19monty64

    19monty64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Posts:
    1,302
    Location:
    Nunya, BZ
    Re: What is the speed of your computer’s CPU?

    Pentium 4/2.93Ghz
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.